News From Terre Haute, Indiana

Opinion

August 21, 2011

STEPHANIE SALTER: The Economy: One complex, thorny, bedeviling issue

No matter how much time and energy I spend trying to understand the Hydra we blithely call “The Economy,” I often worry that its mystery will forever elude me. Then I remember: I am in impressive company.

Or haven’t you noticed that people who spend their lives studying and analyzing The Economy — people who can quote Keynes and Friedman and who have been showered with prestigious economist awards — are all over the place when it comes to identifying what is really wrong, let alone offering a few cures?

Consensus? It seems to be as common as confirmed UFO sightings.

Granted, The Economy is, surely, one of the most complex and thorny issues ever to bedevil this or any developed country. (Not that you would surmise that from the crushing quantity of amateur analysis and simple remedies being proffered from every nook and cranny of society.) But when true experts do weigh in, they tend to agree only on the complexity. Causes and cures inspire lines to be drawn, sides to be taken and veiled insults to be tossed back and forth.

From the cheap seats, where ordinary beings look on, the dueling learned opinions can be confusing, frustrating, depressing, numbing or all of the above.

Recently, listening to an NPR news program, I was eager to hear two powerhouse economists talk about what ails domestic job growth and what can be done to make the patient better. The experts were John Taylor, a professor of economics at Stanford University and a senior fellow at the Hoover Institution, and Joseph Stiglitz, a Columbia University professor who teaches business and economics and won a Nobel Prize in the field in 2001.

Their only substantial point of agreement was that the President of the United States could do more to promote job growth.

Stiglitz said the federal economic stimulus package worked by helping us avoid a catastrophic meltdown and keep unemployment from hitting 12.5 or 13 percent. Taylor said the stimulus failed because people and states didn’t spend the money the feds gave them, they just “put it in their coffers … You can’t see any impact on the infrastructure or other things that were supposed to happen.”

Stiglitz said the stimulus should have been bigger and we need another round of it. Taylor said the stimulus hindered economic growth and President Obama needs to stop talking about tax increases because it makes businesses, investors and consumers worry. Taylor said people should acknowledge that Congress and the president have made “some progress.” Stiglitz said he is “very pessimistic” about the economy and sees no real growth before 2015 “or beyond.”

At the end of the program, what did I have? Answers? No, I had two stellar economists who are no closer to agreeing on a way out of this mess than two drunks are in an argument at a bar. (I did wish I could ask Professor Taylor how he would measure the economic impact of hundreds of Indiana public school teachers’ jobs that were saved in 2010 by $113 million in federal stimulus money. Or the effect on Hoosier motorists of $500 million-plus in stimulus funds for Indiana highway projects.)

So, how about the expertise of an ultra-successful Capitalist? A day after the Stiglitz-Taylor standoff, Warren Buffett wrote a piece for the New York Times op-ed page that was headlined, “Stop Coddling the Super-Rich.” The headline was ironic because Buffett really might have more money than God; Forbes pegs him as the third-wealthiest person in the world, worth about $50 billion.

In the column, he revealed that he paid $6,938,744 in federal income tax and payroll taxes last year. That sounds like a lot, he wrote, but it is “only 17.4 percent of my taxable income,” a lower percentage “than was paid by any of the other 20 people in our office.” Middle class earners and the working poor are even more unfairly burdened, he said.

Buffett’s point was that the current U.S. tax code allows the super-rich, like him, people who “make money with money,” to get big breaks that actual wage earners don’t get. Raising the tax rates on this mere 0.3 percent of the U.S. population — the 236,833 folks who earned more than $1 million in 2009, and the 8,274 who earned more than $10 million — would not solve the nation’s debt crisis, he wrote, but billions and billions would be netted to help reduce it.

Buffett addressed the popular argument that higher tax rates will scare away the rich from investing: “I have worked with investors for 60 years and I have yet to see anyone — not even when capital gains rates were 39.9 percent in 1976-77 — shy away from a sensible investment because of the tax rate on the potential gain.”

Buffett’s efforts at debt mitigation were met in several corners with suspicion and ridicule. As conservative commentarian Pat Buchanan responded on MSNBC: “Why doesn’t he set an example and send a check for $5 billion to the federal government?”

Tim Tankard, a guest columnist in the Kansas City Star, was typical of many Buffett critics. He invoked the Boston Tea Party and accused the billionaire executive of not knowing his American history. He ignored Buffett’s complaint that the earnings of mega-rich investment managers are classified as “carried interest” and taxed at a lower rate than ordinary income. Instead, Tankard theorized that Buffett’s tax rates “are probably lower due to the billions of dollars he has contributed to the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, a charity and no doubt a tax dodge.” Tankard also warned that Buffett’s proposal “will wreak havoc on small business owners and family farms,” but he added, in parentheses, “(Please, don’t ask me to explain that, ask your Congressman.)”

