News From Terre Haute, Indiana

Opinion

October 7, 2010

STEPHANIE SALTER: College journalism: It called Alice, when she was just small

TERRE HAUTE — It was the kind of request I never decline. A student at Purdue University phoned to schedule an interview to talk about my days on the staff of the student daily, the Exponent.

Those days were long ago in a galaxy far, far away, but something about them keeps hooking kids who’d normally run the other way when a baby boomer starts to wax nostalgic. A 2003 reunion in West Lafayette of dozens of Exponent staffers from my era was like an out-of-body experience. Bright, eager young people sat around the paper’s Northwestern Avenue offices urging us geezers to go on and on about the way we were.

That never happens in real life.

One reason I think young people like hearing about those days — roughly, Winter 1968 to Summer 1973 — is that they were exciting. Disillusionment with the Vietnam War, combined with strong movements for black civil rights and feminism, produced a roiling social sea across U.S. college campuses. Purdue wasn’t Columbia or Berkeley, but it didn’t escape the phenomenon known as “student unrest.” Like most campus newspapers, the Exponent was right in the middle of it all.

A few weeks ago, I mentioned the editorial reign of Bill Smoot, who was Exponent editor-in-chief from January 1968 to January 1969. He and his senior staff were the first to rebel against the university administration’s authority to dictate Exponent content, an amazing pushback by straight-up, fraternity and sorority types that set the paper’s ultimate transformation in motion. By the time I occupied the editor’s chair a year later, the Exponent was struggling to buy its freedom from the university as an independent nonprofit corporation. That struggle continued for the editors who followed until 1975, when the paper’s finances began to flourish, thanks to free circulation.

During his time at the helm, Smoot was fired, then reinstated by the university after his staff refused to accept his ouster and a faculty commission concurred. During my year as editor, the administration locked us out of the Purdue Memorial Union offices we rented, just as we were to publish our summer issue — the paper that pulled in many of our paid subscriptions.

I was summoned to campus for a meeting with administrators along with our editorial page editor, Jim Swanson, and our managing editor, Ron Thornburg. While I do not remember a minute of that meeting, I do know we struck a deal that allowed the paper to start publishing again. (I think it helped that Swanson — now a brigadier general — was an active member of the Air Force ROTC.)

Among our concessions were a professional in-house babysitter from the Lafayette Journal & Courier and our promise that we would use **** in place of offensive words we printed in columns or quotes. The babysitter, Bob Kriebel, turned out to be a terrific guy and a fine newsman who made us better reporters and editors and engendered a respect for “establishment journalism” that we retain today.

Which brings me to another reason I think young Exponent staffers still seek out those of my era: We geezers have remained close, not only through e-mail and phone calls, but with real-time visits to one another’s cities or through reunions. In 2003, 75 of us came to West Lafayette. Two years ago, about a dozen gathered in McCormick’s Creek State Park for the Hilly Hundred bike race. This weekend is our third annual get-together there.

Not everyone bikes. Some of us just soak up nature and focus on making a big outdoor dinner for the group. Inevitably, we end up around the campfire to drink, sing our unofficial anthem — Jefferson Airplane’s “White Rabbit” — and talk. Not just about the old days, but about life now, with all its frustration, fear and promise.

Many of us stayed in journalism. All of us who were liberals in college have remained politically progressive, including two guys who work fairly high up in the federal government. (So much for background checks.) To this day, we are amazed at the staying power of lessons we learned while putting out the Exponent, from investigative reporting skills to recognizing that a fat paycheck comes in a distant second to a job you love.

We also know most of us would have trouble getting on the Exponent staff these days, let alone running it.

In 1989, the Exponent moved from the PMU basement into its own 22,500-square-foot office building on Northwestern — 100 years after the publication of the very first Exponent. The paper’s circulation is 17,000 today, making it the state’s largest student daily, bigger even than Indiana University with its renowned journalism school. That’s a comforting fact for someone who still is asked, “Why did you go to Purdue to major in journalism?”

Silvia Son, the student who interviewed me and a few other geezers this week, is trying to win a place on the Exponent staff. She was among about 200 kids who attended the semester “call-out” for candidates. In my day, you had only to be semi-literate and walk through the door to get a job. Son and her counterparts must attend training sessions over several days, then submit a trial story for the Exponent’s website.

Pat Kuhnle, the paper’s professional publisher since 1984, said the staff employs about 150 students. Right, employs. The Exponent is no longer just a labor of love and the rare $50 check.

“We had our second-best year ever last year,” Kuhnle said. “I know, it’s counter-cultural, but niche publications are still doing OK.”

OK is an understatement. The Exponent grossed about $1.8 million last year. Its full-time staff of seven professionals was joined this year by a professional-in-residence, Maura Pierce, who spent 15 years at C-SPAN, which included producing the excellent series “The American Presidents.”

Kuhnle told me something else that explains why Exponent kids today are interested in the era in which my compadres and I ran the paper.

