News From Terre Haute, Indiana

Opinion

October 28, 2010

STEPHANIE SALTER: The black and orange clothes are not about Halloween

TERRE HAUTE — If I seem a little strange during the next week or so, cut me some slack. I’ve got a severe case of Giants Fever and am not quite myself.

Lest anyone misunderstand, I am not talking about the New York Giants football team. I’m talking about the National League Championship San Francisco Giants, who are in the 2010 World Series of baseball with the Texas Rangers.

Instead of the fairly dispassionate observer of professional sports I tend to be, I have been plunged by the Giants into the throes of fandom. I am exhibiting behavior I normally frown upon — specifically, living vicariously through the physical feats of well-paid male athletes and engaging in such activities as festooning myself in the team’s colors and wearing a pair of “lucky” earrings I made several years ago out of two San Francisco Municipal Railway tokens.

When the Giants clinched the NLCS late Saturday night in Philadelphia, I sat in front of my small television, smacking the heels of my hands together and whisper-shouting, “The Giants win the pennant! The Giants win the pennant! The Giants win the pennant! The Giants win the pennant!” Four times. Just the way Russ Hodges yelled into his radio broadcast microphone in 1951, when Bobby Thomson hit the shot heard ’round the world to beat the Brooklyn Dodgers and ensure that, indeed, the Giants did win the pennant.

I was heel-of-hand clapping and whisper-shouting because it was nearly midnight and my fiancé was asleep in another room. Bill’s sweet, old dog was my only conscious company, and he raised his head from the floor, blinking in confusion at the sudden outburst of activity from the sofa. As a nod to his age, I refrained from making him dance with me.

Then I got on the phone and called several friends in San Francisco, where it was only 9 p.m. Like me, all had watched in agony — pitch by pitch, at-bat by at-bat, out by out — as the Giants managed to hang on and wreck the World Series hopes of the Phillies and their loyal fans. In the background of our calls, I could hear fireworks, car horns and sirens going off all over the City by the Bay.

Thanks to conservative politicians and much of the news media, a lot of Americans think they know plenty about San Francisco. They focus on the occasional weird ordinance passed by the Board of Supervisors, the city’s annual gay pride day celebration, the ghosts of Haight-Ashbury and the Summer of Love, and the entire region’s high tolerance for self-expression.

Meanwhile, reality is a different and much more nuanced picture. Mutli-ethnic though its citizens may be, San Francisco is decidedly a United States city, small by comparison in size (49 square miles) and population (about 800,000) with Los Angeles, New York, Chicago and Phoenix.

People who live in the city pay taxes (lots of them), shop at chain supermarkets, attend religious services, show up at their kids’ school recitals and soccer tournaments, visit friends in the hospital, watch “Dancing with the Stars,” shop for bargain clothes, vow to lose weight and exercise more, play video games, drink beer, eat apple pie and follow high school, college and professional sports.

When the Giants or NFL 49ers make it into post-season play, San Francisco shrinks even more and becomes like a small town. Jobs are worked around game schedules, babies are dressed in team jerseys, homemade banners are hung from third-floor apartment buildings, businesses give away promotional tchotchke and ministers offer prayers for victory.

In other words, over the past few weeks, San Francisco has been just like any other American city with a team in contention for the big prize — and I have been among the many fans on the bus.

When TV cameras pan the crowd in what the locals call “Telephone Park” — so named because its communications industry sponsorship keeps changing — I look for people I know. When the focus switches to the blimp-cam to sweep the skyline or San Francisco Bay, I can smell the air and hear the traffic grinding on the nearby Bay Bridge.

When a close-up shot comes in on longtime Giants clubhouse manager Mike Murphy, I get a regulation-size major league hard ball lodged in my throat.

I have known Murph for 35 years. An ex-cop, he was an eager assistant when I was covering the Giants (and Oakland A’s) during my early years as a San Francisco sportswriter. Now, he is the eminence grise of the club.

Born and raised in the city, Murph started as a batboy with the old San Francisco Seals of the Pacific Coast League and continued in that capacity for the Giants when they moved west from New York in 1958. In 1960, he became the visitors’ clubhouse attendant for the Giants’ then-new home, Candlestick Park, and has been clubhouse manager for the team since 1980.

Reflective of his status — and the Giants’ front-office value system — Murph has a pub in Telephone/AT&T Park named after him.

