News From Terre Haute, Indiana

Opinion

February 3, 2013

MARK BENNETT: Falling short of the big prize will produce lessons nonetheless

TERRE HAUTE — This is a day for Roman numerals.

Americans seldom use them. And when we do, humility is not our purpose.

The faces of grand, elegant clocks wear combinations of I, V and X. Like royalty, sons carrying on the full name of the family patriarch are numbered by generation — I, II, III, IV and so on. Blockbuster movie sequels draw box-office muscle from their Romans, as in “Rambo: First Blood Part II,” “Rocky IV” and “Godfather Part II.” Watch the closing credits of a “Dragnet” or “Emergency” rerun and you’ll see a pair of sweaty, grimy hands gripping a chisel and hammer and etching “Mark VII Limited” into a metal plate — the production company owned by 1960s TV tough-guy cop Jack Webb (a.k.a. Joe Friday).

Most indelibly etched into our consciousness, though, are the Roman numerals attached to the Super Bowl. They boldly declare the chronological growth of this massive, immense, “oh so big, so absolutely huge” (to quote Monty Python’s “Meaning of Life”) annual event.

The mere existence of Super Bowl parties exemplifies this day’s exponential expansion on the human calendar. When the Super Bowl debuted in 1967, it was not yet super — its birth name was the “AFL-NFL World Championship Game” — and didn’t earn its Roman numerals officially until Super Bowl III. In ’67, a 23-inch color television was considered “giant.” Most screens were 12, 14 or 17 inches, diagonally. A dozen friends huddled around a black-and-white Sylvania seems prehistoric now. The average TV today measures almost 40 inches. Some span 5 feet. Last fall, LG and Sony unveiled 84-inchers.

Indeed, Super Bowl parties and televisions have grown proportionally. Huge TVs. More guests. Large parties. Vast amounts of food. Funniest commercials. Epic halftime shows. (Marching bands and Up With People entertained at the early Super Bowls.) And, oh yes, the football game.

Tonight, the world chisels “Super Bowl XLVII” into its big, absolutely huge history books. Few creations, aside from the sheer passage of time, reach No. 47 in Roman numerals. Super Sunday has become a national holiday of sorts.

While Christmas marks the birth of Christ, Thanksgiving acknowledges family and blessings, and New Year’s Day toasts, well, a new year, Super Sunday celebrates all things large and supreme in America, including a championship football team.

As compelling and fun as it all is, the only subtle aspect of The Big Game (as those lacking NFL licensing approval call it) is its most valuable subplot …

Losing.

The Super Bowl owes its longevity and popularity to those who fell short. Those humbled on the way to the Lombardi Trophy presentation. Without Buffalo kicker Scott Norwood and “wide right,” a Gatorade-soaked Bill Parcells would not have ridden into Super Bowl XXV glory on the shoulders of his New York Giants.

Most NFL players end their season with a loss or out of title contention. Thirty-one teams fail to be called “the best.” Average Joes and Janes can relate to that better than to Joe Montana, Terry Bradshaw and Tom Brady. Most of us have a Scott Norwood moment, when — with everyone in our world watching or counting on us — we disappoint others, and ourselves … from missed birthdays to wrecked cars and broken homes … when we’re less than “super.”

Some handle the ramifications of setback well. Some don’t.

Amid the partying, hoops and hollers, and spectacular plays, consider those who aren’t jumping up and down on the Superdome turf in New Orleans when the game ends. Their reactions — good or bad — might teach us more than those of the champs.

Consider Cam Cameron. He and I became friends and football teammates as Honey Creek Colts in junior high school, and as Terre Haute South Braves in high school. Cam won and succeeded a lot, and with class, back then. It continued for him in basketball, through three Final Four trips at South and as a reserve on Bob Knight’s Indiana Hoosiers, and as a football assistant coach at Michigan and then in the pro ranks. Now 51 years old, his winning percentage as an offensive coordinator (the guy who calls the plays) ranks among the best ever in the NFL.

He called the offensive shots for the Baltimore Ravens for the past five seasons, including most of the 2012-13 campaign. Thirteen games into this season, with the Ravens sporting a solid 9-4 record, Cam was fired. The drastic step, taken by Cameron’s longtime friend and Ravens head coach John Harbaugh, jolted the players and the offense Cameron helped build became resurgent. Baltimore rolled from there, through the playoffs and into today’s Super Bowl, where they’ll play the San Francisco 49ers.

Every NFL player and coach, including the intensely competitive Cameron, wants to reach the Super Bowl. He missed this gridiron Holy Grail by just weeks. His reaction, though, should inspire others as much as tonight’s Most Valuable Player.

