News From Terre Haute, Indiana

Opinion

June 5, 2011

STEPHANIE SALTER: On the other hand … we’ll have a lot fewer leaves to rake

Editor’s Note: Former Tribune-Star Assistant Editor Stephanie Salter’s column resumes today in freelance form and will appear on this page every other Sunday.

TERRE HAUTE — My neighbor, Andy, had just lowered the bamboo blinds on his front porch when we heard a mournful sound.

“What is that?” his wife, Anna Lee, asked. “I’ve never heard that bird before.”

The cry was sweet, pure and distressed, a little like a young gull, but not quite so piercing. Besides, the nearest ocean is about 800 miles away.

“I’ve never heard a kestrel,” I said, “but don’t they cry like that?”

Anna Lee took a sip of her wine and said, “Whatever it is, his home has been transformed, too.”

Anna Lee had asked Andy to lower the blinds to put a little barrier between us and the slow, steady stream of cars that had been moving down our dead-end street all day. Like most of the people on our block, she’d had enough of strangers staring at our homes, our yards and our dog-tired selves as if we were a zoo exhibit.

Not that we could blame the gawkers. News gets out that a city neighborhood has been clobbered by super-powerful winds, and lots of people want to see the destruction for themselves. Maybe it makes them feel better about not getting clobbered. Maybe they are simply drawn to the awesome evidence of nature unleashed. I’d like to think that if anyone had gotten killed, the sightseers would have stayed away.

Mercifully, I’ll never know. Despite winds that took out at least a dozen big, mature trees on my property, alone — ferocious straight winds that sheared off, splintered and uprooted hundreds of others trees throughout neighborhoods on the northwest side of Terre Haute and Marian Heights — no one in the storm’s path was injured, let alone killed. Trees fell on houses and cars, smashed through windows and fences and power poles. But not one fell on a person.

How is that possible? In a U.S. spring filled with an extraordinary amount of death and injury from vicious winds all over the South, the Midwest and even in the northeast, how could such damage be done to so many objects and not one person?The what-if stories have abounded since the night of the sudden, roaring winds. If so-and-so’s oak had fallen only a foot to the left or right, she or her husband would have been under it. If such-and-such hadn’t just left his bedroom to go to the kitchen, he’d be smashed like the roof that now lies on top of his bed. If Anna Lee, Andy, Bill and I had stayed just a few more minutes at the restaurant in which we all had dinner, we could have been knocked to the ground by the quarter of an oak tree that crashed down on Bill’s unoccupied car.

What didn’t happen. It’s a phrase that’s come back to me time and again, acting as a potent antidote to the proof of what DID happen. That proof was partly stacked but mostly thrown for days in my front yard, which looked like the scene of a multiple logging truck accident. It was almost impossible to tell whose trees were whose. My next-door neighbors’? The folks’ across the street? Mine?

They all fell in a matter of seconds and instantly co-mingled their massive bodies across our yards and street. When city workers went at the tangle with chain saws and forklifts in the middle of that first rainy night — a gas main had broken, Vectren needed to get it capped — they had no time for tidiness. That they managed to clear a vehicle path through the street by the next morning was the first of many Herculean feats I witnessed.

In fact, you will get no complaints from me about any of the responders to our great neighborhood mess. Not about the private tree companies that came to help one family and stayed for days to serve dozens of residents who’d wave them down and ask to be put on their to-do list. Not about Terre Haute Street Department employees, Vectren and Duke crews, Time Warner Cable, Frontier Communications or Allstate insurance representatives.

Sure, sure, we pay for such services, but they usually involve faceless connections that we take for granted and notice only when the monthly price goes up — or a burst of weather knocks them out and us back to more primitive conditions. The presence and phone calls of all these men and women provided a steady drumbeat of comfort in the chaos.

I’ve taken comfort, too, from the people of my neighborhood, the ones I know and those I don’t, but with whom I identify. Most of us lost magnificent trees that had stood decades before we were born. Tall and beautiful old friends, our trees provided shade in the summer, stark black sculpture in the winter and sound stages for birdsong and squirrel chatter all year ’round.

“I’m sure sorry my oak took out your pine trees,” said my neighbor, Larry, a couple of days after the storm. “I loved looking out of my second-story window at those pines.”

I loved looking at them, too. I lost five pines to the wind and had to have another cut down because it was blown over several degrees toward the street. I lost two huge ash trees, as well, and two pin oaks that were close to 70 years old. Their older sibling, right in the middle of my front yard, also must be cut down: Thanks to the rampaging winds, it became a dangerous “leaner” overnight. A giant hackberry bush tree that moved enough to shove over part of a 6-foot concrete wall near my patio also had to come down.

