News From Terre Haute, Indiana

Opinion

May 18, 2010

STEPHANIE SALTER: If you see a bicyclist all in orange, wish him peace and a safe journey

TERRE HAUTE — Dressed from turban to hem in bright orange, the bearded monk sat in a guest chair in my office and began to sing St. Francis of Assisi’s “Canticle of St. Damian.” His voice was soft and his countenance equally gentle.

Listen, little poor ones called by the Lord/ Who have come together from many parts and provinces/ Live always in the truth, that you may die in obedience/ Do not look at life outside/ For that of the Spirit is better.

The monk, Dada Vima, didn’t sing in English. He sang the 800-year-old words in his own native Italian, keeping the tempo with little nods of his head. When he finished a couple of verses, he smiled broadly and waved his hand to indicate that Francis had written a good deal more, but at least I’d been given an idea of the tune, yes?

The song and two-hour visit to the Tribune-Star was just another rest stop on Dada Vima’s latest journey.

To Nicaragua.

By bicycle.

In more than 35 years of newspapering, I have lost count of the number of times the phone on my desk has rung and someone on the other end tells me there is a person downstairs who is walking, running, sailing or bicycling a long distance, alone, for some element of the greater good.

Invariably, my instinct is to avoid the traveler or try to pass him off to a colleague. Too busy, you know. Working on something else. Need to get to lunch or home.

Just as invariably, though, I ask a few questions, begin to take notes, then something in the person’s story grabs me and I surrender with an “OK, OK. Come on up. I’ll try to find a photographer.” Never have I been sorry I surrendered.

Dada Vima got me when he told me how much his bike cost.

Riding from Columbus, Ohio, to Managua, Nicaragua, he needed a pretty sturdy rig, I figured. “What kind of bike do you have?” I asked.

“I bought it for $20 in Columbus,” he said, with the first of many merry giggles. “I think that might tell you something about my bike.”

OK. OK. Come on up.

The reasons people walk, run, sail or bike, alone, over great distances are as different as people themselves. Dada Vima’s aim on his Herculean bicycle journey is to raise consciousness about his spiritual path and the communal nature of humanity, how we’re all in this together and we need to take care of one another.

Dada Vima was born in Torino, Italy, 50 years ago, raised as a Roman Catholic, but became a monk around the age of 30 in the spiritual sect Ananda Marga. The movement was founded in India in 1955 by Shri Prabhat Ranjan Sarkar. According to its lengthy Wikipedia entry and other Internet sites, Ananda Marga now has adherents in 160 countries.

Dada Vima politely declined to tell me his given name, explaining that Ananda Marga monks and nuns essentially sever their relationship with their original family to “embrace the bigger family” of humanity. Otherwise, they could not be free to devote their lives to meditation, to expanding and liberating their minds through suffering and by facing their deepest fears, and to spending their days in service to people and a better world.

The turn for Dada Vima began in 1989 when he was profoundly disturbed by television images from the Tiananmen Square uprising. Somehow, there had to be a peaceful, loving way to counteract such brutality, misunderstanding and oppression. An admired yoga teacher in Florence told him about meditation and the Ananda Marga approach to it. One thing led to another, and “after four years’ time from the decision to materialization,” he became a monk.

His winding path has taken him to many places, geographical, psychological and spiritual. He said his appreciation for Jesus and the Bible has increased exponentially through his Ananda Marga perspective. Personally, he believes in reincarnation, but the notion of a heaven is “irrelevant” to him.

When I asked what is the hardest part of his chosen monk’s path, he smiled and said, “To stay on it.”

Dada Vima has been to Managua before, about five years ago. The Ananda Margas maintain a small school there for poor children. The last time he visited, however, it was not by bicycle, and he carried four late-1990s-era iMacs that had been donated to the school.

“Just like these,” he said, pointing to the old aqua clamshell iMacs most of us work on here at the newspaper. “They were not very easy to get through the Customs.”