Cameron spent time with his wife and kids, refused to hide in embarrassment, and spoke with wisdom. In a New York Times interview, he praised John Harbaugh’s decision to fire him just three games before the playoffs, calling it “a brilliant move.” The Ravens had lost two consecutive games and needed shaken out of their inconsistency. His dismissal delivered that awakening.

“Everyone on the team took a look in the mirror after that,” he told the Times.

In the meantime, Cameron pursued activities with his family the long hours of NFL coaching had prevented, the Times story explained. While in New York, taking in a couple of Broadway plays with his wife, Missy, they stopped in an Irish pub and watched, yes, the Ravens beat the Denver Broncos in the divisional playoffs. “You can’t do anything but root for those guys,” he told the newspaper.

Cameron, no doubt, will rejoin the chase for the Lombardi Trophy next season with another NFL club. For now, he’s turned a significant — yet momentary — setback into a positive. “I believe that me and my family — and I’ve told them this — we’re right where we’re supposed to be,” he said. “And that’s very freeing in a lot of ways.”

Just 51, Cam will still be coaching when the Super Bowl turns 50 in 2016. Some in the NFL have questioned whether the league should drop the Roman numerals in advance of that game — Super Bowl L. They fear its numerical value will be the target of wisecracks about “L” — which people connect with the “loser” symbol made with a thumb and forefinger held on the forehead.

The L should stay. Instead of “50” or “loser,” maybe it should stand for “lessons.”

Mark Bennett can be reached at 812-231-4377 or mark.bennett@tribstar.com.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • EDITORIAL: Get smart with 911

    Worst-case scenarios when emergency service are needed are not things people like to think about. But focused attention on details in advance could make a life-changing, even life-saving, difference in the future.

    April 17, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: Heading in the wrong direction

    A study released last week by the Tax Foundation reported Indiana taxpayers saw one of the sharpest increases in tax burden since 2001. Dig deeper and the numbers are more alarming.

    April 17, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: They didn’t make it!

    The “One and Dones” done went and didn’t! (I know this is grammatically incorrect, but I want those folks down in Kentucky to read it.)

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • tstribunestar EDITORIAL: Dealing with eroded trust

    Our neighbors in Putnam County are understandably concerned, even outraged, over problems in their sheriff’s department. People have a right to expect their chief law-enforcement agency — one of the most important public institutions in any community — to operate professionally and effectively.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Readers’ Forum: April 17, 2014

    • A blessing from our young folks

    • Confidence in judge candidate

    April 16, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Preparing for voting changes

    The primary election, during which Hoosiers will traipse to their polling places to select party candidates to fill the ballot for the general election, is now three weeks away.

    April 15, 2014

  • Readers’ forum: April 16, 2014

    • Mott’s rant on global warming

    • Salvation through the Indian way

    April 15, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Royce Waltman

    In recent days the papers have been full of good things about Royce Waltman. Not a lot of puffery, but more like Royce himself… straight, true and right at you.

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Not much peace since war to end all wars

    My jaw dropped the other day when I read that this year, 2014, marks 100 years since the start of World War I. No, you wise guys, I wasn’t there personally.

    April 14, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: April 15, 2014

    Sound choice for county judge
    Giving your car the care it needs
    Park restrooms should be open

    April 14, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Noteworthy in the news (Honors for outstanding women)

    Honors for outstanding women
    Sprucing up around the wetlands
    You can say that again
    Reader Poll results

    April 13, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: April 14, 2014

    Alternatives to ‘injustice’

    April 13, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Teaming up to fight the ugliness of graffiti

    Graffiti hurts the Terre Haute community. It deflates property values and local pride. It literally paints an image of carelessness on the city.

    April 12, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: It’s (Not) So Easy

    Arctic air bled into the Wabash Avenue post-hippie-era diner-pub every time the wooden door swung open.

    April 12, 2014

  • ERIC SCHANSBERG: The 1040 tax form turns 100

    The 16th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution brought us the federal income tax in 1913. A year later, the 1040 tax form was born.

    April 12, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: April 13, 2014

    • An attack of hypocrisy

    • New jail not a good idea

    • Thinking about the next election

    • Being positive a tremendous asset

    • Work status a matter of value

    April 12, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: Time to fix government

    In 1965, the chairman of the powerful Ways and Means Committee, Wilbur Mills, brought legislation establishing Medicare and Medicaid to the floor of the U.S. House. That was my first year in Congress, and I remember vividly the moment when Mills came to the Democratic caucus to explain his plans.

