News From Terre Haute, Indiana

Opinion

January 11, 2014

MARK BENNETT: The Drunk: Making peace

Film premiere offers chance for town to reconcile with its most colorful character

TERRE HAUTE — Terre Haute grew fond of Eugene Debs.

The process took time.

America’s most famous “radical” aggravated many folks in his Indiana hometown with his political views in the early 20th century. Debs spent three years in a Georgia penitentiary for a 1918 speech alleging that capitalist greed motivated World War I. A Terre Haute newspaper endorsed Debs’ arrest on federal sedition charges. Yet, by 1921, hearts softened here. The Terre Haute Post organized a petition to free Debs, urging locals to sign it “if you feel that free speech is worth preserving in America.”

Sixty percent of Hauteans did so.

Sixty percent.

By contrast, just 52 percent of registered voters in Vigo County showed up at the polls in the 2012 general election.

As church bells rang and brass bands played, a crowd of 50,000, according to the New York Times, greeted Debs as the social activist and labor leader returned to this city from prison, frail and 65 years old, after President Warren G. Harding commuted his sentence on Christmas Day 1921.

Fifty-thousand.

Ten-thousand people cheered Larry Bird and his Indiana State Sycamores teammates when they came back to Terre Haute after reaching the 1979 NCAA Finals.

Somehow, lots of Debs’ fellow Terre Hauteans made peace with the fact that the city’s most internationally known native son was an unabashed socialist. If they could, so can 21st-century Terre Haute. As in 1921, reconciliation today wouldn’t require an endorsement of his politics. Instead, the community can simply see Debs as the railroad fireman, Terre Haute city clerk and Indiana state representative who became a national voice for the overlooked people of his time — the working class, women, minorities, children and the elderly. Imperfect, but good-hearted. A champion of “radical” causes that are now mainstream, such as Social Security, child labor laws and voting rights for women. The man who said, “Yes, I am my brother’s keeper. I am under a moral obligation to him that is inspired not by maudlin sentimentality, but by the higher duty I owe myself.”

Since his death in 1926, that bond faded. A Debs-phobia crept in its place, leaving many unable to get past the label of “five-time Socialist Party presidential candidate.”

Basically, it’s time to lighten up. Debs was, and arguably is, the most colorful, charismatic and quoted figure ever to call this place “home.”

Like John, Bird gatherings

He’s also giving us another chance to celebrate our Hauteanality, just as we did in October when Tommy John came home to see a city ballpark named in his honor and in November when Larry Bird returned for the unveiling of his bronze statue in front of Hulman Center. A feature-length movie, loosely based on Debs’ legacy, will premiere in the Indiana Theatre on Saturday night, Feb. 15. It’s full of local people, places and history, stars Hollywood veteran Tom Sizemore and political personality Jesse Ventura, and is the brainchild of Terre Haute-raised filmmakers William Tanoos and Paul Fleschner.

The cinematic debut of “The Drunk” should bring the community together for a fun night, a purely Hautean experience.

“If you’re in Terre Haute, there’s a real reason to see this movie,” said Fleschner, who with Tanoos co-wrote, co-directed and acted in the film.

Their cinematic adventure began in October 2010, when Tanoos sent Fleschner a first draft of a screenplay about a hard-drinking man who gets arrested for a DUI and then launches an improbable campaign for Indiana governor against a corrupt prosecutor. Fleschner added a transformative twist, linking the young candidate to the iconic Eugene Victor Debs. The character became Joe Debs, Eugene’s fictional grandson. (In reality, Debs had no children.)

Debs’ legacy looms in the background of the present-day storyline.

“For me, Debs is the DNA of this movie,” Fleschner said by telephone from Chicago, where he now lives with his wife and works as an actor and audiobook narrator.

Pieces of Debs’ 70-year lifetime, from 1855 to 1926, crop up in scenes shot inside the Debs home, now a museum on North Eighth Street in Terre Haute, preserved by the Debs Foundation. “The Drunk” was filmed entirely in Terre Haute in summer 2011 and spring 2012. The settings will be familiar to locals — Woodrow Wilson Middle School, Union Hospital, Ohio Boulevard, the Saratoga and Moggers restaurants, the Vigo County Courthouse, the now-closed Coffee Grounds, the Vigo County jail and courthouse, Indiana State University and, fittingly, its theatrical destination, the Indiana Theatre.

