News From Terre Haute, Indiana

Opinion

September 12, 2010

STEPHANIE SALTER: The pain of losing a room of one’s own

TERRE HAUTE — I have a suggestion for the folks at Hallmark for yet another category in the company’s wide array of greeting card subjects: Consolation for a person who is losing her home.

The blank card in which I scratched out such a message the other day was the best I could find. On the front, it featured an inspirational Chinese proverb and an illustration that I hoped would provide comfort and some sense of a better future. But my written words inside felt inadequate, almost stupid.

I know my friend’s warm and pretty condo in California almost as well as I know my own home. Back in the 1990s when she bought it, I bit my nails with her through the financing, escrow and closing processes. I helped out with the inaugural dinner party she held for all her women friends, which included a sprinkling of holy water as a blessing by some Catholic nuns because the condo building once had been a parochial high school for girls.

Over the years, I watched as my friend’s collection of precious family photos took its place on tables, window sills and walls. I saw her acquire wonderful pieces of second-hand furniture, art and beautiful decorative mementos like vases and hand-made wreaths.

Her one-bedroom home with its big living room and wall of windows became the natural gathering place for celebrations, group mourning, Super Bowl viewing, spill-overs after parish functions at our church just across the street, and countless let’s-have-another-glass-of-wine extensions of a girls’ night out.

The image of her home now — stripped of every personal touch, painted and crisply staged for sale by a Realtor — breaks my heart.

Millions of people all over the United States have lost their homes, forced by finances to let go of the houses or condominiums they have cared for, furnished and treasured.

They, too, have invited friends over for impromptu beers or dress-up dinner parties, steamed up the bathrooms with their children’s showers, hatched dreams and buried dreams within the walls, and assumed they would always, always be able to call their place “home.”

News stories offer detailed accounts of families, couples and individuals who struggled and borrowed from relatives, tried to refinance or dipped into retirement funds in an increasingly futile effort to stave off the inevitable.

Some of the people were doomed to their fate from the beginning, having fallen for the national lie that you can own as much house as you desire, no matter your income or credit rating. Others, like my friend, who bought well before the sub-prime mortgage debacle began to poison America’s common sense, wracked up years of on-time payments — until the economic downturn shrank her salary below a line that could support her and her condo.

In 2009, there were nearly 4 million foreclosure filings on 2.8 million properties in the United States. This year, another 3.5 million filings are expected. Who knows how many more homes will be sold, like my friend’s, not because the owner wants to move, but because she has to? If the sellers are lucky, they will make a small profit or break even. If not, all the money — and time and energy and love — they put into their home will matter for nothing.

I realize that people might look at my friend and think she is fortunate: She has no children to uproot or shame, no depressed spouse to try to console or buck up. She has close relatives willing to take her in for as long as she needs, she’ll avoid foreclosure and eviction and might even make a few thousand dollars on the sale of her condo.

But all of that “good fortune” can’t mitigate the pain of what I know she is losing.

The old saying is, “A man’s home is his castle,” but there is no similar maxim for women, despite the fact that some 31 million American women have bought their own home.

As a woman who has lived alone most of her adult life and paid her own bills along the way — someone who finally managed to buy a house with a 30-year, fixed, pristinely prime mortgage on one salary — I believe that a woman’s home is her refuge. No matter how bad the day, or month, or year, when a woman enters a home of her own, turns on the lights and locks the door behind her, she is at once safe and free.

 Unlike women who come home to the needs and gifts of children or a husband, a single woman’s living space is her companion, often as comforting as a pair of arms (and sometimes even better).

Her home is a canvas for her creativity and an object of her nurturing. She doesn’t just put furniture in the place, she deliberately constructs each room, each corner. Despite her solo status and whatever she does to earn a living, she is also a homemaker, tending to the food, laundry, bills, fresh flowers, broken light fixtures and social schedule.

Maybe because the homemaking is “just” for her, the tenderness and care with which she goes about her domestic engineering probably pack a stronger punch than in homes with multiple inhabitants. One thing for sure, the care certainly isn’t taken for granted.

My pal in California is strong, resourceful and blessed with good friends and family. She will survive this loss and — knowing her — find the gifts from God in whatever the weeks and months ahead may bring. But she is enduring something a lot tougher than simply selling her condominium and finding another place to live. She’s losing a part of her herself, the home she created, tended and will always love.

Stephanie Salter can be reached at (812) 231-4229 or stephanie.salter@tribstar.com.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • RONN MOTT: Spring activities settle into northside park

    Some say young love blossoms like the flowers in the spring. It must be spring, because we witnessed the first wedding ceremony performed in the Collett Park gazebo on a recent Saturday.

    April 18, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Get smart with 911

    Worst-case scenarios when emergency service are needed are not things people like to think about. But focused attention on details in advance could make a life-changing, even life-saving, difference in the future.

    April 17, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: Heading in the wrong direction

    A study released last week by the Tax Foundation reported Indiana taxpayers saw one of the sharpest increases in tax burden since 2001. Dig deeper and the numbers are more alarming.

    April 17, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: They didn’t make it!

    The “One and Dones” done went and didn’t! (I know this is grammatically incorrect, but I want those folks down in Kentucky to read it.)

