News From Terre Haute, Indiana

Opinion

September 5, 2010

STEPHANIE SALTER: Wait’s what broke the bridge (and nervous system) down

TERRE HAUTE — During the past month my relatives, close friends and I have spent all kinds of time hanging around a hospital. One person was in — and out and in and out — and the rest of us were acting as support staff.

We experienced pre-surgery registration and lab work, surgery check-in, hospital admission for a few days, then discharge and — about three weeks later — emergency room, readmission to the hospital and a second discharge.

The common thread in each of these experiences was … waiting.

But the waiting was varied in length and intensity, which got me to thinking there ought to be a scale for waiting that’s based on those Wong-Baker pain scale charts that doctors and nurses show to patients.

You know, the ones that start with a hairless, happy cartoon face, smiling with “no pain at all,” and end with the round-headed symbol weeping and its features contorted in “the worst pain you’ve ever felt; excruciating, unbearable.”

Fortunately, our crew avoided No. 10 — the excruciating and unbearable waiting period that lies between entering an ER with a critically ill or injured loved one and finally hearing a physician say the person is out of danger.

We never even got to No. 8, which I would assign to the period your loved one is on the operating table for a high-risk or hastily scheduled surgery and you are in the surgery holding area in the hospital lobby, watching the OR’s double doors as if they might explode.

When the predicted two or three hours runs into four and beyond — and no one comes through the doors to call your family’s name — you reach No. 9 on the Waiting Pain Scale. Same with the 10 seconds that tick off when the doctor finally comes out and you try to read his or her face for signs of your loved one’s status.

We were blessed with a weeks-long lead time for pre-op education and plentiful assurances of a good outcome, so that made our surgery wait only a No. 6 or No. 7 on the pain scale.

Some of us reached 7 because our loved one is elderly and because we are superstitious (except for my brother-in-law, the veterinarian); we know just enough about medicine to scare the bejeebers out of ourselves with endless what-iffing. Also, being forced to get up in time to be at the hospital by 6 a.m. activated the physical pain scale for several of us, which made waiting tougher.

The fatigue factor contributed a few weeks later to three of us hitting No. 5 on the Waiting Pain Scale. The cartoon face at this spot looks unhappy, a tad bug-eyed, but not yet miserable.

We achieved (and passed) 5 during an in-room admission process that took nearly two hours, thanks to a computer crashing twice on the beleaguered intake nurse. This was our second hospital stay, when our loved one landed in the ER then back in the main hospital for a couple of nights.

The ER process had gone quickly until the decision was made to readmit “as a precaution.” Time slowed to a crawl, easily a No. 4 on the Waiting Pain Scale. The labs were back, all doctors agreed on admission, a room number had been assigned. Still, we waited and waited for a liberating orderly with a wheelchair to arrive and take us up three flights in an elevator.

As our fourth hour approached in the ER and our loved one was volunteering to walk up the three flights, our ship finally came in and we expected smooth sailing. But no. Just because our loved one — starved by now, very tired and heading toward No. 5 on the physical pain scale — had a bed in a nice, clean room did not mean she could eat or receive any pain medication. That had to wait until the intake process was complete.

Never mind that we had just provided a long list of medications, supplements, allergies and previous surgeries to the ER folks three floors below. Never mind that every bit of the necessary information was in the hospital’s cyber guts somewhere because our loved one had just been in not three weeks before.

“We have to do it this way,” the nurse said.

After the portable P.C. ate every prescription med, vitamin and tidbit of medical history the nurse had typed in (for the second time) all of us vaulted to No. 6 on the Waiting Pain Scale. All of us, that is, but the nurse. With the glassy stare and monotone of a war-zone inhabitant, she simply sighed, “This happens every few weeks.”

As we got deep into round three of the recitation of meds, the litany of previous surgeries and the rundown of symptoms that had brought us to the ER, we were wait-hurting. Asked to estimate, again, the last time our loved one had taken her fish oil and Vitamin D3, I passed No. 6 on the Waiting Pain List and was speeding toward No. 7.

Our loved one had passed 7 an hour before.

Two days later, we would be back down in the lower waiting pain levels:

No. 3 connotes “some discomfort” and is characterized by a cartoon-face mouth that is neither smiling nor frowning; the eyes look normal. No. 3 symbolizes the hours of waiting you do before you are discharged. You know your loved one is better and about to be sprung, so you can put up with almost anything without whining too much.