With his long salt-and-pepper beard, the turban and ankle-length, skirted monk’s habit, Dada Vima is well-acquainted with Customs and airport security agents.

“I’m used to it,” he said of being pulled from a security line for interview and inspection. “I never oppose what they are doing to me. People who work in security have enough intuition to know soon that I’m a harmless person.”

Rather than resent or fear police, he said, he respects the work they do “trying to keep the peace in society … Whenever I am in trouble, anywhere, I always ask the police for help.”

On his way to Terre Haute along U.S. 40 (in a rainstorm), he said a driver pulled alongside and asked him who he was and where he was going. When he told him, the driver asked if he realized he was near a correctional facility (Putnamville), in which the prisoners wear the same color of orange as Dada Vima wears.

“He said the police might stop me because they think I am a prisoner who escaped,” he said. “I am not worried.”

Dada Vima also is accustomed to being called “Taliban!” by passing drivers or people on the street.

“Whenever that happens, I always ask them for directions to the library,” he said. “That changes them. They see my humanity. They are no longer afraid.”

Even for a monk, Dada Vima is traveling light to Nicaragua. Besides the fat-tired, five-speed, fenderless Huffy bike, he has a spare pair of shoes and a backpack with the following in it: a change of clothes, two changes of underwear, a sparsely stocked dop kit — but with Super Glue, in case his glasses break — a tire repair kit, an Indian towel that he also uses as a meditation rug, granola bars, a cell phone and charger, a list of all the contact information of each host on every stop of his trip, and a cache of CDs of Ananda holy chant music to be given to people along the way.

But for a couple of stops, Dada Vima knows each place he will stay and with whom — people who have confirmed as hosts on the national Web sites, warmshowers.org and couchsurfing.org. Every day, he tries to launder his clothes so he can “remain presentable even though I travel by bike.” Riding no more than 80 miles per day — “I’m not a professional biker” — he expects to make it to Managua by the end of July.

Whatever he is doing for money, I have no idea. Dada Vima didn’t bring up the subject and neither did I. Although he gave me one of the chant CDs, all that he accepted from me was a cup of tea and 20 minutes of privacy so he could meditate on the floor of my office.

Easily the gentlest, happiest soul to whom I’ve ever said, “OK. OK. Come on up,” he and his journey may be followed at dadavima.blogspot.com.



Stephanie Salter can be reached at 9812) 231-4229 or stephanie.salter@tribstar.com.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • EDITORIAL: A green idea worth pursuing

    It sounds like a blue-ribbon idea.

    July 9, 2014

  • READERS' FORUM: July 10, 2014

    • Herb Faire a great success

    • Appreciation for a ‘lovely angel’

    • Thanks for stirring fireworks show

    July 9, 2014

  • tstribunestar EDITORIAL: Be safe, be responsible

    The Independence Day weekend brought a brief respite in construction work on area roadways. In particular, it provided needed relief to the congested segment of Interstate 70 in Clay County that is undergoing resurfacing this summer.

    July 8, 2014 1 Photo

  • Readers’ Forum: July 9, 2014

    • Don’t eliminate our six-day mail

    • Zamperini death stirs memories

    July 8, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Black Dog

    We had some excitement around our house the other day and it was not the good kind.
    There was a small dog, black in color with a spiked collar on his neck, and he was the spitting image of a small Doberman. I don’t know if they have miniature Dobermans but this dog could have been a mixed breed that came out looking like a Doberman although smaller.

    July 8, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 8, 2014

    • T-S ignores common decency

    • Lighten up on Donald Sterling

    • Time to reject Dems in Congress

    Fueling the EPA

    July 7, 2014

  • MS. TAKES: Great music is made during all generations

    Number Two son tells us that his 20-year-old son has been listening to “Big Band” music with apparent enjoyment. As if that wasn’t enough of a surprise, I was talking with a young girl, barely out of her teens and she told us that she really wasn’t into rap. She said, “It isn’t really music, it’s just talk.”

