News From Terre Haute, Indiana

Opinion

September 21, 2013

RONN MOTT: Feeling good about cats and kindness

TERRE HAUTE — The thing about raising animals is no matter how hard you try they are still like little children who cannot speak to you in English.

Our cats communicate with my wife, and she has it down to “I’m hungry” “I want to go back out” or “I am bored.” We live across from Collett Park on an extremely busy street that separates us from the park. We have tried to keep our cats out of the park and, so far, we have been successful.

The other morning we awoke to see one of our male cats stretched out on a picnic table in the park across the street from our house. I alerted the wife and we both went out and were about set to go across the street to the park to get him when the attempt was interrupted. A dog, not used to seeing cats sleeping on picnic tables, began to bark and growl and, fortunately, he was on a leash and could not get to our cat.

The cat was scared. His pencil tail all fuzzy and the rest of his fur fluffed up, he jumped off the table and began to fly across the street. It is a busy time between 7 and 8 a.m. on this street. We watched as he ran into our yard but when we glanced back at the street there was our other male cat sitting in the middle of the street on the yellow line.

Potentially, we could have lost both cats very quickly. As it was, we got them back in the yard and around to our back yard safe and sound.

Whew! It was scary. Cats and busy streets do not mesh well. It is dangerous and deadly for small animals.

The squirrels have learned (there are many squirrels in the Collett Park area) to avoid the cars.

However, squirrels do not always make the right decisions and there are often fatalities.

It seems we have gotten our cats used to the idea of staying out of the street, but like any cat, curiosity or the chance of a chase breaks down that concentration. I hope we don’t wake up to any more cat-in-the-park events, but we have to keep a wary eye open for just that type of thing.

Three or four days ago we were involved in a project and my wife had been out to start our car. We got the job done, did not need the car, and we both went back inside the house. I went for the paper and my cup of coffee and the wife busied herself with something in the kitchen. We got busy and stayed busy, and then in about four hours or so, I heard dogs barking in the park.

A young man and a young woman were walking their two dogs in the park. Nothing usual in that, except this time the young man gave his leash to the woman and he trotted across the street to our door. I had just walked out to the front porch to see what the barking was about. I answered the door and the young man said, “Sir, did you realize your car is running?” He said he noticed it the first time around the park and when he came back around it was still running. The wife immediately went out and shut off the car.

We thanked the young man profusely and, for whatever reason or why, we forgot to get his name.  So, to those two nice people, we say, “thank you very much!”

It doesn’t seem to matter what season or time of the year, people who walk around the park just seem to be nicer than the rest of the folks in our town. And we thank you for that.

Kindnesses seem to be rather rare these days. But you see that around Collett Park. It makes us feel very good about where we live.

Ronn Mott, a longtime radio personality in Terre Haute, writes commentaries for the Tribune-Star. His pieces are published online Tuesday and Thursday on Tribstar.com, and in the print and online editions on Saturday.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: That Old Man River

    I was surprised to learn the people in Cairo are now taking water taxis to avoid the traffic, the confusion and the dangers that are appearing on Cairo, Egypt’s, streets. I mean, I was surprised the people in Cairo, these native Egyptians, were surprised they could take a water taxi and get to where they wanted to go using the Nile River as a highway. So, for the Egyptians living in Cairo, everything old is brand new again.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A green idea worth pursuing

    It sounds like a blue-ribbon idea.

    July 9, 2014

  • READERS' FORUM: July 10, 2014

    • Herb Faire a great success

    • Appreciation for a ‘lovely angel’

    • Thanks for stirring fireworks show

    July 9, 2014

  • tstribunestar EDITORIAL: Be safe, be responsible

    The Independence Day weekend brought a brief respite in construction work on area roadways. In particular, it provided needed relief to the congested segment of Interstate 70 in Clay County that is undergoing resurfacing this summer.

    July 8, 2014 1 Photo

  • Readers’ Forum: July 9, 2014

    • Don’t eliminate our six-day mail

    • Zamperini death stirs memories

    July 8, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Black Dog

    We had some excitement around our house the other day and it was not the good kind.
    There was a small dog, black in color with a spiked collar on his neck, and he was the spitting image of a small Doberman. I don’t know if they have miniature Dobermans but this dog could have been a mixed breed that came out looking like a Doberman although smaller.

