News From Terre Haute, Indiana

Opinion

December 30, 2010

Stephanie Salter: One person’s roundup of significant folks lost in 2010

TERRE HAUTE — Every late December, as I comb through lists of notable deaths, I swear I will never repeat the process. It takes days of Internet research, mostly because I get distracted by looking up people about whom I know nothing. Wikipedia’s massive list is especially distracting (“Oct. 26 — Ricardo Montez, 87, Gibraltarian character actor”). But every year, I do the same thing.

This year’s roundup may be the most eclectic of all. We begin with the film industry.

Director Blake Edwards (Dec. 15, age 88) was lauded for his “Pink Panther” movies and other comedies, but two of his very serious films are my favorites: “Experiment in Terror” and “The Days of Wine and Roses.” Both were released in 1962, both were shot in San Francisco. The former was a police thriller and features one of the great cinematic chase scenes ever — through a sold-out, post-game Giants-Dodgers crowd at Candlestick Park. The latter may be the best film ever made about alcoholism. Heartbreaking and gritty, it holds up 48 years later and stars Lee Remick and Jack Lemmon, both of whom were nominated for Oscars.

Most people read about director Arthur Penn dying this year, but I salute his frequent film editor, Dede Allen (April 17 at 86), who did her magic on some major pictures, including Penn’s “Bonnie and Clyde” and “Serpico,” as well as “The Hustler,” “Dog Day Afternoon,” “Reds,” “Slaughterhouse Five” and “Breakfast Club,” among others.

A tip of the hat, too, to producer Dino De Laurentiis (Oct. 10 at 91), not just for films such as “The Shootist” or “Blue Velvet,” but for his early production of two Fellini masterworks, “La Strada,” and the great “Nights of Cabiria.”

In sports, baseball seemed to lose hundreds of human institutions, not least of whom was pitcher Bob Feller (Dec. 15 at 92). He spent his career (18 years) with Cleveland, threw three no-hitters (one on opening day), led the American League six seasons in wins and seven times in strikeouts. He set a modern record of 18 consecutive strikeouts (vs. Detroit, Oct. 2, 1938), never played a day in the minors, but signed for $1 and an autographed baseball.

Equally amazing in his field was George Blanda (Sept. 27 at 83), who played for a record 26 seasons, as both quarterback and kicker. He signed with the Bears in 1949 and went on to play for the Houston Oilers and Oakland Raiders with perhaps his most memorable season being his 21st. In his last game, at age 48, he kicked a 41-yard field goal in the Raiders’ loss to Pittsburgh.

Untouched among sports legends, however, was Indiana’s own John Wooden (June 2 at 99). He left Indiana State and Purdue universities richer, struck basketball gold at UCLA (10 NCAA championships in 12 years, 88 consecutive wins — still a record for men’s teams) and inspired hundreds of thousands with his character-building “Pyramid for Success.”

In non-classical music, jazz and soul were hit hard. Just a few of the extinguished lights:

Trombonist Buddy Morrow (Sept. 27 at 91), who led the Dorsey Orchestra until three days before he died and cemented his name in jazz band history with the sexy 1953 hit, “Night Train.” Mimi Perrin (Nov. 16 at 84) learned vocal harmonizing from the unique Blossom Dearie in 1950s France, worked with Dizzy, Quincy and Ray Charles, soloed on Coltrane’s “Naima,” then reinvented herself as a successful translator of fiction from English to French.

Saxman, bandleader, composer Sir John Dankworth (Feb. 2 at 82) left his partner in life and in jazz, Dame Cleo Laine, and millions of fans who followed the improvisational pair for nearly five decades. Guitarist Herb Ellis (March 28 at 88) enjoyed a long career and the distinction of being part of one of the most wonderful jazz trios in the world with Oscar Peterson and Ray Brown. 

Composer George David Weiss (Aug. 23 at 89) created songs for Broadway, Tin Pan Alley and the movies, among them “Lullaby of Birdland” and “Can’t Help Falling in Love with You,” the Elvis hit that’s still the first-dance choice of many brides and grooms. Weiss also scored one of my all-time, guilty-secret, favorite films, “Gidget Goes to Rome.”

Bass guitarist Marvin Isley (June 6 at 56), who anchored the Isley Brothers’ immortal “Shout! (Part 1),” bowed out, along with Al Goodman (July 27 at 67) of Ray, Goodman and Brown. Think, “Love on a Two-Way Street” and the smooth, a cappella hit of the late 1970s, “Special Lady.”

