News From Terre Haute, Indiana

Opinion

June 23, 2013

FLASHPOINT: Forgiveness not often part of prescription for justice

Scourged on the way to the cross, “via dolorosa” (way of sorrow ), and then nailed to it, Christ forgave his executioners: “Forgive them, Father, for they know not what they do.”

Such magnanimity of heart — forgiveness for what the faithful see as deicide — leaves behind a strong instruction: Evil is born out of ignorance.

History shows that Christians, Jews and Muslims have killed many enemies, pagans or infidels in Holy Wars. Such is the spawn of ignorance ironically in the name of a merciful Almighty.

Another way to rationalize, mitigate or explain away evil, we see from defense attorneys who claim adult violence is rooted in child abuse.

No doubt evil begets evil.

Evidence from neuroscientists now reveals from brain studies that some are predisposed to be psychopaths, to have no conscience the way some are born blind or deaf.

Insanity, absence of premeditation and negligent homicide also complicate the prosecution of evil acts.

Some evil acts cannot be diminished.

An Arizona jury, after convicting Jodi Arias of a premeditated and torturous murder, was unable to agree on a death sentence or life in prison, despite three days of deliberation. A new sentencing trial will follow.

Media attention to this five-month trial has equaled the most notorious of the 20th century. Most likely because of the horrific brutality inflicted on an ex-lover before he died. Jilted and enraged, Arias stabbed Travis Alexander 29 times, shot him in the head, and slit his throat from ear to ear, close to decapitation. In an unprecedented 18 days of testimony, Arias did a second hatchet job on Travis by maligning his character in every conceivable way, accusing him of vile abuses, physical, sexual and verbal.

Attorneys proliferated on TV shows like rarely seen before. On HLN, four legal analysts agreed that the jury would opt for the death penalty. All were wrong.

Justice for the family and friends of Travis was reported to be nothing less than death for an atrocity so heinous.

The Alexander family was visibly devastated by the hung jury in the penalty phase. Eight voted for death, four for life in prison. Whatever the next verdict, Travis’ family will not likely be forgiving toward Arias. Ever.

Seeing that the Dalai Lama begged forgiveness for the Boston bombers (but not for their crime), he likely would have wished the same for Arias.

Would Holocaust survivor Eva Kor have done likewise if she thought it would bring to the victim’s family release from anger, hate and vindictiveness that could eat at their hearts like a disease?

Forgiveness has been the epicenter of Eva’s “ministry” over the years since she has wisely built into her CANDLES Holocaust Museum a passion for education as well as remembrance.

Forgiveness she came by honestly after the great healing it brought to her as an Auschwitz survivor, but it has not resonated well with most of the Holocaust survivors.

I empathize with them, no less than with Eva, for following the dictates of their heart and conscience.

Eva has eloquently argued that forgiveness is not for the salvation or absolution of Dr. Mengele or the Nazi criminals behind the Holocaust. But rather a self-salvation therapy to free herself from shackles so burdensome to the spirit. But this emancipatory prescription for healing does not and cannot apply to all. Holocaust survivors have a right NOT to forgive if the imperatives of their heart, conscience and psychic health demand it.

One strategy cannot fit all. There are ways other than forgiveness toward execrable crimes that do not suggest betrayal of one’s quintessential moral fiber.

Can we not cope with hurt and bitterness in the wake of evil done to us by sticking to the call of conscience and our entrenched sense of justice?

Winston Churchill said it well: “When you’re going through hell, keep going!”

Time may not wound all heels, but it helps to heal all wounds. And so does constructive action, even as we see with Eva’s lifetime work of inspiring younger generations toward a better world.

Meantime, in our daily lives, forgiveness may be a wise prescription, but, for most of us, justice cries out that great crimes must neither be forgotten nor forgiven.

— Saul Rosenthal

Terre Haute

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Readers’ Forum: July 25, 2014

    July 24, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: The Czar of Russia

    If you are expecting Vladimir Putin, President of the Russian Republic, to react to the crisis in the Ukraine as an ordinary elected official, think again. Even though Putin is the President of the Russian Republic, this is not the job he wants. Putin also doesn’t want to be the chairman of a newly resurrected Communist Party in Russia. No, what he wants is to be the czar of a greater Russia.