Of course. Why didn’t I think of that? Ask someone in Congress. Unlike economists, the House and Senate have always been calm, objective and reliable sources for information about complex and thorny issues that bedevil this or any developed country.

Stephanie Salter may be emailed at SalterOpinion@g.mail.com.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • RONN MOTT: Troubled history in that place called Iraq

    People are dying, again, in Iraq. And, again, people other than Iraqis will ultimately make the decision about what happens to this ancient land.

    July 11, 2014

  • Editorial: The Bennett ‘settlement’

    It takes a special kind of arrogance to flout ethics laws in the manner which former state Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Bennett has violated them. Even when he finally admitted his transgressions, he claimed he could have avoided the matter altogether had he just changed the department’s ethics policy before engaging in the troublesome conduct.
    In essence, this was the old “mistakes were made” acknowledgment of wrongdoing. And the real mistake to which Bennett admits was apparently not changing the rules before he violated them. This is a truly Nixonian moment.

    July 10, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 11, 2014

    July 10, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: That Old Man River

    I was surprised to learn the people in Cairo are now taking water taxis to avoid the traffic, the confusion and the dangers that are appearing on Cairo, Egypt’s, streets. I mean, I was surprised the people in Cairo, these native Egyptians, were surprised they could take a water taxi and get to where they wanted to go using the Nile River as a highway. So, for the Egyptians living in Cairo, everything old is brand new again.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A green idea worth pursuing

    It sounds like a blue-ribbon idea.

    July 9, 2014

  • READERS' FORUM: July 10, 2014

    • Herb Faire a great success

    • Appreciation for a ‘lovely angel’

    • Thanks for stirring fireworks show

    July 9, 2014

  • tstribunestar EDITORIAL: Be safe, be responsible

    The Independence Day weekend brought a brief respite in construction work on area roadways. In particular, it provided needed relief to the congested segment of Interstate 70 in Clay County that is undergoing resurfacing this summer.

    July 8, 2014 1 Photo

  • Readers’ Forum: July 9, 2014

    • Don’t eliminate our six-day mail

    • Zamperini death stirs memories

    July 8, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Black Dog

    We had some excitement around our house the other day and it was not the good kind.
    There was a small dog, black in color with a spiked collar on his neck, and he was the spitting image of a small Doberman. I don’t know if they have miniature Dobermans but this dog could have been a mixed breed that came out looking like a Doberman although smaller.

    July 8, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 8, 2014

    • T-S ignores common decency

    • Lighten up on Donald Sterling

    • Time to reject Dems in Congress

    Fueling the EPA

    July 7, 2014

  • MS. TAKES: Great music is made during all generations

    Number Two son tells us that his 20-year-old son has been listening to “Big Band” music with apparent enjoyment. As if that wasn’t enough of a surprise, I was talking with a young girl, barely out of her teens and she told us that she really wasn’t into rap. She said, “It isn’t really music, it’s just talk.”

    July 7, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 7, 2014

    • The moral issue is major issue

    July 6, 2014

  • tstribunestar Editorial: City financial health demands an open, honest discussion

    Obscured by the recent rift over use of departmental funds in the city of Terre Haute’s budget are serious issues related to our city government’s overall financial health. The answers may be mired in the complexity of municipal finance, but coming to grips with the situation is important to the city’s future.

    July 6, 2014 1 Photo

  • Readers’ Forum: July 6, 2014

    • Coats ignoring climate science

    • Do those mustache posters exist?

    • Utility rate freeze took determination

    • What perversion is next in line?

    • Opinions vary, but voters will decide

    • This preaching must stop — now

    • Golf fundraiser a huge success

    July 6, 2014

  • Flashpoint: State’s lawyer has duty to represent state in marriage lawsuit appeal

    Recent federal court actions that first struck down Indiana’s statute limiting marriage to the traditional definition, and then stayed that order pending appeal, have left many in our state in legal limbo. As the attorney who represents state government and defends its laws, I know this difficult case stirs many people’s deeply held beliefs that touch their lives in very personal ways. Not since my office had to represent the state in lawsuits arising from the State Fair disaster has a dispute been so seemingly impossible to address in a way that the public would accept as being fair to all concerned.

    July 6, 2014

  • Flashpoint: The Supreme Court decision and ‘closely held’ corporations

    The much awaited Supreme Court decision in Burwell vs. Hobby Lobby came down this week. The court ruled in a 5-4 decision that the 1993 Religious Freedom and Restoration Act (RFRA) does cover “closely held” corporations, even if those corporations are for profit.

    July 6, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Learning more about Jefferson

    During this Fourth of July weekend, I’ll be reading John Meacham’s biography of Thomas Jefferson.

    July 4, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Celebrate your independence

    “We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.”
    As eloquent and declaratory as that statement is, implementing its principles has been a decades-long pursuit for these United States of America. Our nation, it seems, is the quintessential work in progress, even though what this country has created in terms of a stable, collective society is, let’s face it, pretty darn good.