“The last training session we do is a history session,” he said. “I talk about the era that began with Smoot and ended with the Exponent becoming independent. I actually do a PowerPoint on it.”

Kuhnle asked if I’d like to see that PowerPoint and borrow discs of the digitized bound volumes from my era. All I could say was, “****, yes!”

Stephanie Salter can be reached at (812) 231-4229 or stephanie.salter@tribstar.com.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Editorial: The Bennett ‘settlement’

    It takes a special kind of arrogance to flout ethics laws in the manner which former state Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Bennett has violated them. Even when he finally admitted his transgressions, he claimed he could have avoided the matter altogether had he just changed the department’s ethics policy before engaging in the troublesome conduct.
    In essence, this was the old “mistakes were made” acknowledgment of wrongdoing. And the real mistake to which Bennett admits was apparently not changing the rules before he violated them. This is a truly Nixonian moment.

    July 10, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 11, 2014

    July 10, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: That Old Man River

    I was surprised to learn the people in Cairo are now taking water taxis to avoid the traffic, the confusion and the dangers that are appearing on Cairo, Egypt’s, streets. I mean, I was surprised the people in Cairo, these native Egyptians, were surprised they could take a water taxi and get to where they wanted to go using the Nile River as a highway. So, for the Egyptians living in Cairo, everything old is brand new again.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A green idea worth pursuing

    It sounds like a blue-ribbon idea.

    July 9, 2014

  • READERS' FORUM: July 10, 2014

    • Herb Faire a great success

    • Appreciation for a ‘lovely angel’

    • Thanks for stirring fireworks show

    July 9, 2014

  • tstribunestar EDITORIAL: Be safe, be responsible

    The Independence Day weekend brought a brief respite in construction work on area roadways. In particular, it provided needed relief to the congested segment of Interstate 70 in Clay County that is undergoing resurfacing this summer.

    July 8, 2014 1 Photo

  • Readers’ Forum: July 9, 2014

    • Don’t eliminate our six-day mail

    • Zamperini death stirs memories

    July 8, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Black Dog

    We had some excitement around our house the other day and it was not the good kind.
    There was a small dog, black in color with a spiked collar on his neck, and he was the spitting image of a small Doberman. I don’t know if they have miniature Dobermans but this dog could have been a mixed breed that came out looking like a Doberman although smaller.

    July 8, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 8, 2014

    • T-S ignores common decency

    • Lighten up on Donald Sterling

    • Time to reject Dems in Congress

    Fueling the EPA

    July 7, 2014

  • MS. TAKES: Great music is made during all generations

    Number Two son tells us that his 20-year-old son has been listening to “Big Band” music with apparent enjoyment. As if that wasn’t enough of a surprise, I was talking with a young girl, barely out of her teens and she told us that she really wasn’t into rap. She said, “It isn’t really music, it’s just talk.”

    July 7, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 7, 2014

    • The moral issue is major issue

    July 6, 2014

  • tstribunestar Editorial: City financial health demands an open, honest discussion

    Obscured by the recent rift over use of departmental funds in the city of Terre Haute’s budget are serious issues related to our city government’s overall financial health. The answers may be mired in the complexity of municipal finance, but coming to grips with the situation is important to the city’s future.

    July 6, 2014 1 Photo

  • Readers’ Forum: July 6, 2014

    • Coats ignoring climate science

    • Do those mustache posters exist?

    • Utility rate freeze took determination

    • What perversion is next in line?

    • Opinions vary, but voters will decide

    • This preaching must stop — now

    • Golf fundraiser a huge success

    July 6, 2014

  • Flashpoint: State’s lawyer has duty to represent state in marriage lawsuit appeal

    Recent federal court actions that first struck down Indiana’s statute limiting marriage to the traditional definition, and then stayed that order pending appeal, have left many in our state in legal limbo. As the attorney who represents state government and defends its laws, I know this difficult case stirs many people’s deeply held beliefs that touch their lives in very personal ways. Not since my office had to represent the state in lawsuits arising from the State Fair disaster has a dispute been so seemingly impossible to address in a way that the public would accept as being fair to all concerned.

    July 6, 2014

  • Flashpoint: The Supreme Court decision and ‘closely held’ corporations

    The much awaited Supreme Court decision in Burwell vs. Hobby Lobby came down this week. The court ruled in a 5-4 decision that the 1993 Religious Freedom and Restoration Act (RFRA) does cover “closely held” corporations, even if those corporations are for profit.

    July 6, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Learning more about Jefferson

    During this Fourth of July weekend, I’ll be reading John Meacham’s biography of Thomas Jefferson.

    July 4, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Celebrate your independence

    “We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.”
    As eloquent and declaratory as that statement is, implementing its principles has been a decades-long pursuit for these United States of America. Our nation, it seems, is the quintessential work in progress, even though what this country has created in terms of a stable, collective society is, let’s face it, pretty darn good.

