News From Terre Haute, Indiana

Opinion

March 24, 2013

FLASHPOINT: Stability key for state’s future

TERRE HAUTE — Hoosiers have the unique luxury of being the fiscal envy of the nation due to the sound fiscal policies of the last eight years. Rather than discussing which taxes to increase as they are in Kansas and other states, policymakers are having a dialog on which tax to cut. While other states weathered the recession storm of the last four years with tax hikes and deep cuts in education and other essential services, Indiana kept a steady hand on the wheel.

With our “cut rather than tax increase” philosophy and by maintaining prudent reserves, unlike other states, we actually increased our bond rating to AAA and began funding out-of-balance pensions for police, fire, teachers and state employees.

What may not be realized by the casual observer is that Indiana also has implemented a steady and prudent tax-cut policy over the last decade. Republicans successfully championed the “cut now, cap forever” property tax plan resulting in permanent property tax caps and the lowest residential property taxes in the nation. We repealed the job-killing inventory tax and “gross receipts” business tax, cut unemployment taxes on Hoosier employers, executed a 25-percent cut in corporate business taxes, and with Gov. Daniels, passed the automatic taxpayer refund, which is returning over $360 million to Hoosier families by April 15 of this year.

Hoosiers now enjoy the lowest cost per capita state government in the nation, the lowest residential property taxes in the nation, and what the conservative Tax Foundation rates as the best and lowest income tax system among the 41 states that have an income tax. In short, these prudent legislative policies are the reason Indiana is the fiscal envy of the nation. But this was not without hard work and quite a bit of pain along the way.

Prior to the legislative session, House Republicans outlined our budget priorities as continued fiscal integrity and lean government, a significant investment in roads and bridges due to the completion of the Major Moves program, and restoring the cuts to public education necessitated to keep the state in the black during the recession.

The current House Republican budget restores the appropriation for public schools to the level it was four years ago, with a 2-percent increase in overall school funding the first year, and a 1-percent increase the following year. We also afford a significant investment in Indiana’s roads and bridges at the state and local level, in keeping with our philosophy of economic growth and the realization that you can’t be the Crossroads of America with crumbling infrastructure.

Our version of the budget also takes a conservative approach to public projects by paying off long-term state indebtedness for construction projects and paying cash for several scheduled projects rather than loading our children up with future debt.

With respect to the Gov. Pence’s income tax cut proposal, seasoned legislative leaders have urged caution for several reasons. First, in 1998, the last time the state’s reserves exceeded $2 billion, an income tax and property tax cut were both adopted which, when coupled with an unexpected economic downturn, quickly turned that surplus into a $1.3 billion deficit in a short six-year period. When Republicans regained the House majority, our first order of business was to fill that hole through cuts, and not the tax increase proposed by Gov. Daniels.

It was painful and difficult, but sustainable in the long run since it avoided the wild shifts experienced in other states. The uncertainty of big shifts in one direction or another leads to uncertainty for job creators and Hoosier families alike. With looming federal mandates and a precarious national economy on the horizon, caution is needed.

In addition, the Tax Foundation rates Indiana’s income tax as the best in the nation among the 41 states that have income taxes. It is flat (not progressively higher for higher earners) and has limited deductions so everyone carries their fair low share.

On the other hand, Indiana is also cited as one of only 20 states in the nation that continues to tax Hoosier families through a “death tax” which places family farms, family businesses and Hoosiers who have managed to scrape together a lifetime of savings in an untenable position. While a slow phase out of the inheritance tax is under way, the immediate elimination of that tax would help Hoosier families; eliminate a layer of state government and the need for private sector accountants and attorneys who must be employed by Hoosiers upon the death of a loved one. Eliminating the inheritance tax today is the smart fiscal move.

I was uncomfortable being on the opposite side of Gov. Daniels’ 2005 tax-increase proposal and I am not very comfortable being on the opposite side of Gov. Pence on the income tax cut proposed in 2013. But comfort isn’t the point; long-term vision is.

Gov. Pence points to Kansas as a model for his tax-cut proposal, and I would encourage you to look online at the fiscal instability resulting from Gov. Brownback’s tax cut.

Hoosiers, rest assured: there will be a tax cut this year, but it must be the right tax, in the right way, at the right time. You deserve it.

House Speaker Brian Bosma is an Indianapolis attorney and longtime legislator.

 

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • RONN MOTT: Troubled history in that place called Iraq

    People are dying, again, in Iraq. And, again, people other than Iraqis will ultimately make the decision about what happens to this ancient land.

