News From Terre Haute, Indiana

Opinion

September 23, 2013

FLASHPOINT: Vigo County: Cutting-edge of school safety

TERRE HAUTE — The recent shooting at the D.C. Navy Yard has been all over the news lately. When tragedies like this occur, we are reminded of other tragedies our country has faced in the past. Specifically, for me, this brought to mind Sandy Hook Elementary. When I saw the news that day, I was devastated. As a father, my heart immediately went out to those affected by this incident; the families, the friends and those who lost their lives during that unimaginable act of terror. Listening in dismay, as that unimaginable story continued to unfold, I kept thinking, what could have been done to prevent this horrific event from taking place?

Unfortunately, it is impossible to prevent every life-threatening situation from occurring; however, we can train, plan and prepare for these types of situations to help prevent lives from being lost. Every fire or tornado drill that our children take part in has the potential to save a life. Although we would rather not think of these catastrophes ever happening, they exist, and we must utilize every available resource to help prevent tragedies.

Reviewing the topic of school safety, the General Assembly passed Senate Enrolled Act (SEA) 1 which in part established the School Safety Summer Committee. I was appointed to this committee by House Speaker Brian Bosma, R-Indianapolis, in June, and although we discussed the issue of school safety during the legislative session, these summer meetings will provide lawmakers with additional time and resources to focus on this specific issue.

The committee has met once since its inception, which was very productive. However, I’m particularly excited about the second meeting, as I have invited members of our community to testify regarding a remarkable initiative that has been established in Vigo County to better protect schools in the district.

Vigo County residents realized that safety is a collective endeavor, and they concluded that the best way to protect their children was to combine their resources. As a result, the Vigo County Sheriff’s Department and the Terre Haute Police Department joined Vigo County School Corp. in creating the School Security Program last January.

Through private contributions from community members, funds from the local school corporation as well as city and county dollars, Vigo County was able to place a school protection officer in every single school. These school protection officers are current and prior police officers, and it is comforting to know that our children are being protected by highly experienced, trained individuals. A school protection officer is not the same as a school resource officer. A school resource officer is one who is assigned to a school from a local law enforcement agency to focus on overall school safety, assist with student discipline and also provide mentoring opportunities.

This public, private partnership is on the cutting-edge of school safety initiatives, and I believe this model could serve as a template for the rest of Indiana — possibly the nation. If a trained school protection officer had been present during situations like Sandy Hook and Virginia Tech, lives lost might have been saved.

If there is one thing I have learned as a parent, though, it is that there is no way to ensure the complete safety of our children, but we still take every precaution in order to do so. I applaud the steps taken by members of Vigo County to better protect our children, Indiana’s future, and I look forward to having this discussion regarding their initiative.

Visit www.in.gov/legislative on Tuesday at 10 a.m. to watch the School Safety Summer Committee discuss this initiative. Click on the “Watch Indiana General Assembly LIVE” link and then select the Senate Chamber from the drop-down menu to view the meeting.

Rep. Alan Morrison, a first-term Republican, represents all of Vermillion County and portions of Clay, Fountain, Parke, Vigo and Warren counties. He is a resident of Terre Haute.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • EDITORIAL: Get smart with 911

    Worst-case scenarios when emergency service are needed are not things people like to think about. But focused attention on details in advance could make a life-changing, even life-saving, difference in the future.

    April 17, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: Heading in the wrong direction

    A study released last week by the Tax Foundation reported Indiana taxpayers saw one of the sharpest increases in tax burden since 2001. Dig deeper and the numbers are more alarming.

    April 17, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: They didn’t make it!

    The “One and Dones” done went and didn’t! (I know this is grammatically incorrect, but I want those folks down in Kentucky to read it.)

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • tstribunestar EDITORIAL: Dealing with eroded trust

    Our neighbors in Putnam County are understandably concerned, even outraged, over problems in their sheriff’s department. People have a right to expect their chief law-enforcement agency — one of the most important public institutions in any community — to operate professionally and effectively.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Readers’ Forum: April 17, 2014

    • A blessing from our young folks

    • Confidence in judge candidate

    April 16, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Preparing for voting changes

    The primary election, during which Hoosiers will traipse to their polling places to select party candidates to fill the ballot for the general election, is now three weeks away.

    April 15, 2014

  • Readers’ forum: April 16, 2014

    • Mott’s rant on global warming

    • Salvation through the Indian way

    April 15, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Royce Waltman

    In recent days the papers have been full of good things about Royce Waltman. Not a lot of puffery, but more like Royce himself… straight, true and right at you.