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • tstribunestar EDITORIAL: Dealing with eroded trust

    Our neighbors in Putnam County are understandably concerned, even outraged, over problems in their sheriff’s department. People have a right to expect their chief law-enforcement agency — one of the most important public institutions in any community — to operate professionally and effectively.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Readers’ Forum: April 17, 2014

    • A blessing from our young folks

    • Confidence in judge candidate

    April 16, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Preparing for voting changes

    The primary election, during which Hoosiers will traipse to their polling places to select party candidates to fill the ballot for the general election, is now three weeks away.

    April 15, 2014

  • Readers’ forum: April 16, 2014

    • Mott’s rant on global warming

    • Salvation through the Indian way

    April 15, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Royce Waltman

    In recent days the papers have been full of good things about Royce Waltman. Not a lot of puffery, but more like Royce himself… straight, true and right at you.

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Not much peace since war to end all wars

    My jaw dropped the other day when I read that this year, 2014, marks 100 years since the start of World War I. No, you wise guys, I wasn’t there personally.

    April 14, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: April 15, 2014

    Sound choice for county judge
    Giving your car the care it needs
    Park restrooms should be open

    April 14, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Noteworthy in the news (Honors for outstanding women)

    Honors for outstanding women
    Sprucing up around the wetlands
    You can say that again
    Reader Poll results

    April 13, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: April 14, 2014

    Alternatives to ‘injustice’

    April 13, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Teaming up to fight the ugliness of graffiti

    Graffiti hurts the Terre Haute community. It deflates property values and local pride. It literally paints an image of carelessness on the city.

    April 12, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: It’s (Not) So Easy

    Arctic air bled into the Wabash Avenue post-hippie-era diner-pub every time the wooden door swung open.

    April 12, 2014

  • ERIC SCHANSBERG: The 1040 tax form turns 100

    The 16th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution brought us the federal income tax in 1913. A year later, the 1040 tax form was born.

    April 12, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: April 13, 2014

    • An attack of hypocrisy

    • New jail not a good idea

    • Thinking about the next election

    • Being positive a tremendous asset

    • Work status a matter of value

    April 12, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: Time to fix government

    In 1965, the chairman of the powerful Ways and Means Committee, Wilbur Mills, brought legislation establishing Medicare and Medicaid to the floor of the U.S. House. That was my first year in Congress, and I remember vividly the moment when Mills came to the Democratic caucus to explain his plans.

    April 12, 2014

  • Death Notice: April 13, 2014

    Phillip Herman

    April 12, 2014

  • GUEST EDITORIAL: Despite high court ruling, big money may not guarantee election success

    The Supreme Court has taken the predictable next step in the wake of its 2010 Citizens United decision in which it lifted the limit on donations wealthy donors can make to certain political entities.

    April 11, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Pondering our planet’s future

    I watched a TV show recently and the subject was global warming.

    April 11, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Warm thoughts for Waltman

    When Royce Waltman left Indiana State University as its head basketball coach in 2007, there was a sense of disappointment in the community that covered a broad spectrum.

    April 11, 2014

  • Readers' Forum: April 11, 2014

    • An appeal for organic farming

    • Kesler best choice for judge position

    April 11, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Bits & Pieces

    I don’t know about you, but I get a total sense of helplessness when I realize 239 people died in one airplane crash. And to make it worse, if that is possible, the loved ones left behind can’t close. Maybe this week.

    April 10, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Road work season requires motorists’ undivided attention

    Spring’s budding flowers, trees and grasses are not the only colorful eye candy popping up on the west-central Indiana landscape. Those orange barrels and pylons common to construction areas are appearing as well.

    April 9, 2014

  • Readers' Forum: April 10, 2014

    • Appreciation for writer’s views

    • Amazed by policy on birth control

    April 9, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Dangers lurking among us

    Hardly a week goes by without multiple stories being published in this newspaper detailing the arrests, court proceedings, convictions or sentencings of individuals involved in sex crimes against children or young teens. It’s a disturbing trend that underscores the ever-present dangers that exist where we may least expect them.

    April 9, 2014 1 Story

  • Readers' Forum: April 9, 2014

    April 9, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Basketball and Done

    I guess I’m going to have to change my mind about the “One and Done” rule. It would seem the future professionals wearing university uniforms — national runner-up Kentucky is an example — has proven me a fool. Why should I care about the education they are getting, or not getting?

    April 8, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Angling for a mate not fond of fishing

    While many little girls daydream about the dream man they hope to find, it seems to me that they concentrate on all the wrong things. I can’t discount the appeal of beauty, brains and virtue, but my dream man was one who was not dedicated to fishing.

    April 7, 2014

Latest News
TribStar.com Poll
AP Video
Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Today in History for April 18th Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Crew Criticized Over Handling of Ferry Disaster
NDN Video
Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station My name is Cocaine Lohan Gets Candid About Her Sex List The 2014 New York Auto Show Meet Johnny Manziel's New Girlfriend Chelsea Clinton Announces Pregnancy Funny: Celebrating Easter with Martha Stewart and Friends Man Accuses 'X-Men' Director Bryan Singer of Sexually Abusing Him As a Teenager Man hit with $525 federal fine after he doesn't pay for soda refill Lea Michele & Naya Rivera Feuding? Jabari Parker declares for the NBA draft Singing Nun Belts Out Cyndi Lauper New West, Texas Explosion Video Swim Daily, Throwback Thursday Don't Be A Tattletale: Bad Bullying Tips For Students The trillest thoughts on marijuana "RHOA" Star Charged With Battery Grizzly Bears Get Snowy Birthday Party Weatherman draws forecast when another technical glitch strikes WGN
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
  • -

     

    March 12, 2010

activity