News From Terre Haute, Indiana

Opinion

June 5, 2011

STEPHANIE SALTER: On the other hand … we’ll have a lot fewer leaves to rake

Editor’s Note: Former Tribune-Star Assistant Editor Stephanie Salter’s column resumes today in freelance form and will appear on this page every other Sunday.

TERRE HAUTE — My neighbor, Andy, had just lowered the bamboo blinds on his front porch when we heard a mournful sound.

“What is that?” his wife, Anna Lee, asked. “I’ve never heard that bird before.”

The cry was sweet, pure and distressed, a little like a young gull, but not quite so piercing. Besides, the nearest ocean is about 800 miles away.

“I’ve never heard a kestrel,” I said, “but don’t they cry like that?”

Anna Lee took a sip of her wine and said, “Whatever it is, his home has been transformed, too.”

Anna Lee had asked Andy to lower the blinds to put a little barrier between us and the slow, steady stream of cars that had been moving down our dead-end street all day. Like most of the people on our block, she’d had enough of strangers staring at our homes, our yards and our dog-tired selves as if we were a zoo exhibit.

Not that we could blame the gawkers. News gets out that a city neighborhood has been clobbered by super-powerful winds, and lots of people want to see the destruction for themselves. Maybe it makes them feel better about not getting clobbered. Maybe they are simply drawn to the awesome evidence of nature unleashed. I’d like to think that if anyone had gotten killed, the sightseers would have stayed away.

Mercifully, I’ll never know. Despite winds that took out at least a dozen big, mature trees on my property, alone — ferocious straight winds that sheared off, splintered and uprooted hundreds of others trees throughout neighborhoods on the northwest side of Terre Haute and Marian Heights — no one in the storm’s path was injured, let alone killed. Trees fell on houses and cars, smashed through windows and fences and power poles. But not one fell on a person.

How is that possible? In a U.S. spring filled with an extraordinary amount of death and injury from vicious winds all over the South, the Midwest and even in the northeast, how could such damage be done to so many objects and not one person?The what-if stories have abounded since the night of the sudden, roaring winds. If so-and-so’s oak had fallen only a foot to the left or right, she or her husband would have been under it. If such-and-such hadn’t just left his bedroom to go to the kitchen, he’d be smashed like the roof that now lies on top of his bed. If Anna Lee, Andy, Bill and I had stayed just a few more minutes at the restaurant in which we all had dinner, we could have been knocked to the ground by the quarter of an oak tree that crashed down on Bill’s unoccupied car.

What didn’t happen. It’s a phrase that’s come back to me time and again, acting as a potent antidote to the proof of what DID happen. That proof was partly stacked but mostly thrown for days in my front yard, which looked like the scene of a multiple logging truck accident. It was almost impossible to tell whose trees were whose. My next-door neighbors’? The folks’ across the street? Mine?

They all fell in a matter of seconds and instantly co-mingled their massive bodies across our yards and street. When city workers went at the tangle with chain saws and forklifts in the middle of that first rainy night — a gas main had broken, Vectren needed to get it capped — they had no time for tidiness. That they managed to clear a vehicle path through the street by the next morning was the first of many Herculean feats I witnessed.

In fact, you will get no complaints from me about any of the responders to our great neighborhood mess. Not about the private tree companies that came to help one family and stayed for days to serve dozens of residents who’d wave them down and ask to be put on their to-do list. Not about Terre Haute Street Department employees, Vectren and Duke crews, Time Warner Cable, Frontier Communications or Allstate insurance representatives.

Sure, sure, we pay for such services, but they usually involve faceless connections that we take for granted and notice only when the monthly price goes up — or a burst of weather knocks them out and us back to more primitive conditions. The presence and phone calls of all these men and women provided a steady drumbeat of comfort in the chaos.

I’ve taken comfort, too, from the people of my neighborhood, the ones I know and those I don’t, but with whom I identify. Most of us lost magnificent trees that had stood decades before we were born. Tall and beautiful old friends, our trees provided shade in the summer, stark black sculpture in the winter and sound stages for birdsong and squirrel chatter all year ’round.

“I’m sure sorry my oak took out your pine trees,” said my neighbor, Larry, a couple of days after the storm. “I loved looking out of my second-story window at those pines.”

I loved looking at them, too. I lost five pines to the wind and had to have another cut down because it was blown over several degrees toward the street. I lost two huge ash trees, as well, and two pin oaks that were close to 70 years old. Their older sibling, right in the middle of my front yard, also must be cut down: Thanks to the rampaging winds, it became a dangerous “leaner” overnight. A giant hackberry bush tree that moved enough to shove over part of a 6-foot concrete wall near my patio also had to come down.

My husband, Bill, was exhausted the night of the big winds, but I couldn’t sleep, what with the smell of natural gas, the jackhammering street crews and the new Alamogordo-ish landscape that was revealed with each flash of lightning. For a good hour or so after the winds blew through, even the bull frogs were stone quiet. Then, slowly, they started their bass chorus. I imagined them doing what scores of us throughout my neighborhood were doing with our flashlights and careful treks across debris-laden yards.

