News From Terre Haute, Indiana

Opinion

November 24, 2012

RONN MOTT: Hamas tests Israel’s missile defense

The Middle East has added another bonfire to an area that’s as dry as the prairie grass in August. Israel is not going to allow its country to be rocketed at will. While the rockets were being fired by Hamas, it was not meant to truly harm the cities of Israel … Tel Aviv, Jerusalem, etc.

This was a test. Hamas would fire the rockets, close range rockets, and the people who are watching are Iranian intelligence services. They, themselves, cannot do this because it would bring the wrath of the Israeli Air Force down upon them. So they have their terrorist surrogates, Hamas, to test out Israeli missile defenses.

They call it “Iron Dome,” but it has been very good knocking a heavy percentage of the Hamas missiles out of the air. In the meantime, the Iranians are watching. They wish to know how many of their medium-range missiles, or you could call them short-range ICBMs, are going to be knocked out of the sky by Israeli forces.

Israel has taken our USA Patriot missile system and improved on it. They did that to French aircraft as well as American and British tanks they purchased, and now they have done it to a missile system that appears to be very good. It was a test the Iranians would like to have run, but Hamas could, and they have. Now, the question has to be what will the new government of Egypt do when the Israeli tanks begin to roll into Gaza.

Chances are, Jordan, which has a very vulnerable monarchy, will not do much of anything. Syria has its hands full with an open rebellion, so the new government in Egypt is the question mark. Its president, once a leader of a Muslim brotherhood, has said he favors Hamas in Gaza. Personally, I doubt they will do anything. This government is new, does not need to get its army bloodied by Israeli fire power, and does not want to lose the peace treaty with Israel because it guarantees American money will keep coming to Egypt. It is money that Egypt needs.

So, the only firecracker in this tender box called the Middle East is Iran. Unless something strange occurs, and it could, Iran will lose its ally Syria to this current rebellion. That doesn’t leave too many friends for Iran in this cauldron of politics, intrigue, and war in the Middle East.

Israel knows that if it goes in with its army and crushes everything in front of it, it will bring down world opinion upon this Jewish state. The Israeli people, the Israeli government, even hard-headed Netanyahu does not want that.  

So, Hamas has done the bidding of its Iranian patrons and tested the missile defense of Israel. Will that be enough for the religious-led government of Iran or will they quit now that they have done what they were asked to do. Iran will not be happy until they can belly-up to the table with all the other powerful countries of the world. It will be, perhaps not in name, greater Persia. That’s precisely what they are aiming for.  

Ronn Mott, a longtime radio personality in Terre Haute, writes commentaries for the Tribune-Star. His pieces are published online Tuesday and Thursday on Tribstar.com, and in the print and online editions on Saturday.

 

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • EDITORIAL: Get smart with 911

    Worst-case scenarios when emergency service are needed are not things people like to think about. But focused attention on details in advance could make a life-changing, even life-saving, difference in the future.

    April 17, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: Heading in the wrong direction

    A study released last week by the Tax Foundation reported Indiana taxpayers saw one of the sharpest increases in tax burden since 2001. Dig deeper and the numbers are more alarming.

    April 17, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: They didn’t make it!

    The “One and Dones” done went and didn’t! (I know this is grammatically incorrect, but I want those folks down in Kentucky to read it.)

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • tstribunestar EDITORIAL: Dealing with eroded trust

    Our neighbors in Putnam County are understandably concerned, even outraged, over problems in their sheriff’s department. People have a right to expect their chief law-enforcement agency — one of the most important public institutions in any community — to operate professionally and effectively.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Readers’ Forum: April 17, 2014

    • A blessing from our young folks

    • Confidence in judge candidate

    April 16, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Preparing for voting changes

    The primary election, during which Hoosiers will traipse to their polling places to select party candidates to fill the ballot for the general election, is now three weeks away.

    April 15, 2014

  • Readers’ forum: April 16, 2014

    • Mott’s rant on global warming

    • Salvation through the Indian way

    April 15, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Royce Waltman

    In recent days the papers have been full of good things about Royce Waltman. Not a lot of puffery, but more like Royce himself… straight, true and right at you.

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Not much peace since war to end all wars

    My jaw dropped the other day when I read that this year, 2014, marks 100 years since the start of World War I. No, you wise guys, I wasn’t there personally.

    April 14, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: April 15, 2014

    Sound choice for county judge
    Giving your car the care it needs
    Park restrooms should be open

    April 14, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Noteworthy in the news (Honors for outstanding women)

    Honors for outstanding women
    Sprucing up around the wetlands
    You can say that again
    Reader Poll results

    April 13, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: April 14, 2014

    Alternatives to ‘injustice’

    April 13, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Teaming up to fight the ugliness of graffiti

    Graffiti hurts the Terre Haute community. It deflates property values and local pride. It literally paints an image of carelessness on the city.