My husband, Bill, was exhausted the night of the big winds, but I couldn’t sleep, what with the smell of natural gas, the jackhammering street crews and the new Alamogordo-ish landscape that was revealed with each flash of lightning. For a good hour or so after the winds blew through, even the bull frogs were stone quiet. Then, slowly, they started their bass chorus. I imagined them doing what scores of us throughout my neighborhood were doing with our flashlights and careful treks across debris-laden yards.

“Everybody OK in your place?”

“Yup. OK here. Yours?”

“Yep, we’re good. Isn’t it a miracle?”

Stephanie Salter may be e-mailed at SalterOpinion@gmail.com.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Readers’ Forum: July 25, 2014

    July 24, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: The Czar of Russia

    If you are expecting Vladimir Putin, President of the Russian Republic, to react to the crisis in the Ukraine as an ordinary elected official, think again. Even though Putin is the President of the Russian Republic, this is not the job he wants. Putin also doesn’t want to be the chairman of a newly resurrected Communist Party in Russia. No, what he wants is to be the czar of a greater Russia.

    July 24, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 24, 2014

    • Clinic will expand basic health access
    • Misunderstanding truth about Islam

    July 23, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Work program needs industry buy-in

    Good help is hard to find. That’s essentially what Indiana companies have insisted for several years. The state struggles with a “skills gap,” the firms explain. They need employees, but can’t find enough — or in some cases, any — qualified Hoosiers. Businesses say too few applicants possess the “soft skills,” such as showing up for work on time or being able to effectively communicate with co-workers.

    July 22, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 23, 2014

    July 22, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Dragonfly

    The other morning I was moving the canister that holds our recycling material out to the curb when I saw a strange sight. What I saw was a dragonfly fighting with a bee.

    July 22, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: News about reality, not affirmation

    The public’s trust in the news media keeps dwindling. At the same time, Americans’ political polarization keeps increasing.

    July 21, 2014

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Chickens as pets always turned out same way

    I suppose many of us who grew up on farms or in small towns adopted unusual pets. I had a fondness for chickens. My folks always kept a few chickens, not only to fry or roast, but also for the eggs.

    July 21, 2014

  • Readers’ forum: July 22, 2014

    • Supt. Ritz has right to govern
    • A tribute to a teacher
    • Rep. Pelosi shows ‘bungling idiocy’

    July 21, 2014

  • Readers’ forum: July 21, 2014

    • Theater brings the joy of music
    • Drawing closer to the spirit
    • Give some space to heterosexuals

    July 20, 2014

  • LovellEdwards.JPG MARK BENNETT: Former Terre Hautean Jim Lovell stood ready as Neil Armstrong’s backup on Apollo 11

    The words “Apollo 11” stir optimism in me.
    I was an elementary school kid growing up in Vigo County when Neil Armstrong put the first footprint on the moon on July 20, 1969. So much seemed possible

    July 20, 2014 1 Photo 4 Stories

  • EDITORIAL: Vigo Jail study essential to determine strategy

    It comes as encouraging news that the Vigo County Council might include in its 2015 budget significant funding for an expert and neutral study of what can be done to replace or enhance the existing county jail.

    July 20, 2014

  • Readers’ forum: July 20, 2014

    • ‘Hotel Indiana’ has a sour tune

    • Kind words about the newspaper

    • Some questions about RTL video

    • No mercy for cop killers

    • Crack down on gun violence

    • Anti-Dem tirades mask GOP failures

    • Important day for participants

    • Appreciation for support

    July 20, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: Solve our border crisis

    More than 60,000 unaccompanied alien children — mostly from Guatemala, Honduras and El Salvador — have been apprehended on America’s southern border during this fiscal year.

    July 20, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: World Cup over, but it was fun

    After many weeks and many games, the World Cup is over. While the world calls it “futbol,” only we in North America play another brand of football. It is very simple to understand why this is the world’s favorite game … all it takes is an empty lot, a round soccer ball, and you can get a futbol game together.

    July 18, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: Living in peaceful communities requires collaboration

    Hoosiers have the right to live in peace. Yet, too many of our friends and neighbors are currently living in fear.

    July 18, 2014

  • Flashpoint: Will Gov. Pence be true to his word?

    This is written in response to recent remarks made by State Board of Education members.

    July 17, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 18, 2014

    July 17, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Presidential Ambush

    No wild-west ambush, either real or fiction, has been as successful as the ambush on President Barack Obama.