No. 2 carries a smile that is just a little droopier than the zero-pain grin, and represents slightly discernible, easy to tolerate waiting pain. It’s what you feel when you go back to the surgeon’s office for a follow-up appointment a few weeks after an operation, and the receptionist says, “I’m sorry, we’re running way behind.” No problem.

No. 1 is the pain-free, happy-as-a-clam, beaming cartoon face. It best symbolizes the waiting you and your loved one do when you are on your way to dinner and you get caught by a stoplight — right next to the hospital you will leave in your dust as soon as the light turns green.

Stephanie Salter can be reached at (812) 231-4229 or stephanie.salter@tribstar.com.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Ronn Mott: Gaza 2014 — hatred lives on

    The rockets’ red glares have turned Gaza, part of the Palestinian authority, into a battleground with Hamas, a legislative terrorist organization that has been stockpiling armaments to use against Israel for years.

    July 25, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 25, 2014

    July 24, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: The Czar of Russia

    If you are expecting Vladimir Putin, President of the Russian Republic, to react to the crisis in the Ukraine as an ordinary elected official, think again. Even though Putin is the President of the Russian Republic, this is not the job he wants. Putin also doesn’t want to be the chairman of a newly resurrected Communist Party in Russia. No, what he wants is to be the czar of a greater Russia.

    July 24, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 24, 2014

    • Clinic will expand basic health access
    • Misunderstanding truth about Islam

    July 23, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Work program needs industry buy-in

    Good help is hard to find. That’s essentially what Indiana companies have insisted for several years. The state struggles with a “skills gap,” the firms explain. They need employees, but can’t find enough — or in some cases, any — qualified Hoosiers. Businesses say too few applicants possess the “soft skills,” such as showing up for work on time or being able to effectively communicate with co-workers.

    July 22, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 23, 2014

    July 22, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Dragonfly

    The other morning I was moving the canister that holds our recycling material out to the curb when I saw a strange sight. What I saw was a dragonfly fighting with a bee.

    July 22, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: News about reality, not affirmation

    The public’s trust in the news media keeps dwindling. At the same time, Americans’ political polarization keeps increasing.

    July 21, 2014

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Chickens as pets always turned out same way

    I suppose many of us who grew up on farms or in small towns adopted unusual pets. I had a fondness for chickens. My folks always kept a few chickens, not only to fry or roast, but also for the eggs.

    July 21, 2014

  • Readers’ forum: July 22, 2014

    • Supt. Ritz has right to govern
    • A tribute to a teacher
    • Rep. Pelosi shows ‘bungling idiocy’

    July 21, 2014

  • Readers’ forum: July 21, 2014

    • Theater brings the joy of music
    • Drawing closer to the spirit
    • Give some space to heterosexuals

    July 20, 2014

  • LovellEdwards.JPG MARK BENNETT: Former Terre Hautean Jim Lovell stood ready as Neil Armstrong’s backup on Apollo 11

    The words “Apollo 11” stir optimism in me.
    I was an elementary school kid growing up in Vigo County when Neil Armstrong put the first footprint on the moon on July 20, 1969. So much seemed possible

    July 20, 2014 1 Photo 4 Stories

  • EDITORIAL: Vigo Jail study essential to determine strategy

    It comes as encouraging news that the Vigo County Council might include in its 2015 budget significant funding for an expert and neutral study of what can be done to replace or enhance the existing county jail.

    July 20, 2014

  • Readers’ forum: July 20, 2014

    • ‘Hotel Indiana’ has a sour tune

    • Kind words about the newspaper

    • Some questions about RTL video

    • No mercy for cop killers

    • Crack down on gun violence

    • Anti-Dem tirades mask GOP failures

    • Important day for participants

    • Appreciation for support

    July 20, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: Solve our border crisis

    More than 60,000 unaccompanied alien children — mostly from Guatemala, Honduras and El Salvador — have been apprehended on America’s southern border during this fiscal year.

    July 20, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: World Cup over, but it was fun

    After many weeks and many games, the World Cup is over. While the world calls it “futbol,” only we in North America play another brand of football. It is very simple to understand why this is the world’s favorite game … all it takes is an empty lot, a round soccer ball, and you can get a futbol game together.

    July 18, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: Living in peaceful communities requires collaboration

    Hoosiers have the right to live in peace. Yet, too many of our friends and neighbors are currently living in fear.