Along with team president Larry Baer and general manager Brian Sabean, Murph is one of the few human elements of the team who have some years in the city under their belts. None of the current players was on the roster the last time the Giants were in the playoffs, in 2003. All but four guys have joined the squad since 2007.

That new, Barry Bonds-free makeup is just one of the many things about the 2010 Giants I like. Some other things are that catcher Buster Posey began the year in Triple A, that the handsome left fielder Pat Burrell became a Giant only in May after Tampa cut him loose, and that the club was in fourth place in the NL West at the All-Star Break.

To tell the truth, there isn’t anything I don’t like about the Giants. I don’t care if they can’t steal bases, hit copious grand slams or rack up (and hold) wide leads through nine innings to give their fans a break once in awhile from the usual torture. I love their who’s-that-guy starting lineup, Pablo Sandoval’s weight problem and the entire bullpen. Tim Lincecum I could watch pitch every day for the next 50 years and not get bored.

In fact, I like the Giants so much, I don’t care if they win the World Series. All I ask is that they play the kind of baseball that got them here. If they do win, I promise you, Giants Fever will make me crazy enough this time to dance with the dog.

Stephanie Salter can be reached at (812) 231-4229 or stephanie.salter@tribstar.com.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Ronn Mott: Gaza 2014 — hatred lives on

    The rockets’ red glares have turned Gaza, part of the Palestinian authority, into a battleground with Hamas, a legislative terrorist organization that has been stockpiling armaments to use against Israel for years.

    July 25, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 25, 2014

    July 24, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: The Czar of Russia

    If you are expecting Vladimir Putin, President of the Russian Republic, to react to the crisis in the Ukraine as an ordinary elected official, think again. Even though Putin is the President of the Russian Republic, this is not the job he wants. Putin also doesn’t want to be the chairman of a newly resurrected Communist Party in Russia. No, what he wants is to be the czar of a greater Russia.

    July 24, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 24, 2014

    • Clinic will expand basic health access
    • Misunderstanding truth about Islam

    July 23, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Work program needs industry buy-in

    Good help is hard to find. That’s essentially what Indiana companies have insisted for several years. The state struggles with a “skills gap,” the firms explain. They need employees, but can’t find enough — or in some cases, any — qualified Hoosiers. Businesses say too few applicants possess the “soft skills,” such as showing up for work on time or being able to effectively communicate with co-workers.

    July 22, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 23, 2014

    July 22, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Dragonfly

    The other morning I was moving the canister that holds our recycling material out to the curb when I saw a strange sight. What I saw was a dragonfly fighting with a bee.

    July 22, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: News about reality, not affirmation

    The public’s trust in the news media keeps dwindling. At the same time, Americans’ political polarization keeps increasing.

    July 21, 2014

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Chickens as pets always turned out same way

    I suppose many of us who grew up on farms or in small towns adopted unusual pets. I had a fondness for chickens. My folks always kept a few chickens, not only to fry or roast, but also for the eggs.

    July 21, 2014

  • Readers’ forum: July 22, 2014

    • Supt. Ritz has right to govern
    • A tribute to a teacher
    • Rep. Pelosi shows ‘bungling idiocy’

    July 21, 2014

  • Readers’ forum: July 21, 2014

    • Theater brings the joy of music
    • Drawing closer to the spirit
    • Give some space to heterosexuals

    July 20, 2014

  • LovellEdwards.JPG MARK BENNETT: Former Terre Hautean Jim Lovell stood ready as Neil Armstrong’s backup on Apollo 11

    The words “Apollo 11” stir optimism in me.
    I was an elementary school kid growing up in Vigo County when Neil Armstrong put the first footprint on the moon on July 20, 1969. So much seemed possible

    July 20, 2014 1 Photo 4 Stories

  • EDITORIAL: Vigo Jail study essential to determine strategy

    It comes as encouraging news that the Vigo County Council might include in its 2015 budget significant funding for an expert and neutral study of what can be done to replace or enhance the existing county jail.

    July 20, 2014

  • Readers’ forum: July 20, 2014

    • ‘Hotel Indiana’ has a sour tune

    • Kind words about the newspaper

    • Some questions about RTL video

    • No mercy for cop killers

    • Crack down on gun violence

    • Anti-Dem tirades mask GOP failures

    • Important day for participants

    • Appreciation for support

    July 20, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: Solve our border crisis

    More than 60,000 unaccompanied alien children — mostly from Guatemala, Honduras and El Salvador — have been apprehended on America’s southern border during this fiscal year.