Two incomparable photographers of jazz and rock musicians also passed in 2010. The priceless negatives of Herman Leonard (Aug. 14 at 87) survived Hurricane Katrina, preserving for us his 1940s, ’50s and ’60s portraits of Duke, Billie, Miles, et al. So, too, the X-ray vision of Jim Marshall (March 24 at 74) survived the photographer’s full-throttle lifestyle and will keep rock icons Janice, Jimi and Dylan ever-young and alive.

Classical music, especially opera, suffered some mighty losses — from conductor Sir Charles Mackerras (July 14 at 84) to composer Boris Tischenko (Dec. 9 at 71) to mezzo-soprano Blanche Thebom (March 23 at 94) to German tenor Peter Hofmann (Nov. 30 at 66). Italian baritone Giuseppe Taddei (June 2 at 93) debuted in 1936 and sang into the 1990s, racking up a discography of more than 60 operas. Mezzo-soprano and soprano Shirley Verrett (Nov. 5 at 79) sang memorable Carmens, Dalilas and Toscas and overcame the kind of 1960s racism that prompted the Houston Symphony to reject her as a soloist despite being the personal choice of conductor Leopold Stowkowski.

The largest opera star to disappear in 2010 was coloratura soprano Dame Joan Sutherland (Oct. 10 at 83), dubbed “La Stupenda” by audiences after her 1960 debut in Venice, Italy. A big-boned gal from Australia, Sutherland and her conductor-husband, Richard Bonynge, brought into vogue again the singing style of bel canto and introduced to the world a singular young Italian tenor named Luciano Pavarotti. They simply do not make them like Sutherland anymore.

One last classical (and vocal) note to mark the passing of Polish composer Henryk Gorecki (Nov. 12 at 76), who created dozens of works, but none that resonated as deeply as his Third Symphony, “The Symphony of Sorrowful Songs.” With sung libretto based on real texts from the 15th century, a Holocaust jail cell and a mother’s writings as she searched for her missing soldier-son, the Third Symphony has sold more than 1 million copies since its release in 1992, thanks in large part to the searing but tender voice of soprano Dawn Upshaw.

I always try to include a WW II flying ace (five or more in-air shoot-downs) in my annual salute, and this year it is Bud Mahurin (May 11 at 91). A P-47 pilot for the then-U.S. Air Forces, he was credited with 20.75 victories in Europe — where he was shot down, then rescued by the French resistance — and in the Pacific theater. The only U.S.A.F. pilot to do so, Mahurin also scored 3.5 kills from his F-86 during the Korean “conflict.” He was brought down there, too, taken as a prisoner of war, tortured and brainwashed and — like many such U.S. troops — made a false confession that would haunt him for the rest of his life. The local angle: Before he enlisted, Mahurin studied engineering at Purdue.

On the inspiring citizens front:

Wilma Mankiller (June 6 at 64) was the first woman to serve as Chief of the Cherokee Nation. Activist, teacher, wife, mother, she fought off everything from sexism to cancer — and her surname really was Mankiller.

Take architect Bruce Graham (March 6 at 84) out of the picture, and the Chicago skyline looks less commanding, minus the John Hancock Center and the former Sears (now Willis) Tower.

Newsman Edwin Newman (Aug. 13 at 91) went from print to radio to TV, classing up NBC’s coverage for 23 years and urging all of us to speak and write correctly in several books, including “Strictly Speaking: Will America Be the Death of English?”

Before Dr. Robert Neil Butler (July 4 at 83), U.S. society didn’t much know or care about its elderly’s quality of life. He coined “ageism,” and founded the National Institute on Aging, and won a Pulitzer with “Why Survive? Being Old in America.”

I close with a man Wikipedia pegs as a “humorist, historian, sports writer and author.” That would have pleased Ron Fimrite (April 30 at 79) to a fair degree. The closest thing I have to an ex-husband, Ron taught me more about good writing and reporting during his many years at Sports Illustrated than probably any journalist I have ever known. He also introduced me to his beloved San Francisco, which prompted me to move across the country and live there for 29 years — five of them with him.

Our friendship survived our breakup, and I was honored to be among the people who sat near his side during his last days. He was a melancholy poet hiding behind a bon vivant’s jovial smile. My life is immensely richer for having crossed his path.