    April 12, 2014

  • Death Notice: April 13, 2014

    Phillip Herman

    April 12, 2014

  • GUEST EDITORIAL: Despite high court ruling, big money may not guarantee election success

    The Supreme Court has taken the predictable next step in the wake of its 2010 Citizens United decision in which it lifted the limit on donations wealthy donors can make to certain political entities.

    April 11, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Pondering our planet’s future

    I watched a TV show recently and the subject was global warming.

    April 11, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Warm thoughts for Waltman

    When Royce Waltman left Indiana State University as its head basketball coach in 2007, there was a sense of disappointment in the community that covered a broad spectrum.

    April 11, 2014

  • Readers' Forum: April 11, 2014

    • An appeal for organic farming

    • Kesler best choice for judge position

    April 11, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Bits & Pieces

    I don’t know about you, but I get a total sense of helplessness when I realize 239 people died in one airplane crash. And to make it worse, if that is possible, the loved ones left behind can’t close. Maybe this week.

    April 10, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Road work season requires motorists’ undivided attention

    Spring’s budding flowers, trees and grasses are not the only colorful eye candy popping up on the west-central Indiana landscape. Those orange barrels and pylons common to construction areas are appearing as well.

    April 9, 2014

  • Readers' Forum: April 10, 2014

    • Appreciation for writer’s views

    • Amazed by policy on birth control

    April 9, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Dangers lurking among us

    Hardly a week goes by without multiple stories being published in this newspaper detailing the arrests, court proceedings, convictions or sentencings of individuals involved in sex crimes against children or young teens. It’s a disturbing trend that underscores the ever-present dangers that exist where we may least expect them.

    April 9, 2014 1 Story

  • Readers' Forum: April 9, 2014

    April 9, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Basketball and Done

    I guess I’m going to have to change my mind about the “One and Done” rule. It would seem the future professionals wearing university uniforms — national runner-up Kentucky is an example — has proven me a fool. Why should I care about the education they are getting, or not getting?

    April 8, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Angling for a mate not fond of fishing

    While many little girls daydream about the dream man they hope to find, it seems to me that they concentrate on all the wrong things. I can’t discount the appeal of beauty, brains and virtue, but my dream man was one who was not dedicated to fishing.

    April 7, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: April 8, 2014

    Tracking the trail of thieves
    Friendly service at local store
    New voice for judicial system
    Movie strikes a proper balance

    April 7, 2014

Latest News
TribStar.com Poll
AP Video
Obama Hopeful on Ukraine, Will Watch Russians Crew Criticized Over Handling of Ferry Disaster Flamingo Frenzy Ahead of Zoo Construction Malaysia Plane: Ocean Floor Images 'Very Clear' Agreement Reached to Calm Ukraine Tensions Raw: Bulgarian Monastery Dyes 5000 Easter Eggs Captain of Sunken South Korean Ferry Apologizes Raw: Pope Francis Performs Pre-easter Ritual Diplomats Reach Deal to Ease Tensions in Ukraine Chelsea Clinton Is Pregnant Passengers Abuzz After Plane Hits Swarm of Bees New York Auto Show Highlights Latest in Car Tech Sparks Fly With Derulo and Jordin on New Album Raw: Pro-Russian Militants Killed on Base U.S. Sending Nonlethal Aid to Ukraine Military Raw: Royal Couple Visits Australia Mountains Raw: Two Lucky Kids Get Ride in Popemobile Beau Biden Plans 2016 Run for Del. Governor Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras ND Oil Boom Attracting Drug Traffickers
NDN Video
Funny: Celebrating Easter with Martha Stewart and Friends Chelsea Clinton Announces Pregnancy Man Accuses 'X-Men' Director Bryan Singer of Sexually Abusing Him As a Teenager Lea Michele & Naya Rivera Feuding? Man hit with $525 federal fine after he doesn't pay for soda refill Jabari Parker declares for the NBA draft Singing Nun Belts Out Cyndi Lauper New West, Texas Explosion Video Swim Daily, Throwback Thursday Don't Be A Tattletale: Bad Bullying Tips For Students The trillest thoughts on marijuana "RHOA" Star Charged With Battery Grizzly Bears Get Snowy Birthday Party Weatherman draws forecast when another technical glitch strikes WGN Elizabeth Olsen's Sexy Shoot Bay Area Teen Gets Prom Date With Help From 'Breaking Bad' Star Boston Bomb Scare Defendant Appears in Court Behind The Tanlines Jersey Strong Part 1 WATCH: Women Fight To Marry Prince Harry! Jenny McCarthy Engaged to "New Kid"
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
  • -

     

    March 12, 2010

activity