    July 8, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 8, 2014

    • T-S ignores common decency

    • Lighten up on Donald Sterling

    • Time to reject Dems in Congress

    Fueling the EPA

    July 7, 2014

  • MS. TAKES: Great music is made during all generations

    Number Two son tells us that his 20-year-old son has been listening to “Big Band” music with apparent enjoyment. As if that wasn’t enough of a surprise, I was talking with a young girl, barely out of her teens and she told us that she really wasn’t into rap. She said, “It isn’t really music, it’s just talk.”

    July 7, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 7, 2014

    • The moral issue is major issue

    July 6, 2014

  • tstribunestar Editorial: City financial health demands an open, honest discussion

    Obscured by the recent rift over use of departmental funds in the city of Terre Haute’s budget are serious issues related to our city government’s overall financial health. The answers may be mired in the complexity of municipal finance, but coming to grips with the situation is important to the city’s future.

    July 6, 2014 1 Photo

  • Readers’ Forum: July 6, 2014

    • Coats ignoring climate science

    • Do those mustache posters exist?

    • Utility rate freeze took determination

    • What perversion is next in line?

    • Opinions vary, but voters will decide

    • This preaching must stop — now

    • Golf fundraiser a huge success

    July 6, 2014

  • Flashpoint: State’s lawyer has duty to represent state in marriage lawsuit appeal

    Recent federal court actions that first struck down Indiana’s statute limiting marriage to the traditional definition, and then stayed that order pending appeal, have left many in our state in legal limbo. As the attorney who represents state government and defends its laws, I know this difficult case stirs many people’s deeply held beliefs that touch their lives in very personal ways. Not since my office had to represent the state in lawsuits arising from the State Fair disaster has a dispute been so seemingly impossible to address in a way that the public would accept as being fair to all concerned.

    July 6, 2014

  • Flashpoint: The Supreme Court decision and ‘closely held’ corporations

    The much awaited Supreme Court decision in Burwell vs. Hobby Lobby came down this week. The court ruled in a 5-4 decision that the 1993 Religious Freedom and Restoration Act (RFRA) does cover “closely held” corporations, even if those corporations are for profit.

    July 6, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Learning more about Jefferson

    During this Fourth of July weekend, I’ll be reading John Meacham’s biography of Thomas Jefferson.

    July 4, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Celebrate your independence

    “We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.”
    As eloquent and declaratory as that statement is, implementing its principles has been a decades-long pursuit for these United States of America. Our nation, it seems, is the quintessential work in progress, even though what this country has created in terms of a stable, collective society is, let’s face it, pretty darn good.

    July 3, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 4, 2014

    July 3, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: The Men Who Made the Country

    The Fourth of July is the day we celebrate our independence from Great Britain. It reminds me of something David Ben-Gurion would say, at a much later date, about British rule: “If you have to have a master, the British are about as good at it as anybody.” Of course, we really don’t need a master.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • MET 033114 GREG ZOELLER MUG.jpg GREG ZOELLER: State’s lawyer has duty to represent state in marriage lawsuit appeal

    Recent federal court actions that first struck down Indiana’s statute limiting marriage to the traditional definition, and then stayed that order pending appeal, have left many in our state in legal limbo.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • Readers’ Forum: July 3, 2014

    • Over the top on immigration

    July 2, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: HIP 2.0 gives consumers better choices

    On Wednesday, the State of Indiana submitted its proposal for the Healthy Indiana Plan 2.0 to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

    July 2, 2014

  • Gov. Mike Pence (R, Ind.) MIKE PENCE: HIP 2.0 gives consumers better choices

    Today, the state of Indiana submitted its proposal for the Healthy Indiana Plan 2.0 to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
    If approved, the Healthy Indiana Plan 2.0 would replace traditional Medicaid for low-income, able-bodied Hoosier adults. Unlike traditional Medicaid, which is government-driven, HIP 2.0 is consumer-driven.