“Everybody OK in your place?”

“Yup. OK here. Yours?”

“Yep, we’re good. Isn’t it a miracle?”

Stephanie Salter may be e-mailed at SalterOpinion@gmail.com.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • wefight.jpg Feeling carried: Filmmaker captures late uncle’s walk through illness and into ‘whatever is next’

    Paul Fleschner sensed a remarkable strength as he filmed his beloved uncle one final time.

    July 12, 2014 2 Photos

  • EDITORIAL: Dysfunctional relationship with schools chief doesn’t bode well for potential Pence presidency

    A window to the future may be unfolding in Indiana.

    July 12, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 13, 2014

    • Telling the truth about smoking
    • Larger energy bills on the way, thanks to EPA
    • Embrace the compassion, not self-righteousness
    • Wondering about country’s leaders
    • New amendments have hurt country

    July 12, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: EPA proposal will have little impact on environment, but could hurt coal industry

    I recently signed on as an original co-sponsor to a bipartisan bill led by one of my Democrat colleagues from West Virginia that would stop the newly released Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) regulations on existing coal-generated power plants.

    July 12, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Troubled history in that place called Iraq

    People are dying, again, in Iraq. And, again, people other than Iraqis will ultimately make the decision about what happens to this ancient land.

    July 11, 2014

  • Editorial: The Bennett ‘settlement’

    It takes a special kind of arrogance to flout ethics laws in the manner which former state Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Bennett has violated them. Even when he finally admitted his transgressions, he claimed he could have avoided the matter altogether had he just changed the department’s ethics policy before engaging in the troublesome conduct.
    In essence, this was the old “mistakes were made” acknowledgment of wrongdoing. And the real mistake to which Bennett admits was apparently not changing the rules before he violated them. This is a truly Nixonian moment.

    July 10, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 11, 2014

    July 10, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: That Old Man River

    I was surprised to learn the people in Cairo are now taking water taxis to avoid the traffic, the confusion and the dangers that are appearing on Cairo, Egypt’s, streets. I mean, I was surprised the people in Cairo, these native Egyptians, were surprised they could take a water taxi and get to where they wanted to go using the Nile River as a highway. So, for the Egyptians living in Cairo, everything old is brand new again.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A green idea worth pursuing

    It sounds like a blue-ribbon idea.

    July 9, 2014

  • READERS' FORUM: July 10, 2014

    • Herb Faire a great success

    • Appreciation for a ‘lovely angel’

    • Thanks for stirring fireworks show

    July 9, 2014

  • tstribunestar EDITORIAL: Be safe, be responsible

    The Independence Day weekend brought a brief respite in construction work on area roadways. In particular, it provided needed relief to the congested segment of Interstate 70 in Clay County that is undergoing resurfacing this summer.

    July 8, 2014 1 Photo

  • Readers’ Forum: July 9, 2014

    • Don’t eliminate our six-day mail

    • Zamperini death stirs memories

    July 8, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Black Dog

    We had some excitement around our house the other day and it was not the good kind.
    There was a small dog, black in color with a spiked collar on his neck, and he was the spitting image of a small Doberman. I don’t know if they have miniature Dobermans but this dog could have been a mixed breed that came out looking like a Doberman although smaller.

    July 8, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 8, 2014

    • T-S ignores common decency

    • Lighten up on Donald Sterling

    • Time to reject Dems in Congress

    Fueling the EPA

    July 7, 2014

  • MS. TAKES: Great music is made during all generations

    Number Two son tells us that his 20-year-old son has been listening to “Big Band” music with apparent enjoyment. As if that wasn’t enough of a surprise, I was talking with a young girl, barely out of her teens and she told us that she really wasn’t into rap. She said, “It isn’t really music, it’s just talk.”

    July 7, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 7, 2014

    • The moral issue is major issue

    July 6, 2014

  • tstribunestar Editorial: City financial health demands an open, honest discussion

    Obscured by the recent rift over use of departmental funds in the city of Terre Haute’s budget are serious issues related to our city government’s overall financial health. The answers may be mired in the complexity of municipal finance, but coming to grips with the situation is important to the city’s future.

    July 6, 2014 1 Photo

  • Readers’ Forum: July 6, 2014

    • Coats ignoring climate science

    • Do those mustache posters exist?

    • Utility rate freeze took determination

    • What perversion is next in line?

    • Opinions vary, but voters will decide

    • This preaching must stop — now

    • Golf fundraiser a huge success

    July 6, 2014

  • Flashpoint: State’s lawyer has duty to represent state in marriage lawsuit appeal

    Recent federal court actions that first struck down Indiana’s statute limiting marriage to the traditional definition, and then stayed that order pending appeal, have left many in our state in legal limbo. As the attorney who represents state government and defends its laws, I know this difficult case stirs many people’s deeply held beliefs that touch their lives in very personal ways. Not since my office had to represent the state in lawsuits arising from the State Fair disaster has a dispute been so seemingly impossible to address in a way that the public would accept as being fair to all concerned.