    July 18, 2014

  • Flashpoint: Will Gov. Pence be true to his word?

    This is written in response to recent remarks made by State Board of Education members.

    July 17, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 18, 2014

    July 17, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Presidential Ambush

    No wild-west ambush, either real or fiction, has been as successful as the ambush on President Barack Obama.

    July 17, 2014

  • READERS’ FORUM: July 17, 2014

    • Civil rights and burning cities

    • Quality service from Baesler’s

    July 16, 2014

  • FLAHSPOINT: Supt. Glenda Ritz ‘creating conflict’

    It has been my pleasure for the past year to serve as the newest member of the Indiana State Board of Education. I bring a fresh perspective to the board as an attorney and business executive who served as Director of Economic Development under former Indianapolis Mayor Bart Peterson and President of the Indy Partnership, a regional economic development organization charged with recruiting new companies to our state.

    July 16, 2014

  • tstribunestar Editorial: Continuing the standard

    U.S. Attorney Joe Hogsett has raised the profile of his federally appointed position more than any individual to hold the job in decades. From the start, he was a man on a mission, and often that mission was focused on rooting out corruption, maintaining integrity in government and pursuing those who violated the public trust.

    July 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • Readers’ Forum: July 16, 2014

    • The truth about property taxes

    July 15, 2014

  • Letter from BOE member: Superintendent Ritz ‘creating conflict’

    It has been my pleasure for the past year to serve as the newest member of the Indiana State Board of Education. I bring a fresh perspective to the board as an attorney and business executive who served as Director of Economic Development under former Indianapolis Mayor Bart Peterson and President of the Indy Partnership, a regional economic development organization charged with recruiting new companies to our state.

    July 15, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Collett Park

    Saturday at the Park, Collett Park, another beautiful wedding was held. They looked so nice in the warm weather with the Gazebo acting as church sanctuary, I would almost be tempted myself to do it again, and do it outdoors at the Park. No, no, no, not again, even as pretty as it is in the Park on a nice July Saturday.

    July 15, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 15, 2014

    • Are Fed policies hurting America?

    • Staying true to code of respect

    July 14, 2014

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Lots we did not have in those good ol’ days

    In my thankful moments, I’m glad I was not my grandmother’s daughter. I would miss the modern conveniences.

    July 14, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Legal marriages should be honored

    An eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.

    July 13, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 14, 2014

    • Where did the 61 cents go?

    July 13, 2014

Latest News
TribStar.com Poll
AP Video
Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Kerry: No Deal Yet on 7-Day Gaza Truce Raw: Iowa Police Dash Cam Shows Wild Chase Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Gaza Residents Mourn Dead Amid Airstrikes Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive Dempsey: Putin May Light Fire and Lose Control Raw: Air Algerie Crash Site in Mali Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Police: Doctor Who Shot Gunman 'Saved Lives' Israeli American Reservist Torn Over Return Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Raw: Ukraine's Donetsk Residents Flee
NDN Video
Big Weekend For Atlanta Braves In Cooperstown - @TheBuzzeronFox Chapter Two: Becoming a first-time director What's Got Jack Black Freaking Out at Comic-Con? Doctors Remove 232 Teeth From Teen's Mouth Bradley Cooper Explains His Voice in 'Guardians of the Galaxy' Deja vu: Another NYPD officer choke-holding a suspect 'Fifty Shades of Grey': Watch the Super Sexy First Trailer Now! Reports: Ravens RB Ray Rice Suspended For 1st 2 Games Of The Season Air Algerie plane with 119 on board missing over Mali Diamond Stone, Malik Newman, Josh Jackson and others showcase talent Free Arturo - The World's Saddest Polar Bear A Look Back at Batman On Film Through The Years LeBron James -- Dropped $2k On Cupcake Apology ... Proceeds To Benefit Charity Snoop Dogg Says He Smoked Weed at the White House Raw: Fight Breaks Out in Ukraine Parliament Chris Pratt Interrupts Interview To French Braid Intern's Hair Shirtless Super Mario Balotelli Dances While Ironing - @TheBuzzeronFOX Whoa! Watch "Housewives" Star Do the Unthinkable LeBron apologizes to neighbors with cupcakes Justin Bieber In Calvin Klein Underwear Shoot
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
  • -

     

    March 12, 2010

activity