    July 7, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 7, 2014

    • The moral issue is major issue

    July 6, 2014

  • tstribunestar Editorial: City financial health demands an open, honest discussion

    Obscured by the recent rift over use of departmental funds in the city of Terre Haute’s budget are serious issues related to our city government’s overall financial health. The answers may be mired in the complexity of municipal finance, but coming to grips with the situation is important to the city’s future.

    July 6, 2014 1 Photo

  • Readers’ Forum: July 6, 2014

    • Coats ignoring climate science

    • Do those mustache posters exist?

    • Utility rate freeze took determination

    • What perversion is next in line?

    • Opinions vary, but voters will decide

    • This preaching must stop — now

    • Golf fundraiser a huge success

    July 6, 2014

  • Flashpoint: State’s lawyer has duty to represent state in marriage lawsuit appeal

    Recent federal court actions that first struck down Indiana’s statute limiting marriage to the traditional definition, and then stayed that order pending appeal, have left many in our state in legal limbo. As the attorney who represents state government and defends its laws, I know this difficult case stirs many people’s deeply held beliefs that touch their lives in very personal ways. Not since my office had to represent the state in lawsuits arising from the State Fair disaster has a dispute been so seemingly impossible to address in a way that the public would accept as being fair to all concerned.

    July 6, 2014

  • Flashpoint: The Supreme Court decision and ‘closely held’ corporations

    The much awaited Supreme Court decision in Burwell vs. Hobby Lobby came down this week. The court ruled in a 5-4 decision that the 1993 Religious Freedom and Restoration Act (RFRA) does cover “closely held” corporations, even if those corporations are for profit.

    July 6, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Learning more about Jefferson

    During this Fourth of July weekend, I’ll be reading John Meacham’s biography of Thomas Jefferson.

    July 4, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Celebrate your independence

    “We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.”
    As eloquent and declaratory as that statement is, implementing its principles has been a decades-long pursuit for these United States of America. Our nation, it seems, is the quintessential work in progress, even though what this country has created in terms of a stable, collective society is, let’s face it, pretty darn good.

    July 3, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 4, 2014

    July 3, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: The Men Who Made the Country

    The Fourth of July is the day we celebrate our independence from Great Britain. It reminds me of something David Ben-Gurion would say, at a much later date, about British rule: “If you have to have a master, the British are about as good at it as anybody.” Of course, we really don’t need a master.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • MET 033114 GREG ZOELLER MUG.jpg GREG ZOELLER: State’s lawyer has duty to represent state in marriage lawsuit appeal

    Recent federal court actions that first struck down Indiana’s statute limiting marriage to the traditional definition, and then stayed that order pending appeal, have left many in our state in legal limbo.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • Readers’ Forum: July 3, 2014

    • Over the top on immigration

    July 2, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: HIP 2.0 gives consumers better choices

    On Wednesday, the State of Indiana submitted its proposal for the Healthy Indiana Plan 2.0 to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

    July 2, 2014

  • Gov. Mike Pence (R, Ind.) MIKE PENCE: HIP 2.0 gives consumers better choices

    Today, the state of Indiana submitted its proposal for the Healthy Indiana Plan 2.0 to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
    If approved, the Healthy Indiana Plan 2.0 would replace traditional Medicaid for low-income, able-bodied Hoosier adults. Unlike traditional Medicaid, which is government-driven, HIP 2.0 is consumer-driven.

    July 2, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Texting law serves safety

    July 1 each year marks the day in Indiana when new laws take effect. But rather than focus on new laws today, let’s observe the anniversary of a law that went on the books three years ago this month — the law that barred texting while driving.

    July 1, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 2, 2014

    July 1, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Cats

    Looking at the situation as a whole, the adopted cats, plus one, seem to be doing OK. The boys, Magic and Mellow, like to roam occasionally, which causes some consternation when they are gone for a long time.