    April 12, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: It’s (Not) So Easy

    Arctic air bled into the Wabash Avenue post-hippie-era diner-pub every time the wooden door swung open.

    April 12, 2014

  • ERIC SCHANSBERG: The 1040 tax form turns 100

    The 16th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution brought us the federal income tax in 1913. A year later, the 1040 tax form was born.

    April 12, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: April 13, 2014

    • An attack of hypocrisy

    • New jail not a good idea

    • Thinking about the next election

    • Being positive a tremendous asset

    • Work status a matter of value

    April 12, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: Time to fix government

    In 1965, the chairman of the powerful Ways and Means Committee, Wilbur Mills, brought legislation establishing Medicare and Medicaid to the floor of the U.S. House. That was my first year in Congress, and I remember vividly the moment when Mills came to the Democratic caucus to explain his plans.

    April 12, 2014

  • Death Notice: April 13, 2014

    Phillip Herman

    April 12, 2014

  • GUEST EDITORIAL: Despite high court ruling, big money may not guarantee election success

    The Supreme Court has taken the predictable next step in the wake of its 2010 Citizens United decision in which it lifted the limit on donations wealthy donors can make to certain political entities.

    April 11, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Pondering our planet’s future

    I watched a TV show recently and the subject was global warming.

    April 11, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Warm thoughts for Waltman

    When Royce Waltman left Indiana State University as its head basketball coach in 2007, there was a sense of disappointment in the community that covered a broad spectrum.

    April 11, 2014

  • Readers' Forum: April 11, 2014

    • An appeal for organic farming

    • Kesler best choice for judge position

    April 11, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Bits & Pieces

    I don’t know about you, but I get a total sense of helplessness when I realize 239 people died in one airplane crash. And to make it worse, if that is possible, the loved ones left behind can’t close. Maybe this week.

    April 10, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Road work season requires motorists’ undivided attention

    Spring’s budding flowers, trees and grasses are not the only colorful eye candy popping up on the west-central Indiana landscape. Those orange barrels and pylons common to construction areas are appearing as well.

    April 9, 2014

  • Readers' Forum: April 10, 2014

    • Appreciation for writer’s views

    • Amazed by policy on birth control

    April 9, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Dangers lurking among us

    Hardly a week goes by without multiple stories being published in this newspaper detailing the arrests, court proceedings, convictions or sentencings of individuals involved in sex crimes against children or young teens. It’s a disturbing trend that underscores the ever-present dangers that exist where we may least expect them.

    April 9, 2014 1 Story

  • Readers' Forum: April 9, 2014

    April 9, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Basketball and Done

    I guess I’m going to have to change my mind about the “One and Done” rule. It would seem the future professionals wearing university uniforms — national runner-up Kentucky is an example — has proven me a fool. Why should I care about the education they are getting, or not getting?

    April 8, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Angling for a mate not fond of fishing

    While many little girls daydream about the dream man they hope to find, it seems to me that they concentrate on all the wrong things. I can’t discount the appeal of beauty, brains and virtue, but my dream man was one who was not dedicated to fishing.

    April 7, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: April 8, 2014

    Tracking the trail of thieves
    Friendly service at local store
    New voice for judicial system
    Movie strikes a proper balance

    April 7, 2014

Latest News
TribStar.com Poll
AP Video
New York Auto Show Highlights Latest in Car Tech Raw: Royal Couple Visits Australia Mountains Captain of Sunken South Korean Ferry Apologizes Raw: Pro-Russian Militants Killed on Base Passengers Abuzz After Plane Hits Swarm of Bees Raw: Two Lucky Kids Get Ride in Popemobile Diplomats Reach Deal to Ease Tensions in Ukraine Malaysia Plane: Ocean Floor Images 'Very Clear' Miley Cyrus Still in Hospital, Cancels 2nd Show Crew Criticized Over Handling of Ferry Disaster Raw: Blast at Tennessee Ammunition Plant Kills 1 Sparks Fly With Derulo and Jordin on New Album Raw: Urinator Causes Portland to Flush Reservoir New York Auto Show Highlights Latest in Car Tech Hundreds Missing After South Korean Ferry Sinks Small Reactors Could Be Future of Nuclear Energy Raw: Bulgarian Monastery Dyes 5000 Easter Eggs Boston Bombing Survivors One Year Later Disbanding Muslim Surveillance Draws Praise Ex-California City Leader Gets 12 Year Sentence
NDN Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
  • -

     

    March 12, 2010

activity