    July 3, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 4, 2014

    July 3, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: The Men Who Made the Country

    The Fourth of July is the day we celebrate our independence from Great Britain. It reminds me of something David Ben-Gurion would say, at a much later date, about British rule: “If you have to have a master, the British are about as good at it as anybody.” Of course, we really don’t need a master.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • MET 033114 GREG ZOELLER MUG.jpg GREG ZOELLER: State’s lawyer has duty to represent state in marriage lawsuit appeal

    Recent federal court actions that first struck down Indiana’s statute limiting marriage to the traditional definition, and then stayed that order pending appeal, have left many in our state in legal limbo.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • Readers’ Forum: July 3, 2014

    • Over the top on immigration

    July 2, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: HIP 2.0 gives consumers better choices

    On Wednesday, the State of Indiana submitted its proposal for the Healthy Indiana Plan 2.0 to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

    July 2, 2014

  • Gov. Mike Pence (R, Ind.) MIKE PENCE: HIP 2.0 gives consumers better choices

    Today, the state of Indiana submitted its proposal for the Healthy Indiana Plan 2.0 to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
    If approved, the Healthy Indiana Plan 2.0 would replace traditional Medicaid for low-income, able-bodied Hoosier adults. Unlike traditional Medicaid, which is government-driven, HIP 2.0 is consumer-driven.

    July 2, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Texting law serves safety

    July 1 each year marks the day in Indiana when new laws take effect. But rather than focus on new laws today, let’s observe the anniversary of a law that went on the books three years ago this month — the law that barred texting while driving.

    July 1, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 2, 2014

    July 1, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Cats

    Looking at the situation as a whole, the adopted cats, plus one, seem to be doing OK. The boys, Magic and Mellow, like to roam occasionally, which causes some consternation when they are gone for a long time.

    July 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Oldtime fans will never give up on the Cubbies

    My Best Friend claims to be the world’s oldest living Cubs fan. I am willing to take him at his word, but surely there is some long-lived fan out there in the right field bleachers who would dispute his claim.

    June 30, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 1, 2014

    • Defying the laws of God
    • Correcting the written record
    • Hands of $$ from Redevelopment
    • Celebrity visit for celebration

    June 30, 2014

  • Flashpoint: New Healthy Indiana Plan our best option

    Some state-run health care exchanges — the brainchild of the Affordable Care Act (ACA) — have gotten off to a rocky start, to the point that they are turning to the federal government to pick up the pieces. Indiana’s decision to try to expand the already-existing Healthy Indiana Plan (HIP) in lieu of an exchange seems a more prudent choice every day.

    June 30, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: June 30, 2014

    • Don’t be victim of home repair scam
    • Ending unfair tax practices

    June 29, 2014

Latest News
TribStar.com Poll
AP Video
Police: Prostitute Linked to 2nd Death Chimp-attack Victim Lobbies Congress Obama Responds to Hecklers on Immigration Kim Kardashian Hits Up Valentino Show in Paris Police: Prostitute Accused in Overdose Death Art of Haitian Machete Fighting Revived Neighbors Mourn Killing of Texas Family Israeli-Palestinian Tensions, Attacks Escalate Four Kids, Two Adults Shot Dead Near Houston FIFA Rejects Suarez Appeal Against Biting Ban Raw: Obama Shoots Pool in Denver World Cup Final Pits Argentina Against Germany World's Tallest Water Slide: See It for Yourself Thousands Attend NYC Firefighter's Funeral Connecticut Boy Dies Inside Parked Car 'Game of Thrones' Leads Emmy Nominees Raw: Australia Hosts Annual Beer Can Regatta Obama Talks Economy, Slams Republicans Fans Dying to Be Near Jazz Greats Obama Talks Economy, Slams Republicans
NDN Video
Tiny Hamsters Who Ate Burritos are Back for a Tiny Hedgehog's Party Watch Kelly Ripa Get Soaked! 'Referee' Hands Out Yellow Cards for Social Faux Pas in NYC 2014 Emmy Nominees: 8 Snub Shockers Emma Watson Is Va-Va-Voom in Valentino 7 Infamous Sports Blowouts Argentina tops Holland in World Cup semifinals News flush: Japanese toilet exhibition making a splash Emmy Nominations: What to Watch For 'Game of Thrones' Leads 66th Emmy Awards Nominations Photographic 'Proof' That LeBron Is Leaving Miami - @TheBuzzeronFOX Elephant Pool Party at The Oregon Zoo Must-See! Berry and Fallon Form Human Hamster Wheel Pilot buys pizzas for travelers delayed by storm Klose nets record, Germany rout Brazil 7-1 'Purrmanently Sad Cat' Looks Adorably Sad All the Time Pharrell 'humbled' by success of mega-hit 'Happy' Day After: Brazil Reeling in WC Loss Jennifer Lawrence Facepalms Emma Watson Athletes Bare All for ESPN Magazine's Body Issue
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
  • -

     

    March 12, 2010

activity