    July 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Oldtime fans will never give up on the Cubbies

    My Best Friend claims to be the world’s oldest living Cubs fan. I am willing to take him at his word, but surely there is some long-lived fan out there in the right field bleachers who would dispute his claim.

    June 30, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 1, 2014

    • Defying the laws of God
    • Correcting the written record
    • Hands of $$ from Redevelopment
    • Celebrity visit for celebration

    June 30, 2014

  • Flashpoint: New Healthy Indiana Plan our best option

    Some state-run health care exchanges — the brainchild of the Affordable Care Act (ACA) — have gotten off to a rocky start, to the point that they are turning to the federal government to pick up the pieces. Indiana’s decision to try to expand the already-existing Healthy Indiana Plan (HIP) in lieu of an exchange seems a more prudent choice every day.

    June 30, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: June 30, 2014

    • Don’t be victim of home repair scam
    • Ending unfair tax practices

    June 29, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: For kids, an immediate need

    If you agree that not much is sadder — and potentially more unsettling to our society — than a child torn from his or her home, here is a way you can make a difference, one kid at a time.

    June 28, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: June 29, 2014

    • The sexual revolution strikes again
    • Country sinks to new lows
    • Saddened by the headlines
    • Opinions not same as facts
    • Letter meets with approval
    • The real ‘truth’ sometimes hurts
    • Applause for great musical
    • Raising minimum wage hurts us
    • Gratitude to camp sponsors
    • More to the city’s mosquito problem

    June 28, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: Planned Parenthood’s dangerous sex coaching not worthy of funding

    Planned Parenthood of Indiana and Kentucky’s CEO, Betty Cockrum, recently waged a public relations campaign in newspapers across the state. Cockrum touted the need for Planned Parenthood’s version of sex education for Hoosier teens.

    June 28, 2014

Latest News
TribStar.com Poll
AP Video
Police: Prostitute Accused in Overdose Death Raw: Rocket Explodes Over Israeli Wedding Day After: Brazil Reeling in WC Loss Weaver Reprises Ripley Role for 'Alien' Game Raw: Brazil Fans Cry After World Cup Loss Raw: World's Tallest Water Slide Opens Thursday Raw: Stampede in Rio During World Cup Sterling Testifies in Los Angeles Clippers Trial Raw: 10-year Sentence for Ex-New Orleans Mayor Tornadoes Kill Four in Central New York Track Owners Fight to End Greyhound Racing Raw: Obama Shoots Pool in Denver Obama Talks Economy, Slams Republicans Typhoon Nears Japan's Main Islands Raw: Palestinians Clash With Israeli Forces Mississippi River Flooding Likely to Slow Down Wisconsin Cop Ready to Roll...On Skateboard Cleveland Picked to Host 2016 GOP Convention Today in History for July 9th Former NFL Player 'Excited' Deal Almost Done
NDN Video
Elephant Pool Party at The Oregon Zoo Must-See! Berry and Fallon Form Human Hamster Wheel Pilot buys pizzas for travelers delayed by storm Klose nets record, Germany rout Brazil 7-1 'Purrmanently Sad Cat' Looks Adorably Sad All the Time Pharrell 'humbled' by success of mega-hit 'Happy' Day After: Brazil Reeling in WC Loss Jennifer Lawrence Facepalms Emma Watson Athletes Bare All for ESPN Magazine's Body Issue Raw: Brazil Fans Leaving Stadium Before Half Andi Dorfman Walks Out During the Rose Ceremony 5 Firework Fails for July 4th Justin Bieber Catches Tom Hanks Getting Down, Showing ‘How We Do It Big shoes to fill for Brazil ahead of Germany clash Man's 'Potato Salad' Plea Takes Off on Kickstarter Joan Rivers Storms Out of Interview Watch: A turtle and dog play ball Yikes! This Jet is Way Too Close Late-Night Highlight: Ben Falcone Screwed Up His Proposal To Melissa McCarthy Jenny and Sherri Talk "View" Departure
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
  • -

     

    March 12, 2010

activity