    July 11, 2014

  • Editorial: The Bennett ‘settlement’

    It takes a special kind of arrogance to flout ethics laws in the manner which former state Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Bennett has violated them. Even when he finally admitted his transgressions, he claimed he could have avoided the matter altogether had he just changed the department’s ethics policy before engaging in the troublesome conduct.
    In essence, this was the old “mistakes were made” acknowledgment of wrongdoing. And the real mistake to which Bennett admits was apparently not changing the rules before he violated them. This is a truly Nixonian moment.

    July 10, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 11, 2014

    July 10, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: That Old Man River

    I was surprised to learn the people in Cairo are now taking water taxis to avoid the traffic, the confusion and the dangers that are appearing on Cairo, Egypt’s, streets. I mean, I was surprised the people in Cairo, these native Egyptians, were surprised they could take a water taxi and get to where they wanted to go using the Nile River as a highway. So, for the Egyptians living in Cairo, everything old is brand new again.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A green idea worth pursuing

    It sounds like a blue-ribbon idea.

    July 9, 2014

  • READERS' FORUM: July 10, 2014

    • Herb Faire a great success

    • Appreciation for a ‘lovely angel’

    • Thanks for stirring fireworks show

    July 9, 2014

  • tstribunestar EDITORIAL: Be safe, be responsible

    The Independence Day weekend brought a brief respite in construction work on area roadways. In particular, it provided needed relief to the congested segment of Interstate 70 in Clay County that is undergoing resurfacing this summer.

    July 8, 2014 1 Photo

  • Readers’ Forum: July 9, 2014

    • Don’t eliminate our six-day mail

    • Zamperini death stirs memories

    July 8, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Black Dog

    We had some excitement around our house the other day and it was not the good kind.
    There was a small dog, black in color with a spiked collar on his neck, and he was the spitting image of a small Doberman. I don’t know if they have miniature Dobermans but this dog could have been a mixed breed that came out looking like a Doberman although smaller.

    July 8, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 8, 2014

    • T-S ignores common decency

    • Lighten up on Donald Sterling

    • Time to reject Dems in Congress

    Fueling the EPA

    July 7, 2014

  • MS. TAKES: Great music is made during all generations

    Number Two son tells us that his 20-year-old son has been listening to “Big Band” music with apparent enjoyment. As if that wasn’t enough of a surprise, I was talking with a young girl, barely out of her teens and she told us that she really wasn’t into rap. She said, “It isn’t really music, it’s just talk.”

    July 7, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 7, 2014

    • The moral issue is major issue

    July 6, 2014

  • tstribunestar Editorial: City financial health demands an open, honest discussion

    Obscured by the recent rift over use of departmental funds in the city of Terre Haute’s budget are serious issues related to our city government’s overall financial health. The answers may be mired in the complexity of municipal finance, but coming to grips with the situation is important to the city’s future.

    July 6, 2014 1 Photo

  • Readers’ Forum: July 6, 2014

    • Coats ignoring climate science

    • Do those mustache posters exist?

    • Utility rate freeze took determination

    • What perversion is next in line?

    • Opinions vary, but voters will decide

    • This preaching must stop — now

    • Golf fundraiser a huge success

    July 6, 2014

  • Flashpoint: State’s lawyer has duty to represent state in marriage lawsuit appeal

    Recent federal court actions that first struck down Indiana’s statute limiting marriage to the traditional definition, and then stayed that order pending appeal, have left many in our state in legal limbo. As the attorney who represents state government and defends its laws, I know this difficult case stirs many people’s deeply held beliefs that touch their lives in very personal ways. Not since my office had to represent the state in lawsuits arising from the State Fair disaster has a dispute been so seemingly impossible to address in a way that the public would accept as being fair to all concerned.

    July 6, 2014

  • Flashpoint: The Supreme Court decision and ‘closely held’ corporations

    The much awaited Supreme Court decision in Burwell vs. Hobby Lobby came down this week. The court ruled in a 5-4 decision that the 1993 Religious Freedom and Restoration Act (RFRA) does cover “closely held” corporations, even if those corporations are for profit.

    July 6, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Learning more about Jefferson

    During this Fourth of July weekend, I’ll be reading John Meacham’s biography of Thomas Jefferson.

    July 4, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Celebrate your independence

    “We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.”
    As eloquent and declaratory as that statement is, implementing its principles has been a decades-long pursuit for these United States of America. Our nation, it seems, is the quintessential work in progress, even though what this country has created in terms of a stable, collective society is, let’s face it, pretty darn good.