    July 24, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 24, 2014

    • Clinic will expand basic health access
    • Misunderstanding truth about Islam

    July 23, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Work program needs industry buy-in

    Good help is hard to find. That’s essentially what Indiana companies have insisted for several years. The state struggles with a “skills gap,” the firms explain. They need employees, but can’t find enough — or in some cases, any — qualified Hoosiers. Businesses say too few applicants possess the “soft skills,” such as showing up for work on time or being able to effectively communicate with co-workers.

    July 22, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 23, 2014

    July 22, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Dragonfly

    The other morning I was moving the canister that holds our recycling material out to the curb when I saw a strange sight. What I saw was a dragonfly fighting with a bee.

    July 22, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: News about reality, not affirmation

    The public’s trust in the news media keeps dwindling. At the same time, Americans’ political polarization keeps increasing.

    July 21, 2014

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Chickens as pets always turned out same way

    I suppose many of us who grew up on farms or in small towns adopted unusual pets. I had a fondness for chickens. My folks always kept a few chickens, not only to fry or roast, but also for the eggs.

    July 21, 2014

  • Readers’ forum: July 22, 2014

    • Supt. Ritz has right to govern
    • A tribute to a teacher
    • Rep. Pelosi shows ‘bungling idiocy’

    July 21, 2014

  • Readers’ forum: July 21, 2014

    • Theater brings the joy of music
    • Drawing closer to the spirit
    • Give some space to heterosexuals

    July 20, 2014

  • LovellEdwards.JPG MARK BENNETT: Former Terre Hautean Jim Lovell stood ready as Neil Armstrong’s backup on Apollo 11

    The words “Apollo 11” stir optimism in me.
    I was an elementary school kid growing up in Vigo County when Neil Armstrong put the first footprint on the moon on July 20, 1969. So much seemed possible

    July 20, 2014 1 Photo 4 Stories

  • EDITORIAL: Vigo Jail study essential to determine strategy

    It comes as encouraging news that the Vigo County Council might include in its 2015 budget significant funding for an expert and neutral study of what can be done to replace or enhance the existing county jail.

    July 20, 2014

  • Readers’ forum: July 20, 2014

    • ‘Hotel Indiana’ has a sour tune

    • Kind words about the newspaper

    • Some questions about RTL video

    • No mercy for cop killers

    • Crack down on gun violence

    • Anti-Dem tirades mask GOP failures

    • Important day for participants

    • Appreciation for support

    July 20, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: Solve our border crisis

    More than 60,000 unaccompanied alien children — mostly from Guatemala, Honduras and El Salvador — have been apprehended on America’s southern border during this fiscal year.

    July 20, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: World Cup over, but it was fun

    After many weeks and many games, the World Cup is over. While the world calls it “futbol,” only we in North America play another brand of football. It is very simple to understand why this is the world’s favorite game … all it takes is an empty lot, a round soccer ball, and you can get a futbol game together.

    July 18, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: Living in peaceful communities requires collaboration

    Hoosiers have the right to live in peace. Yet, too many of our friends and neighbors are currently living in fear.

    July 18, 2014

  • Flashpoint: Will Gov. Pence be true to his word?

    This is written in response to recent remarks made by State Board of Education members.

    July 17, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 18, 2014

    July 17, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Presidential Ambush

    No wild-west ambush, either real or fiction, has been as successful as the ambush on President Barack Obama.

    July 17, 2014

  • READERS’ FORUM: July 17, 2014

    • Civil rights and burning cities

    • Quality service from Baesler’s

    July 16, 2014

  • FLAHSPOINT: Supt. Glenda Ritz ‘creating conflict’

    It has been my pleasure for the past year to serve as the newest member of the Indiana State Board of Education. I bring a fresh perspective to the board as an attorney and business executive who served as Director of Economic Development under former Indianapolis Mayor Bart Peterson and President of the Indy Partnership, a regional economic development organization charged with recruiting new companies to our state.