Stephanie Salter can be reached at (812) 231-4229 or stephanie.salter@tribstar.com.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Readers’ Forum: July 25, 2014

    July 24, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: The Czar of Russia

    If you are expecting Vladimir Putin, President of the Russian Republic, to react to the crisis in the Ukraine as an ordinary elected official, think again. Even though Putin is the President of the Russian Republic, this is not the job he wants. Putin also doesn’t want to be the chairman of a newly resurrected Communist Party in Russia. No, what he wants is to be the czar of a greater Russia.

    July 24, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 24, 2014

    • Clinic will expand basic health access
    • Misunderstanding truth about Islam

    July 23, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Work program needs industry buy-in

    Good help is hard to find. That’s essentially what Indiana companies have insisted for several years. The state struggles with a “skills gap,” the firms explain. They need employees, but can’t find enough — or in some cases, any — qualified Hoosiers. Businesses say too few applicants possess the “soft skills,” such as showing up for work on time or being able to effectively communicate with co-workers.

    July 22, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 23, 2014

    July 22, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Dragonfly

    The other morning I was moving the canister that holds our recycling material out to the curb when I saw a strange sight. What I saw was a dragonfly fighting with a bee.

    July 22, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: News about reality, not affirmation

    The public’s trust in the news media keeps dwindling. At the same time, Americans’ political polarization keeps increasing.

    July 21, 2014

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Chickens as pets always turned out same way

    I suppose many of us who grew up on farms or in small towns adopted unusual pets. I had a fondness for chickens. My folks always kept a few chickens, not only to fry or roast, but also for the eggs.

    July 21, 2014

  • Readers’ forum: July 22, 2014

    • Supt. Ritz has right to govern
    • A tribute to a teacher
    • Rep. Pelosi shows ‘bungling idiocy’

    July 21, 2014

  • Readers’ forum: July 21, 2014

    • Theater brings the joy of music
    • Drawing closer to the spirit
    • Give some space to heterosexuals

    July 20, 2014

  • LovellEdwards.JPG MARK BENNETT: Former Terre Hautean Jim Lovell stood ready as Neil Armstrong’s backup on Apollo 11

    The words “Apollo 11” stir optimism in me.
    I was an elementary school kid growing up in Vigo County when Neil Armstrong put the first footprint on the moon on July 20, 1969. So much seemed possible

    July 20, 2014 1 Photo 4 Stories

  • EDITORIAL: Vigo Jail study essential to determine strategy

    It comes as encouraging news that the Vigo County Council might include in its 2015 budget significant funding for an expert and neutral study of what can be done to replace or enhance the existing county jail.

    July 20, 2014

  • Readers’ forum: July 20, 2014

    • ‘Hotel Indiana’ has a sour tune

    • Kind words about the newspaper

    • Some questions about RTL video

    • No mercy for cop killers

    • Crack down on gun violence

    • Anti-Dem tirades mask GOP failures

    • Important day for participants

    • Appreciation for support

    July 20, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: Solve our border crisis

    More than 60,000 unaccompanied alien children — mostly from Guatemala, Honduras and El Salvador — have been apprehended on America’s southern border during this fiscal year.

    July 20, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: World Cup over, but it was fun

    After many weeks and many games, the World Cup is over. While the world calls it “futbol,” only we in North America play another brand of football. It is very simple to understand why this is the world’s favorite game … all it takes is an empty lot, a round soccer ball, and you can get a futbol game together.

    July 18, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: Living in peaceful communities requires collaboration

    Hoosiers have the right to live in peace. Yet, too many of our friends and neighbors are currently living in fear.

    July 18, 2014

  • Flashpoint: Will Gov. Pence be true to his word?

    This is written in response to recent remarks made by State Board of Education members.

    July 17, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 18, 2014

    July 17, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Presidential Ambush

    No wild-west ambush, either real or fiction, has been as successful as the ambush on President Barack Obama.

    July 17, 2014

  • READERS’ FORUM: July 17, 2014

    • Civil rights and burning cities

    • Quality service from Baesler’s

    July 16, 2014

  • FLAHSPOINT: Supt. Glenda Ritz ‘creating conflict’

    It has been my pleasure for the past year to serve as the newest member of the Indiana State Board of Education. I bring a fresh perspective to the board as an attorney and business executive who served as Director of Economic Development under former Indianapolis Mayor Bart Peterson and President of the Indy Partnership, a regional economic development organization charged with recruiting new companies to our state.