    July 3, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 4, 2014

    July 3, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: The Men Who Made the Country

    The Fourth of July is the day we celebrate our independence from Great Britain. It reminds me of something David Ben-Gurion would say, at a much later date, about British rule: “If you have to have a master, the British are about as good at it as anybody.” Of course, we really don’t need a master.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • MET 033114 GREG ZOELLER MUG.jpg GREG ZOELLER: State’s lawyer has duty to represent state in marriage lawsuit appeal

    Recent federal court actions that first struck down Indiana’s statute limiting marriage to the traditional definition, and then stayed that order pending appeal, have left many in our state in legal limbo.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • Readers’ Forum: July 3, 2014

    • Over the top on immigration

    July 2, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: HIP 2.0 gives consumers better choices

    On Wednesday, the State of Indiana submitted its proposal for the Healthy Indiana Plan 2.0 to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

    July 2, 2014

  • Gov. Mike Pence (R, Ind.) MIKE PENCE: HIP 2.0 gives consumers better choices

    Today, the state of Indiana submitted its proposal for the Healthy Indiana Plan 2.0 to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
    If approved, the Healthy Indiana Plan 2.0 would replace traditional Medicaid for low-income, able-bodied Hoosier adults. Unlike traditional Medicaid, which is government-driven, HIP 2.0 is consumer-driven.

    July 2, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Texting law serves safety

    July 1 each year marks the day in Indiana when new laws take effect. But rather than focus on new laws today, let’s observe the anniversary of a law that went on the books three years ago this month — the law that barred texting while driving.

    July 1, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 2, 2014

    July 1, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Cats

    Looking at the situation as a whole, the adopted cats, plus one, seem to be doing OK. The boys, Magic and Mellow, like to roam occasionally, which causes some consternation when they are gone for a long time.

    July 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Oldtime fans will never give up on the Cubbies

    My Best Friend claims to be the world’s oldest living Cubs fan. I am willing to take him at his word, but surely there is some long-lived fan out there in the right field bleachers who would dispute his claim.

    June 30, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 1, 2014

    • Defying the laws of God
    • Correcting the written record
    • Hands of $$ from Redevelopment
    • Celebrity visit for celebration

    June 30, 2014

  • Flashpoint: New Healthy Indiana Plan our best option

    Some state-run health care exchanges — the brainchild of the Affordable Care Act (ACA) — have gotten off to a rocky start, to the point that they are turning to the federal government to pick up the pieces. Indiana’s decision to try to expand the already-existing Healthy Indiana Plan (HIP) in lieu of an exchange seems a more prudent choice every day.

    June 30, 2014

Latest News
TribStar.com Poll
AP Video
Joy Fills Streets of Cleveland As LeBron Returns Raw: Rebel Leader Weds in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Israel, Gaza Exchange Rocket Fire Texas Shooting Suspect Collapses in Court Police: Prostitute Linked to 2nd Death Ana Ortiz on 'Devious Maids' Finale Arizona Mom of Missing Baby Released From Prison WH: LeBron's Move a 'Powerful Statement' Raw: Protesters, Israeli Security Forces Clash Death Toll Tops 100 As Israel Offense Continues Diaz and Segel Strip Off for 'Sex Tape' Raw: Australia Hosts Annual Beer Can Regatta Proposed Bill to Regulate NY Costumed Characters Argentina to Face Germany in World Cup Final Man Flees Police in World Cup Scalping Scheme Robot Writes Jewish Torah Scroll Chimp-attack Victim Lobbies Congress Downside of Low Mortgage Rates? Less Selling Children Face Deportation Without Attorneys More Immigrants Detained Along Rio Grande
NDN Video
Cleveland welcomes home LeBron Houston Killer Collapses in Court When Read Capital Murder Charges for Allegedly Killing Family of Six Worst Valet Ever Wrecks $500K Lamborghini Glee Star Becca Tobin's Boyfriend Matt Bendik Found Dead in Hotel Aerial fish restocking in Utah ScarJo Channels Marilyn Monroe Obama Responds to Hecklers on Immigration Tiny Hamsters Who Ate Burritos are Back for a Tiny Hedgehog's Party Watch Kelly Ripa Get Soaked! 'Referee' Hands Out Yellow Cards for Social Faux Pas in NYC 2014 Emmy Nominees: 8 Snub Shockers Emma Watson Is Va-Va-Voom in Valentino 7 Infamous Sports Blowouts Argentina tops Holland in World Cup semifinals News flush: Japanese toilet exhibition making a splash Emmy Nominations: What to Watch For 'Game of Thrones' Leads 66th Emmy Awards Nominations Photographic 'Proof' That LeBron Is Leaving Miami - @TheBuzzeronFOX Elephant Pool Party at The Oregon Zoo Must-See! Berry and Fallon Form Human Hamster Wheel
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
  • -

     

    March 12, 2010

activity