    July 3, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 4, 2014

    July 3, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: The Men Who Made the Country

    The Fourth of July is the day we celebrate our independence from Great Britain. It reminds me of something David Ben-Gurion would say, at a much later date, about British rule: “If you have to have a master, the British are about as good at it as anybody.” Of course, we really don’t need a master.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • MET 033114 GREG ZOELLER MUG.jpg GREG ZOELLER: State’s lawyer has duty to represent state in marriage lawsuit appeal

    Recent federal court actions that first struck down Indiana’s statute limiting marriage to the traditional definition, and then stayed that order pending appeal, have left many in our state in legal limbo.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • Readers’ Forum: July 3, 2014

    • Over the top on immigration

    July 2, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: HIP 2.0 gives consumers better choices

    On Wednesday, the State of Indiana submitted its proposal for the Healthy Indiana Plan 2.0 to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

    July 2, 2014

  • Gov. Mike Pence (R, Ind.) MIKE PENCE: HIP 2.0 gives consumers better choices

    Today, the state of Indiana submitted its proposal for the Healthy Indiana Plan 2.0 to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
    If approved, the Healthy Indiana Plan 2.0 would replace traditional Medicaid for low-income, able-bodied Hoosier adults. Unlike traditional Medicaid, which is government-driven, HIP 2.0 is consumer-driven.

    July 2, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Texting law serves safety

    July 1 each year marks the day in Indiana when new laws take effect. But rather than focus on new laws today, let’s observe the anniversary of a law that went on the books three years ago this month — the law that barred texting while driving.

    July 1, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 2, 2014

    July 1, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Cats

    Looking at the situation as a whole, the adopted cats, plus one, seem to be doing OK. The boys, Magic and Mellow, like to roam occasionally, which causes some consternation when they are gone for a long time.

    July 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Oldtime fans will never give up on the Cubbies

    My Best Friend claims to be the world’s oldest living Cubs fan. I am willing to take him at his word, but surely there is some long-lived fan out there in the right field bleachers who would dispute his claim.

    June 30, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 1, 2014

    • Defying the laws of God
    • Correcting the written record
    • Hands of $$ from Redevelopment
    • Celebrity visit for celebration

    June 30, 2014

  • Flashpoint: New Healthy Indiana Plan our best option

    Some state-run health care exchanges — the brainchild of the Affordable Care Act (ACA) — have gotten off to a rocky start, to the point that they are turning to the federal government to pick up the pieces. Indiana’s decision to try to expand the already-existing Healthy Indiana Plan (HIP) in lieu of an exchange seems a more prudent choice every day.

    June 30, 2014

Latest News
TribStar.com Poll
AP Video
Joy Fills Streets of Cleveland As LeBron Returns Raw: Rebel Leader Weds in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Israel, Gaza Exchange Rocket Fire Police: Prostitute Linked to 2nd Death Texas Shooting Suspect Collapses in Court Ana Ortiz on 'Devious Maids' Finale Chimp-attack Victim Lobbies Congress Man Flees Police in World Cup Scalping Scheme Raw: Australia Hosts Annual Beer Can Regatta Arizona Mom of Missing Baby Released From Prison Death Toll Tops 100 As Israel Offense Continues Diaz and Segel Strip Off for 'Sex Tape' WH: LeBron's Move a 'Powerful Statement' More Immigrants Detained Along Rio Grande Robot Writes Jewish Torah Scroll Proposed Bill to Regulate NY Costumed Characters LeBron James Says He's Returning to Cavaliers Argentina to Face Germany in World Cup Final Children Face Deportation Without Attorneys Raw: Protesters, Israeli Security Forces Clash
NDN Video
Cleveland welcomes home LeBron Houston Killer Collapses in Court When Read Capital Murder Charges for Allegedly Killing Family of Six Worst Valet Ever Wrecks $500K Lamborghini Glee Star Becca Tobin's Boyfriend Matt Bendik Found Dead in Hotel Aerial fish restocking in Utah ScarJo Channels Marilyn Monroe Obama Responds to Hecklers on Immigration Tiny Hamsters Who Ate Burritos are Back for a Tiny Hedgehog's Party Watch Kelly Ripa Get Soaked! 'Referee' Hands Out Yellow Cards for Social Faux Pas in NYC 2014 Emmy Nominees: 8 Snub Shockers Emma Watson Is Va-Va-Voom in Valentino 7 Infamous Sports Blowouts Argentina tops Holland in World Cup semifinals News flush: Japanese toilet exhibition making a splash Emmy Nominations: What to Watch For 'Game of Thrones' Leads 66th Emmy Awards Nominations Photographic 'Proof' That LeBron Is Leaving Miami - @TheBuzzeronFOX Elephant Pool Party at The Oregon Zoo Must-See! Berry and Fallon Form Human Hamster Wheel
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
  • -

     

    March 12, 2010

activity