News From Terre Haute, Indiana

Opinion

November 25, 2010

Stephanie Salter: After the turkey and before the pie, a round of giving thanks

TERRE HAUTE — As my colleague Alicia Morgan wrote last week, there is no downside to taking time out now and then to list and truly appreciate our blessings. Given that today is this nation’s unique, official acknowledgment of thankfulness, I’ll share some of the people and things for whom and which I am thankful. May you be inspired (in agreement or disagreement) to create your own list.

In random order, I am deeply grateful for:

• U.S.-style democracy

Elections seem to get uglier (and more expensive), tens of millions of Americans don’t even bother to vote, and big-bucks lobbies buy access to our so-called public servants, but even this flawed system beats tribal wars, coups or “divine right” dictatorships as methods for changing leadership.

That fact makes for a domestic stability that puts us in rare company and allows us to weather all sorts of economic and social ups and downs. No small deal in the big scheme of things.

• The Public Broadcasting System and National Public Radio

The enemies of both tend to be folks who never watch or listen to these true voices of the people — PBS and NPR acquire most of their operating funds the old-fashioned way: They beg the public for them during pledge drives. Instead, an angry talking head will fixate on a controversial program, hammer on it until several angry politicians start hammering, and angry loyal acolytes will buy the lie that controversial programming is all there is to PBS or NPR.

In addition to concerts, travelogues, genuine investigative journalism, children’s programs that aren’t stupid or violent, historical and scientific analyses, informative (but fun) game shows, health and medicine programs, and examinations of religion that invite believers to learn, think and articulate their faith, PBS and NPR offer terrific entertainment. One favorite from each: “American Masters” and “This American Life.”

• Newspaper readers

I have extolled your virtues before and thanked you profusely, but if you are reading this as we speak — especially in a hold-in-your-hands, recyclable, paper format — I count you among my most precious blessings. You may be a disappearing breed, but you are a choice one.

• Recyclers

Whether you do it curbside via Republic Services and/or you haul your stuff to collection sites such as Indiana State University or Goodwill, you are making the world a better place.

A recent recycling summit here in Terre Haute for businesses and institutions found widespread enthusiasm for commercial recycling, with companies such as Walmart and Sony seriously pursuing a zero landfill footprint. The summit organizer, Trees Inc., has all the data from the one-day event if you’d care to inquire, and there likely will be a similar summit down the road for individual and small, private group recyclers.

• Chef Chris Kraut’s amazing “Prep Kitchen” in the delicatessen department of Baesler’s Market

A magician with locally grown produce, meats, fish and poultry, Kraut built a following at the now-shuttered Button Wood restaurant at Sycamore Farm B&B on East Poplar Street. Now, thanks to the ever-entrepreneurial Bob Baesler, the chef is turning out delectable and hearty dishes and dinners to go.

Kraut is sensitive to the seasons and cooks as well as anybody under a toque in Indianapolis and maybe Chicago. He creates everything from a butternut squash/coconut milk curry soup to perfect, made-from-scratch chicken parmigiana. His array of appetizers is a wonder. The only thing his fans have to do is take the food home, follow reheating instructions and share a Hoosier gourmet repast with family and friends.

• Land lines

I don’t care if Americans are dropping them by the thousands, I am grateful that line-and-pole telephone service still exists. Before we started bouncing human voices off satellites and listening to them 24/7 through toy-sized cell phones at our ear, we tended to focus more on engaging in a telephone conversation.

We had to; even with a cordless phone, there is only so much multitasking one can do when one must stay fairly put in a house or an office. (Doing the dishes during a phone call is a far cry from navigating the 465 bypass around Indy.) Sitting down and devoting time and attention to a person on the other “end” of a call is a superior form of communication to hit-and-miss, hot-ear, dropped-call cell service. Besides, the more mobile we are, the more we start looking for other things to do while we are talking. It’s our distractible nature.

• The Sisters of Providence

No doubt, it helps to have a bona fide saint on your side, but the sisters on the west side of the Wabash River were elevating humankind long before Mother Theodore Guerin’s canonization.

Often, I think of all the violence, fear, ignorance and venality in the world — and the image of the SPs arises as a potent antidote.

Just about everyone who sets foot on the campus of St. Mary-of-the-Woods College or on the sisters’ surrounding land knows the area gives off a healing, comforting vibe. The alpacas and horses there are happy, the organic plants are contented, the human out-patients in rehab therapy are hopeful, and the nuns remain remarkably resourceful, forward-thinking, spiritually deep dames. This corner of Indiana is beyond blessed to have them in our midst.