That theater opened in 1922, the year after Debs came home from prison. Perhaps he watched a few movies there himself.

“To have a premiere in Terre Haute was a given,” said Tanoos, who joined the interview by conference call from southern California, where he lives and works as a disability-law attorney.

“It needs to premiere in Terre Haute,” Fleschner added.

A hollywood touch

Both noted the theater’s recent revitalization under new owner Rob Lundstrom. The place likely looks as spectacular as it has since its heyday. The screening of “The Drunk” will feature slices of that style. The $10 general-admission tickets will include a question-and-answer session with the filmmakers after the viewing. The $40 VIP tickets include a red-carpet walk where “everybody can do their best paparazzi pose,” Tanoos said.

The film’s destiny from Terre Haute will be guided by Green Apple Entertainment, with details of its national release due by April, Fleschner said. They signed a distribution deal with Green Apple on Sept. 27, the day Fleschner got married. They’ll market to various formats a film that received its finishing touches from Hollywood-experienced experts. The sound mix occurred at 20th Century Fox facilities. Veteran editor Ross Albert honed its final look.

Though Tanoos, 34, and Fleschner, 30, are first-timers, they’re surrounded by seasoned movie makers. Sizemore, of “Blackhawk Down” and “Saving Private Ryan” fame, plays Joe Debs’ campaign opponent, Bruce Frye.

“This is a real movie, and it looks like it,” Tanoos said.

They’re hoping it entertains viewers, fascinates critics, turns a profit for the film’s investors, and serves as a springboard to bigger ventures for the two.

Most of all, “it’s telling a story,” Fleschner said, “and you do it to share it with people.”

The premiere here could be enlightening. “I think people will walk away from this film really being interested and intrigued by this historical figure,” Fleschner said.

Like Joe Debs, Terre Hauteans may see Eugene Debs through fresh eyes, and finally consider him as one of us.

Mark Bennett can be reached at 812-231-4377 or mark.bennett@tribstar.com.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • RONN MOTT: Spring activities settle into northside park

    Some say young love blossoms like the flowers in the spring. It must be spring, because we witnessed the first wedding ceremony performed in the Collett Park gazebo on a recent Saturday.

    April 18, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Get smart with 911

    Worst-case scenarios when emergency service are needed are not things people like to think about. But focused attention on details in advance could make a life-changing, even life-saving, difference in the future.

    April 17, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: Heading in the wrong direction

    A study released last week by the Tax Foundation reported Indiana taxpayers saw one of the sharpest increases in tax burden since 2001. Dig deeper and the numbers are more alarming.

    April 17, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: They didn’t make it!

    The “One and Dones” done went and didn’t! (I know this is grammatically incorrect, but I want those folks down in Kentucky to read it.)

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • tstribunestar EDITORIAL: Dealing with eroded trust

    Our neighbors in Putnam County are understandably concerned, even outraged, over problems in their sheriff’s department. People have a right to expect their chief law-enforcement agency — one of the most important public institutions in any community — to operate professionally and effectively.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Readers’ Forum: April 17, 2014

    • A blessing from our young folks

    • Confidence in judge candidate

    April 16, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Preparing for voting changes

    The primary election, during which Hoosiers will traipse to their polling places to select party candidates to fill the ballot for the general election, is now three weeks away.

    April 15, 2014

  • Readers’ forum: April 16, 2014

    • Mott’s rant on global warming

    • Salvation through the Indian way

    April 15, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Royce Waltman

    In recent days the papers have been full of good things about Royce Waltman. Not a lot of puffery, but more like Royce himself… straight, true and right at you.

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Not much peace since war to end all wars

    My jaw dropped the other day when I read that this year, 2014, marks 100 years since the start of World War I. No, you wise guys, I wasn’t there personally.

    April 14, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: April 15, 2014

    Sound choice for county judge
    Giving your car the care it needs
    Park restrooms should be open

    April 14, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Noteworthy in the news (Honors for outstanding women)

    Honors for outstanding women
    Sprucing up around the wetlands
    You can say that again
    Reader Poll results

    April 13, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: April 14, 2014

    Alternatives to ‘injustice’

    April 13, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Teaming up to fight the ugliness of graffiti

    Graffiti hurts the Terre Haute community. It deflates property values and local pride. It literally paints an image of carelessness on the city.