    July 16, 2014

  • tstribunestar Editorial: Continuing the standard

    U.S. Attorney Joe Hogsett has raised the profile of his federally appointed position more than any individual to hold the job in decades. From the start, he was a man on a mission, and often that mission was focused on rooting out corruption, maintaining integrity in government and pursuing those who violated the public trust.

    July 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • Readers’ Forum: July 16, 2014

    • The truth about property taxes

    July 15, 2014

  • Letter from BOE member: Superintendent Ritz ‘creating conflict’

    It has been my pleasure for the past year to serve as the newest member of the Indiana State Board of Education. I bring a fresh perspective to the board as an attorney and business executive who served as Director of Economic Development under former Indianapolis Mayor Bart Peterson and President of the Indy Partnership, a regional economic development organization charged with recruiting new companies to our state.

    July 15, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Collett Park

    Saturday at the Park, Collett Park, another beautiful wedding was held. They looked so nice in the warm weather with the Gazebo acting as church sanctuary, I would almost be tempted myself to do it again, and do it outdoors at the Park. No, no, no, not again, even as pretty as it is in the Park on a nice July Saturday.

    July 15, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 15, 2014

    • Are Fed policies hurting America?

    • Staying true to code of respect

    July 14, 2014

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Lots we did not have in those good ol’ days

    In my thankful moments, I’m glad I was not my grandmother’s daughter. I would miss the modern conveniences.

    July 14, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Legal marriages should be honored

    An eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.

    July 13, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 14, 2014

    • Where did the 61 cents go?

    July 13, 2014

  • wefight.jpg MARK BENNETT: Filmmaker captures late uncle’s walk through illness and into ‘whatever is next’

    Paul Fleschner sensed a remarkable strength as he filmed his beloved uncle one final time.

    July 12, 2014 2 Photos

Latest News
TribStar.com Poll
AP Video
Raw: Iowa Police Dash Cam Shows Wild Chase Arizona Prison Chief: Execution Wasn't Botched Police: Doctor Who Shot Gunman 'Saved Lives' Israeli American Reservist Torn Over Return Raw: Protesters, Soldiers Clash in West Bank Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Official: Air Algerie Flight 'probably Crashed' Calif. Police Investigate Peacock Shooting Death A Young Victim's Premonition, Hug Before MH17 Dempsey: Putin May Light Fire and Lose Control Obama Seeks Limits on US Company Mergers Abroad DA: Pa. Doctor Fired Back at Hospital Gunman Raw: Ukraine's Donetsk Residents Flee 'Modern Family' Star on Gay Athletes Coming Out MN Twins Debut Beer Vending Machine Large Family to Share NJ Lottery Winnings In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets U.S. Flights to Israel Resume After Ban Lifted Anti-violence Advocate Killed, but Not Silenced. Crash Kills Teen Pilot Seeking World Record
NDN Video
What's Got Jack Black Freaking Out at Comic-Con? Doctors Remove 232 Teeth From Teen's Mouth Bradley Cooper Explains His Voice in 'Guardians of the Galaxy' Deja vu: Another NYPD officer choke-holding a suspect Chapter Two: Becoming a first-time director 'Fifty Shades of Grey': Watch the Super Sexy First Trailer Now! Reports: Ravens RB Ray Rice Suspended For 1st 2 Games Of The Season Air Algerie plane with 119 on board missing over Mali Diamond Stone, Malik Newman, Josh Jackson and others showcase talent Free Arturo - The World's Saddest Polar Bear A Look Back at Batman On Film Through The Years LeBron James -- Dropped $2k On Cupcake Apology ... Proceeds To Benefit Charity Snoop Dogg Says He Smoked Weed at the White House Raw: Fight Breaks Out in Ukraine Parliament Chris Pratt Interrupts Interview To French Braid Intern's Hair Shirtless Super Mario Balotelli Dances While Ironing - @TheBuzzeronFOX Whoa! Watch "Housewives" Star Do the Unthinkable LeBron apologizes to neighbors with cupcakes Justin Bieber In Calvin Klein Underwear Shoot Samsung Pre-Trolls The IPhone 6 With New Ad
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
  • -

     

    March 12, 2010

activity