• The eternal mystery of the human heart

Specifically, I am talking about a widowed man of grandfathering age who has lived well, learned much, amassed a fortune in love and respect from his family and friends, but who defies logic and decides his future happiness lies in a never-married feminist of grandmothering age, independent ways, liberal politics and ink-stained life experiences.

Here’s to the inexplicable.

Stephanie Salter can be reached at (812) 231-4229 or stephanie.salter@tribstar.com

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Readers’ Forum: July 25, 2014

    July 24, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: The Czar of Russia

    If you are expecting Vladimir Putin, President of the Russian Republic, to react to the crisis in the Ukraine as an ordinary elected official, think again. Even though Putin is the President of the Russian Republic, this is not the job he wants. Putin also doesn’t want to be the chairman of a newly resurrected Communist Party in Russia. No, what he wants is to be the czar of a greater Russia.

    July 24, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 24, 2014

    • Clinic will expand basic health access
    • Misunderstanding truth about Islam

    July 23, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Work program needs industry buy-in

    Good help is hard to find. That’s essentially what Indiana companies have insisted for several years. The state struggles with a “skills gap,” the firms explain. They need employees, but can’t find enough — or in some cases, any — qualified Hoosiers. Businesses say too few applicants possess the “soft skills,” such as showing up for work on time or being able to effectively communicate with co-workers.

    July 22, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 23, 2014

    July 22, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Dragonfly

    The other morning I was moving the canister that holds our recycling material out to the curb when I saw a strange sight. What I saw was a dragonfly fighting with a bee.

    July 22, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: News about reality, not affirmation

    The public’s trust in the news media keeps dwindling. At the same time, Americans’ political polarization keeps increasing.

    July 21, 2014

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Chickens as pets always turned out same way

    I suppose many of us who grew up on farms or in small towns adopted unusual pets. I had a fondness for chickens. My folks always kept a few chickens, not only to fry or roast, but also for the eggs.

    July 21, 2014

  • Readers’ forum: July 22, 2014

    • Supt. Ritz has right to govern
    • A tribute to a teacher
    • Rep. Pelosi shows ‘bungling idiocy’

    July 21, 2014

  • Readers’ forum: July 21, 2014

    • Theater brings the joy of music
    • Drawing closer to the spirit
    • Give some space to heterosexuals

    July 20, 2014

  • LovellEdwards.JPG MARK BENNETT: Former Terre Hautean Jim Lovell stood ready as Neil Armstrong’s backup on Apollo 11

    The words “Apollo 11” stir optimism in me.
    I was an elementary school kid growing up in Vigo County when Neil Armstrong put the first footprint on the moon on July 20, 1969. So much seemed possible

    July 20, 2014 1 Photo 4 Stories

  • EDITORIAL: Vigo Jail study essential to determine strategy

    It comes as encouraging news that the Vigo County Council might include in its 2015 budget significant funding for an expert and neutral study of what can be done to replace or enhance the existing county jail.

    July 20, 2014

  • Readers’ forum: July 20, 2014

    • ‘Hotel Indiana’ has a sour tune

    • Kind words about the newspaper

    • Some questions about RTL video

    • No mercy for cop killers

    • Crack down on gun violence

    • Anti-Dem tirades mask GOP failures

    • Important day for participants

    • Appreciation for support

    July 20, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: Solve our border crisis

    More than 60,000 unaccompanied alien children — mostly from Guatemala, Honduras and El Salvador — have been apprehended on America’s southern border during this fiscal year.

    July 20, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: World Cup over, but it was fun

    After many weeks and many games, the World Cup is over. While the world calls it “futbol,” only we in North America play another brand of football. It is very simple to understand why this is the world’s favorite game … all it takes is an empty lot, a round soccer ball, and you can get a futbol game together.

    July 18, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: Living in peaceful communities requires collaboration

    Hoosiers have the right to live in peace. Yet, too many of our friends and neighbors are currently living in fear.

    July 18, 2014

  • Flashpoint: Will Gov. Pence be true to his word?

    This is written in response to recent remarks made by State Board of Education members.

    July 17, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 18, 2014

    July 17, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Presidential Ambush

    No wild-west ambush, either real or fiction, has been as successful as the ambush on President Barack Obama.