    April 12, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: It’s (Not) So Easy

    Arctic air bled into the Wabash Avenue post-hippie-era diner-pub every time the wooden door swung open.

    April 12, 2014

  • ERIC SCHANSBERG: The 1040 tax form turns 100

    The 16th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution brought us the federal income tax in 1913. A year later, the 1040 tax form was born.

    April 12, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: April 13, 2014

    • An attack of hypocrisy

    • New jail not a good idea

    • Thinking about the next election

    • Being positive a tremendous asset

    • Work status a matter of value

    April 12, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: Time to fix government

    In 1965, the chairman of the powerful Ways and Means Committee, Wilbur Mills, brought legislation establishing Medicare and Medicaid to the floor of the U.S. House. That was my first year in Congress, and I remember vividly the moment when Mills came to the Democratic caucus to explain his plans.

    April 12, 2014

  • Death Notice: April 13, 2014

    Phillip Herman

    April 12, 2014

  • GUEST EDITORIAL: Despite high court ruling, big money may not guarantee election success

    The Supreme Court has taken the predictable next step in the wake of its 2010 Citizens United decision in which it lifted the limit on donations wealthy donors can make to certain political entities.

    April 11, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Pondering our planet’s future

    I watched a TV show recently and the subject was global warming.

    April 11, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Warm thoughts for Waltman

    When Royce Waltman left Indiana State University as its head basketball coach in 2007, there was a sense of disappointment in the community that covered a broad spectrum.

    April 11, 2014

  • Readers' Forum: April 11, 2014

    • An appeal for organic farming

    • Kesler best choice for judge position

    April 11, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Bits & Pieces

    I don’t know about you, but I get a total sense of helplessness when I realize 239 people died in one airplane crash. And to make it worse, if that is possible, the loved ones left behind can’t close. Maybe this week.

    April 10, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Road work season requires motorists’ undivided attention

    Spring’s budding flowers, trees and grasses are not the only colorful eye candy popping up on the west-central Indiana landscape. Those orange barrels and pylons common to construction areas are appearing as well.

    April 9, 2014

  • Readers' Forum: April 10, 2014

    • Appreciation for writer’s views

    • Amazed by policy on birth control

    April 9, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Dangers lurking among us

    Hardly a week goes by without multiple stories being published in this newspaper detailing the arrests, court proceedings, convictions or sentencings of individuals involved in sex crimes against children or young teens. It’s a disturbing trend that underscores the ever-present dangers that exist where we may least expect them.

    April 9, 2014 1 Story

  • Readers' Forum: April 9, 2014

    April 9, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Basketball and Done

    I guess I’m going to have to change my mind about the “One and Done” rule. It would seem the future professionals wearing university uniforms — national runner-up Kentucky is an example — has proven me a fool. Why should I care about the education they are getting, or not getting?

    April 8, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Angling for a mate not fond of fishing

    While many little girls daydream about the dream man they hope to find, it seems to me that they concentrate on all the wrong things. I can’t discount the appeal of beauty, brains and virtue, but my dream man was one who was not dedicated to fishing.

    April 7, 2014

Latest News
TribStar.com Poll
AP Video
Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Today in History for April 18th
NDN Video
Previewing the NBA playoffs Jabari Parker's Top 5 Plays From Duke Career More Manpower Than Ever Expected At 4/20 Rally Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes My name is Cocaine Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Lohan Gets Candid About Her Sex List The 2014 New York Auto Show Meet Johnny Manziel's New Girlfriend Chelsea Clinton Announces Pregnancy Funny: Celebrating Easter with Martha Stewart and Friends Man Accuses 'X-Men' Director Bryan Singer of Sexually Abusing Him As a Teenager Man hit with $525 federal fine after he doesn't pay for soda refill Lea Michele & Naya Rivera Feuding? Jabari Parker declares for the NBA draft Singing Nun Belts Out Cyndi Lauper New West, Texas Explosion Video Swim Daily, Throwback Thursday Don't Be A Tattletale: Bad Bullying Tips For Students The trillest thoughts on marijuana
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
  • -

     

    March 12, 2010

activity