    July 6, 2014

  • Flashpoint: The Supreme Court decision and ‘closely held’ corporations

    The much awaited Supreme Court decision in Burwell vs. Hobby Lobby came down this week. The court ruled in a 5-4 decision that the 1993 Religious Freedom and Restoration Act (RFRA) does cover “closely held” corporations, even if those corporations are for profit.

    July 6, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Learning more about Jefferson

    During this Fourth of July weekend, I’ll be reading John Meacham’s biography of Thomas Jefferson.

    July 4, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Celebrate your independence

    “We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.”
    As eloquent and declaratory as that statement is, implementing its principles has been a decades-long pursuit for these United States of America. Our nation, it seems, is the quintessential work in progress, even though what this country has created in terms of a stable, collective society is, let’s face it, pretty darn good.

    July 3, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 4, 2014

    July 3, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: The Men Who Made the Country

    The Fourth of July is the day we celebrate our independence from Great Britain. It reminds me of something David Ben-Gurion would say, at a much later date, about British rule: “If you have to have a master, the British are about as good at it as anybody.” Of course, we really don’t need a master.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • MET 033114 GREG ZOELLER MUG.jpg GREG ZOELLER: State’s lawyer has duty to represent state in marriage lawsuit appeal

    Recent federal court actions that first struck down Indiana’s statute limiting marriage to the traditional definition, and then stayed that order pending appeal, have left many in our state in legal limbo.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • Readers’ Forum: July 3, 2014

    • Over the top on immigration

    July 2, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: HIP 2.0 gives consumers better choices

    On Wednesday, the State of Indiana submitted its proposal for the Healthy Indiana Plan 2.0 to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

    July 2, 2014

  • Gov. Mike Pence (R, Ind.) MIKE PENCE: HIP 2.0 gives consumers better choices

    Today, the state of Indiana submitted its proposal for the Healthy Indiana Plan 2.0 to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
    If approved, the Healthy Indiana Plan 2.0 would replace traditional Medicaid for low-income, able-bodied Hoosier adults. Unlike traditional Medicaid, which is government-driven, HIP 2.0 is consumer-driven.

    July 2, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Texting law serves safety

    July 1 each year marks the day in Indiana when new laws take effect. But rather than focus on new laws today, let’s observe the anniversary of a law that went on the books three years ago this month — the law that barred texting while driving.

    July 1, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 2, 2014

    July 1, 2014

Latest News
TribStar.com Poll
AP Video
Joy Fills Streets of Cleveland As LeBron Returns Raw: Stunning Timelapse of WC Final Host City Raw: Israel, Gaza Exchange Rocket Fire Raw: Militants, Israelis Exchange Rocket Fire Israel Widens Attack As Gaza Death Toll Rises Raw: Airstrike Creates Chaos on Gaza Streets Texas Shooting Suspect Collapses in Court Raw: Airstrike Creates Chaos on Gaza Streets Raw: Sirens Blare Over Jerusalem Diaz and Segel Strip Off for 'Sex Tape' Proposed Bill to Regulate NY Costumed Characters Arizona Mom of Missing Baby Released From Prison Death Toll Tops 100 As Israel Offense Continues Raw: Rebel Leader Weds in Eastern Ukraine Netherlands Beats Host Brazil 3-0 to Finish 3rd Police: Prostitute Linked to 2nd Death World Cup Final Pits Argentina Against Germany Ana Ortiz on 'Devious Maids' Finale FIFA Rejects Suarez Appeal Against Biting Ban WH: LeBron's Move a 'Powerful Statement'
NDN Video
Cleveland welcomes home LeBron Houston Killer Collapses in Court When Read Capital Murder Charges for Allegedly Killing Family of Six Worst Valet Ever Wrecks $500K Lamborghini Glee Star Becca Tobin's Boyfriend Matt Bendik Found Dead in Hotel Aerial fish restocking in Utah ScarJo Channels Marilyn Monroe Obama Responds to Hecklers on Immigration Tiny Hamsters Who Ate Burritos are Back for a Tiny Hedgehog's Party Watch Kelly Ripa Get Soaked! 'Referee' Hands Out Yellow Cards for Social Faux Pas in NYC 2014 Emmy Nominees: 8 Snub Shockers Emma Watson Is Va-Va-Voom in Valentino 7 Infamous Sports Blowouts Argentina tops Holland in World Cup semifinals News flush: Japanese toilet exhibition making a splash Emmy Nominations: What to Watch For 'Game of Thrones' Leads 66th Emmy Awards Nominations Photographic 'Proof' That LeBron Is Leaving Miami - @TheBuzzeronFOX Elephant Pool Party at The Oregon Zoo Must-See! Berry and Fallon Form Human Hamster Wheel
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
  • -

     

    March 12, 2010

activity