    July 2, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Texting law serves safety

    July 1 each year marks the day in Indiana when new laws take effect. But rather than focus on new laws today, let’s observe the anniversary of a law that went on the books three years ago this month — the law that barred texting while driving.

    July 1, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 2, 2014

    July 1, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Cats

    Looking at the situation as a whole, the adopted cats, plus one, seem to be doing OK. The boys, Magic and Mellow, like to roam occasionally, which causes some consternation when they are gone for a long time.

    July 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Oldtime fans will never give up on the Cubbies

    My Best Friend claims to be the world’s oldest living Cubs fan. I am willing to take him at his word, but surely there is some long-lived fan out there in the right field bleachers who would dispute his claim.

    June 30, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 1, 2014

    • Defying the laws of God
    • Correcting the written record
    • Hands of $$ from Redevelopment
    • Celebrity visit for celebration

    June 30, 2014

  • Flashpoint: New Healthy Indiana Plan our best option

    Some state-run health care exchanges — the brainchild of the Affordable Care Act (ACA) — have gotten off to a rocky start, to the point that they are turning to the federal government to pick up the pieces. Indiana’s decision to try to expand the already-existing Healthy Indiana Plan (HIP) in lieu of an exchange seems a more prudent choice every day.

    June 30, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: June 30, 2014

    • Don’t be victim of home repair scam
    • Ending unfair tax practices

    June 29, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: For kids, an immediate need

    If you agree that not much is sadder — and potentially more unsettling to our society — than a child torn from his or her home, here is a way you can make a difference, one kid at a time.

    June 28, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: June 29, 2014

    • The sexual revolution strikes again
    • Country sinks to new lows
    • Saddened by the headlines
    • Opinions not same as facts
    • Letter meets with approval
    • The real ‘truth’ sometimes hurts
    • Applause for great musical
    • Raising minimum wage hurts us
    • Gratitude to camp sponsors
    • More to the city’s mosquito problem

    June 28, 2014

Latest News
TribStar.com Poll
AP Video
Kim Kardashian Hits Up Valentino Show in Paris World's Tallest Water Slide: See It for Yourself Argentina to Face Germany in World Cup Final Connecticut Boy Dies Inside Parked Car Four Kids, Two Adults Shot Dead Near Houston Police: Prostitute Accused in Overdose Death Service Held for 200 Whose Bodies Went Unclaimed Israeli Offensive Escalates in Gaza Attack Fans Dying to Be Near Jazz Greats Raw: 10-year Sentence for Ex-New Orleans Mayor "Hotwives" Spoofs Reality TV Raw: Obama Shoots Pool in Denver Raw: Rocket Explodes Over Israeli Wedding Dodgers Found Partly Responsible in Fan Beating Weaver Reprises Ripley Role for 'Alien' Game APNewsBreak: Different Attackers in Benghazi? Froome Crashes Out on Bumpy 5th Tour Stage Obama Talks Economy, Slams Republicans Former NFL Player 'Excited' Deal Almost Done Sterling Testifies in Los Angeles Clippers Trial
NDN Video
Watch Kelly Ripa Get Soaked! 'Game of Thrones' Leads 66th Emmy Awards Nominations 'Referee' Hands Out Yellow Cards for Social Faux Pas in NYC 7 Infamous Sports Blowouts Argentina tops Holland in World Cup semifinals Emma Watson Is Va-Va-Voom in Valentino News flush: Japanese toilet exhibition making a splash Emmy Nominations: What to Watch For Photographic 'Proof' That LeBron Is Leaving Miami - @TheBuzzeronFOX Elephant Pool Party at The Oregon Zoo Must-See! Berry and Fallon Form Human Hamster Wheel Pilot buys pizzas for travelers delayed by storm Klose nets record, Germany rout Brazil 7-1 'Purrmanently Sad Cat' Looks Adorably Sad All the Time Pharrell 'humbled' by success of mega-hit 'Happy' Day After: Brazil Reeling in WC Loss Jennifer Lawrence Facepalms Emma Watson Athletes Bare All for ESPN Magazine's Body Issue Raw: Brazil Fans Leaving Stadium Before Half Andi Dorfman Walks Out During the Rose Ceremony
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
  • -

     

    March 12, 2010

activity