    July 16, 2014

  • tstribunestar Editorial: Continuing the standard

    U.S. Attorney Joe Hogsett has raised the profile of his federally appointed position more than any individual to hold the job in decades. From the start, he was a man on a mission, and often that mission was focused on rooting out corruption, maintaining integrity in government and pursuing those who violated the public trust.

    July 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • Readers’ Forum: July 16, 2014

    • The truth about property taxes

    July 15, 2014

  • Letter from BOE member: Superintendent Ritz ‘creating conflict’

    It has been my pleasure for the past year to serve as the newest member of the Indiana State Board of Education. I bring a fresh perspective to the board as an attorney and business executive who served as Director of Economic Development under former Indianapolis Mayor Bart Peterson and President of the Indy Partnership, a regional economic development organization charged with recruiting new companies to our state.

    July 15, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Collett Park

    Saturday at the Park, Collett Park, another beautiful wedding was held. They looked so nice in the warm weather with the Gazebo acting as church sanctuary, I would almost be tempted myself to do it again, and do it outdoors at the Park. No, no, no, not again, even as pretty as it is in the Park on a nice July Saturday.

    July 15, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 15, 2014

    • Are Fed policies hurting America?

    • Staying true to code of respect

    July 14, 2014

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Lots we did not have in those good ol’ days

    In my thankful moments, I’m glad I was not my grandmother’s daughter. I would miss the modern conveniences.

    July 14, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Legal marriages should be honored

    An eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.

    July 13, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 14, 2014

    • Where did the 61 cents go?

    July 13, 2014

  • wefight.jpg MARK BENNETT: Filmmaker captures late uncle’s walk through illness and into ‘whatever is next’

    Paul Fleschner sensed a remarkable strength as he filmed his beloved uncle one final time.

    July 12, 2014 2 Photos

Latest News
TribStar.com Poll
AP Video
Raw: Iowa Police Dash Cam Shows Wild Chase Arizona Prison Chief: Execution Wasn't Botched Police: Doctor Who Shot Gunman 'Saved Lives' Israeli American Reservist Torn Over Return Raw: Protesters, Soldiers Clash in West Bank Calif. Police Investigate Peacock Shooting Death Official: Air Algerie Flight 'probably Crashed' DA: Pa. Doctor Fired Back at Hospital Gunman Raw: Ukraine's Donetsk Residents Flee A Young Victim's Premonition, Hug Before MH17 Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Obama Seeks Limits on US Company Mergers Abroad 'Modern Family' Star on Gay Athletes Coming Out MN Twins Debut Beer Vending Machine Dempsey: Putin May Light Fire and Lose Control Large Family to Share NJ Lottery Winnings Raw: MH17 Victim's Bodies Arrive in Netherlands Crash Kills Teen Pilot Seeking World Record Robot Parking Valet Creates Stress-free Travel U.S. Flights to Israel Resume After Ban Lifted
NDN Video
Doctors Remove 232 Teeth From Teen's Mouth Bradley Cooper Explains His Voice in 'Guardians of the Galaxy' Deja vu: Another NYPD officer choke-holding a suspect 'Fifty Shades of Grey': Watch the Super Sexy First Trailer Now! Reports: Ravens RB Ray Rice Suspended For 1st 2 Games Of The Season Chapter Two: Becoming a first-time director Air Algerie plane with 119 on board missing over Mali Diamond Stone, Malik Newman, Josh Jackson and others showcase talent Free Arturo - The World's Saddest Polar Bear A Look Back at Batman On Film Through The Years LeBron James -- Dropped $2k On Cupcake Apology ... Proceeds To Benefit Charity Snoop Dogg Says He Smoked Weed at the White House Raw: Fight Breaks Out in Ukraine Parliament Chris Pratt Interrupts Interview To French Braid Intern's Hair Shirtless Super Mario Balotelli Dances While Ironing - @TheBuzzeronFOX Whoa! Watch "Housewives" Star Do the Unthinkable LeBron apologizes to neighbors with cupcakes Justin Bieber In Calvin Klein Underwear Shoot Samsung Pre-Trolls The IPhone 6 With New Ad Jimmy Kimmel Introduces His Baby Girl
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
  • -

     

    March 12, 2010

activity