    July 17, 2014

  • READERS’ FORUM: July 17, 2014

    • Civil rights and burning cities

    • Quality service from Baesler’s

    July 16, 2014

  • FLAHSPOINT: Supt. Glenda Ritz ‘creating conflict’

    It has been my pleasure for the past year to serve as the newest member of the Indiana State Board of Education. I bring a fresh perspective to the board as an attorney and business executive who served as Director of Economic Development under former Indianapolis Mayor Bart Peterson and President of the Indy Partnership, a regional economic development organization charged with recruiting new companies to our state.

    July 16, 2014

  • tstribunestar Editorial: Continuing the standard

    U.S. Attorney Joe Hogsett has raised the profile of his federally appointed position more than any individual to hold the job in decades. From the start, he was a man on a mission, and often that mission was focused on rooting out corruption, maintaining integrity in government and pursuing those who violated the public trust.

    July 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • Readers’ Forum: July 16, 2014

    • The truth about property taxes

    July 15, 2014

  • Letter from BOE member: Superintendent Ritz ‘creating conflict’

    It has been my pleasure for the past year to serve as the newest member of the Indiana State Board of Education. I bring a fresh perspective to the board as an attorney and business executive who served as Director of Economic Development under former Indianapolis Mayor Bart Peterson and President of the Indy Partnership, a regional economic development organization charged with recruiting new companies to our state.

    July 15, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Collett Park

    Saturday at the Park, Collett Park, another beautiful wedding was held. They looked so nice in the warm weather with the Gazebo acting as church sanctuary, I would almost be tempted myself to do it again, and do it outdoors at the Park. No, no, no, not again, even as pretty as it is in the Park on a nice July Saturday.

    July 15, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 15, 2014

    • Are Fed policies hurting America?

    • Staying true to code of respect

    July 14, 2014

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Lots we did not have in those good ol’ days

    In my thankful moments, I’m glad I was not my grandmother’s daughter. I would miss the modern conveniences.

    July 14, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Legal marriages should be honored

    An eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.

    July 13, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 14, 2014

    • Where did the 61 cents go?

    July 13, 2014

  • wefight.jpg MARK BENNETT: Filmmaker captures late uncle’s walk through illness and into ‘whatever is next’

    Paul Fleschner sensed a remarkable strength as he filmed his beloved uncle one final time.

    July 12, 2014 2 Photos

Latest News
TribStar.com Poll
AP Video
Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Raw: Iowa Police Dash Cam Shows Wild Chase Dempsey: Putin May Light Fire and Lose Control In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Police: Doctor Who Shot Gunman 'Saved Lives' Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp Anti-violence Advocate Killed, but Not Silenced. Arizona Prison Chief: Execution Wasn't Botched Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Raw: Air Algerie Crash Site in Mali Raw: Protesters, Soldiers Clash in West Bank Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites Israeli American Reservist Torn Over Return 'Modern Family' Star on Gay Athletes Coming Out Calif. Police Investigate Peacock Shooting Death Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe MN Twins Debut Beer Vending Machine Raw: Ukraine's Donetsk Residents Flee Gaza Residents Mourn Dead Amid Airstrikes
NDN Video
Big Weekend For Atlanta Braves In Cooperstown - @TheBuzzeronFox Chapter Two: Becoming a first-time director What's Got Jack Black Freaking Out at Comic-Con? Doctors Remove 232 Teeth From Teen's Mouth Bradley Cooper Explains His Voice in 'Guardians of the Galaxy' Deja vu: Another NYPD officer choke-holding a suspect 'Fifty Shades of Grey': Watch the Super Sexy First Trailer Now! Reports: Ravens RB Ray Rice Suspended For 1st 2 Games Of The Season Air Algerie plane with 119 on board missing over Mali Diamond Stone, Malik Newman, Josh Jackson and others showcase talent Free Arturo - The World's Saddest Polar Bear A Look Back at Batman On Film Through The Years LeBron James -- Dropped $2k On Cupcake Apology ... Proceeds To Benefit Charity Snoop Dogg Says He Smoked Weed at the White House Raw: Fight Breaks Out in Ukraine Parliament Chris Pratt Interrupts Interview To French Braid Intern's Hair Shirtless Super Mario Balotelli Dances While Ironing - @TheBuzzeronFOX Whoa! Watch "Housewives" Star Do the Unthinkable LeBron apologizes to neighbors with cupcakes Justin Bieber In Calvin Klein Underwear Shoot
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
  • -

     

    March 12, 2010

activity