    July 17, 2014

  • READERS’ FORUM: July 17, 2014

    • Civil rights and burning cities

    • Quality service from Baesler’s

    July 16, 2014

  • FLAHSPOINT: Supt. Glenda Ritz ‘creating conflict’

    It has been my pleasure for the past year to serve as the newest member of the Indiana State Board of Education. I bring a fresh perspective to the board as an attorney and business executive who served as Director of Economic Development under former Indianapolis Mayor Bart Peterson and President of the Indy Partnership, a regional economic development organization charged with recruiting new companies to our state.

    July 16, 2014

  • tstribunestar Editorial: Continuing the standard

    U.S. Attorney Joe Hogsett has raised the profile of his federally appointed position more than any individual to hold the job in decades. From the start, he was a man on a mission, and often that mission was focused on rooting out corruption, maintaining integrity in government and pursuing those who violated the public trust.

    July 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • Readers’ Forum: July 16, 2014

    • The truth about property taxes

    July 15, 2014

  • Letter from BOE member: Superintendent Ritz ‘creating conflict’

    It has been my pleasure for the past year to serve as the newest member of the Indiana State Board of Education. I bring a fresh perspective to the board as an attorney and business executive who served as Director of Economic Development under former Indianapolis Mayor Bart Peterson and President of the Indy Partnership, a regional economic development organization charged with recruiting new companies to our state.

    July 15, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Collett Park

    Saturday at the Park, Collett Park, another beautiful wedding was held. They looked so nice in the warm weather with the Gazebo acting as church sanctuary, I would almost be tempted myself to do it again, and do it outdoors at the Park. No, no, no, not again, even as pretty as it is in the Park on a nice July Saturday.

    July 15, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 15, 2014

    • Are Fed policies hurting America?

    • Staying true to code of respect

    July 14, 2014

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Lots we did not have in those good ol’ days

    In my thankful moments, I’m glad I was not my grandmother’s daughter. I would miss the modern conveniences.

    July 14, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Legal marriages should be honored

    An eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.

    July 13, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 14, 2014

    • Where did the 61 cents go?

    July 13, 2014

  • wefight.jpg MARK BENNETT: Filmmaker captures late uncle’s walk through illness and into ‘whatever is next’

    Paul Fleschner sensed a remarkable strength as he filmed his beloved uncle one final time.

    July 12, 2014 2 Photos

Latest News
TribStar.com Poll
AP Video
Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Raw: Iowa Police Dash Cam Shows Wild Chase Dempsey: Putin May Light Fire and Lose Control Arizona Prison Chief: Execution Wasn't Botched In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Police: Doctor Who Shot Gunman 'Saved Lives' Anti-violence Advocate Killed, but Not Silenced. Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites Raw: Protesters, Soldiers Clash in West Bank Israeli American Reservist Torn Over Return Calif. Police Investigate Peacock Shooting Death MN Twins Debut Beer Vending Machine Today in History for July 25th 'Modern Family' Star on Gay Athletes Coming Out A Young Victim's Premonition, Hug Before MH17 DA: Pa. Doctor Fired Back at Hospital Gunman Official: Air Algerie Flight 'probably Crashed' Raw: Ukraine's Donetsk Residents Flee
NDN Video
What's Got Jack Black Freaking Out at Comic-Con? Doctors Remove 232 Teeth From Teen's Mouth Bradley Cooper Explains His Voice in 'Guardians of the Galaxy' Deja vu: Another NYPD officer choke-holding a suspect Chapter Two: Becoming a first-time director 'Fifty Shades of Grey': Watch the Super Sexy First Trailer Now! Reports: Ravens RB Ray Rice Suspended For 1st 2 Games Of The Season Air Algerie plane with 119 on board missing over Mali Diamond Stone, Malik Newman, Josh Jackson and others showcase talent Free Arturo - The World's Saddest Polar Bear A Look Back at Batman On Film Through The Years LeBron James -- Dropped $2k On Cupcake Apology ... Proceeds To Benefit Charity Snoop Dogg Says He Smoked Weed at the White House Raw: Fight Breaks Out in Ukraine Parliament Chris Pratt Interrupts Interview To French Braid Intern's Hair Shirtless Super Mario Balotelli Dances While Ironing - @TheBuzzeronFOX Whoa! Watch "Housewives" Star Do the Unthinkable LeBron apologizes to neighbors with cupcakes Justin Bieber In Calvin Klein Underwear Shoot Samsung Pre-Trolls The IPhone 6 With New Ad
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
  • -

     

    March 12, 2010

activity