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Not much peace since war to end all wars

    My jaw dropped the other day when I read that this year, 2014, marks 100 years since the start of World War I. No, you wise guys, I wasn’t there personally.

    April 14, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: April 15, 2014

    Sound choice for county judge
    Giving your car the care it needs
    Park restrooms should be open

    April 14, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Noteworthy in the news (Honors for outstanding women)

    Honors for outstanding women
    Sprucing up around the wetlands
    You can say that again
    Reader Poll results

    April 13, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: April 14, 2014

    Alternatives to ‘injustice’

    April 13, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Teaming up to fight the ugliness of graffiti

    Graffiti hurts the Terre Haute community. It deflates property values and local pride. It literally paints an image of carelessness on the city.

    April 12, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: It’s (Not) So Easy

    Arctic air bled into the Wabash Avenue post-hippie-era diner-pub every time the wooden door swung open.

    April 12, 2014

  • ERIC SCHANSBERG: The 1040 tax form turns 100

    The 16th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution brought us the federal income tax in 1913. A year later, the 1040 tax form was born.

    April 12, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: April 13, 2014

    • An attack of hypocrisy

    • New jail not a good idea

    • Thinking about the next election

    • Being positive a tremendous asset

    • Work status a matter of value

    April 12, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: Time to fix government

    In 1965, the chairman of the powerful Ways and Means Committee, Wilbur Mills, brought legislation establishing Medicare and Medicaid to the floor of the U.S. House. That was my first year in Congress, and I remember vividly the moment when Mills came to the Democratic caucus to explain his plans.

    April 12, 2014

  • Death Notice: April 13, 2014

    Phillip Herman

    April 12, 2014

  • GUEST EDITORIAL: Despite high court ruling, big money may not guarantee election success

    The Supreme Court has taken the predictable next step in the wake of its 2010 Citizens United decision in which it lifted the limit on donations wealthy donors can make to certain political entities.

    April 11, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Pondering our planet’s future

    I watched a TV show recently and the subject was global warming.

    April 11, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Warm thoughts for Waltman

    When Royce Waltman left Indiana State University as its head basketball coach in 2007, there was a sense of disappointment in the community that covered a broad spectrum.

    April 11, 2014

  • Readers' Forum: April 11, 2014

    • An appeal for organic farming

    • Kesler best choice for judge position

    April 11, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Bits & Pieces

    I don’t know about you, but I get a total sense of helplessness when I realize 239 people died in one airplane crash. And to make it worse, if that is possible, the loved ones left behind can’t close. Maybe this week.

    April 10, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Road work season requires motorists’ undivided attention

    Spring’s budding flowers, trees and grasses are not the only colorful eye candy popping up on the west-central Indiana landscape. Those orange barrels and pylons common to construction areas are appearing as well.

    April 9, 2014

  • Readers' Forum: April 10, 2014

    • Appreciation for writer’s views

    • Amazed by policy on birth control

    April 9, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Dangers lurking among us

    Hardly a week goes by without multiple stories being published in this newspaper detailing the arrests, court proceedings, convictions or sentencings of individuals involved in sex crimes against children or young teens. It’s a disturbing trend that underscores the ever-present dangers that exist where we may least expect them.

    April 9, 2014 1 Story

  • Readers' Forum: April 9, 2014

    April 9, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Basketball and Done

    I guess I’m going to have to change my mind about the “One and Done” rule. It would seem the future professionals wearing university uniforms — national runner-up Kentucky is an example — has proven me a fool. Why should I care about the education they are getting, or not getting?

    April 8, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Angling for a mate not fond of fishing

    While many little girls daydream about the dream man they hope to find, it seems to me that they concentrate on all the wrong things. I can’t discount the appeal of beauty, brains and virtue, but my dream man was one who was not dedicated to fishing.

    April 7, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: April 8, 2014

    Tracking the trail of thieves
    Friendly service at local store
    New voice for judicial system
    Movie strikes a proper balance

    April 7, 2014

Latest News
TribStar.com Poll
AP Video
Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Malaysia Plane: Ocean Floor Images 'Very Clear' Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Flamingo Frenzy Ahead of Zoo Construction Today in History for April 18th Crew Criticized Over Handling of Ferry Disaster Agreement Reached to Calm Ukraine Tensions Raw: Two Lucky Kids Get Ride in Popemobile Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Chelsea Clinton Is Pregnant Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Bulgarian Monastery Dyes 5000 Easter Eggs Obama Hopeful on Ukraine, Will Watch Russians Raw: Pope Francis Performs Pre-easter Ritual Author Gabriel Garcia Marquez Dead at 87 Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City
NDN Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
  • -

     

    March 12, 2010

activity