    July 20, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: World Cup over, but it was fun

    After many weeks and many games, the World Cup is over. While the world calls it “futbol,” only we in North America play another brand of football. It is very simple to understand why this is the world’s favorite game … all it takes is an empty lot, a round soccer ball, and you can get a futbol game together.

    July 18, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: Living in peaceful communities requires collaboration

    Hoosiers have the right to live in peace. Yet, too many of our friends and neighbors are currently living in fear.

    July 18, 2014

  • Flashpoint: Will Gov. Pence be true to his word?

    This is written in response to recent remarks made by State Board of Education members.

    July 17, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 18, 2014

    July 17, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Presidential Ambush

    No wild-west ambush, either real or fiction, has been as successful as the ambush on President Barack Obama.

    July 17, 2014

  • READERS’ FORUM: July 17, 2014

    • Civil rights and burning cities

    • Quality service from Baesler’s

    July 16, 2014

  • FLAHSPOINT: Supt. Glenda Ritz ‘creating conflict’

    It has been my pleasure for the past year to serve as the newest member of the Indiana State Board of Education. I bring a fresh perspective to the board as an attorney and business executive who served as Director of Economic Development under former Indianapolis Mayor Bart Peterson and President of the Indy Partnership, a regional economic development organization charged with recruiting new companies to our state.

    July 16, 2014

  • tstribunestar Editorial: Continuing the standard

    U.S. Attorney Joe Hogsett has raised the profile of his federally appointed position more than any individual to hold the job in decades. From the start, he was a man on a mission, and often that mission was focused on rooting out corruption, maintaining integrity in government and pursuing those who violated the public trust.

    July 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • Readers’ Forum: July 16, 2014

    • The truth about property taxes

    July 15, 2014

  • Letter from BOE member: Superintendent Ritz ‘creating conflict’

    It has been my pleasure for the past year to serve as the newest member of the Indiana State Board of Education. I bring a fresh perspective to the board as an attorney and business executive who served as Director of Economic Development under former Indianapolis Mayor Bart Peterson and President of the Indy Partnership, a regional economic development organization charged with recruiting new companies to our state.

    July 15, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Collett Park

    Saturday at the Park, Collett Park, another beautiful wedding was held. They looked so nice in the warm weather with the Gazebo acting as church sanctuary, I would almost be tempted myself to do it again, and do it outdoors at the Park. No, no, no, not again, even as pretty as it is in the Park on a nice July Saturday.

    July 15, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 15, 2014

    • Are Fed policies hurting America?

    • Staying true to code of respect

    July 14, 2014

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Lots we did not have in those good ol’ days

    In my thankful moments, I’m glad I was not my grandmother’s daughter. I would miss the modern conveniences.

    July 14, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Legal marriages should be honored

    An eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.

    July 13, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 14, 2014

    • Where did the 61 cents go?

    July 13, 2014

Latest News
TribStar.com Poll
AP Video
Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Raw: Iowa Police Dash Cam Shows Wild Chase Gaza Residents Mourn Dead Amid Airstrikes Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Kerry: No Deal Yet on 7-Day Gaza Truce Dempsey: Putin May Light Fire and Lose Control Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Raw: Air Algerie Crash Site in Mali Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive Cumberbatch Brings 'Penguins' to Comic-Con Police: Doctor Who Shot Gunman 'Saved Lives' Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Israeli American Reservist Torn Over Return
NDN Video
Big Weekend For Atlanta Braves In Cooperstown - @TheBuzzeronFox Chapter Two: Becoming a first-time director What's Got Jack Black Freaking Out at Comic-Con? Doctors Remove 232 Teeth From Teen's Mouth Bradley Cooper Explains His Voice in 'Guardians of the Galaxy' Deja vu: Another NYPD officer choke-holding a suspect 'Fifty Shades of Grey': Watch the Super Sexy First Trailer Now! Reports: Ravens RB Ray Rice Suspended For 1st 2 Games Of The Season Air Algerie plane with 119 on board missing over Mali Diamond Stone, Malik Newman, Josh Jackson and others showcase talent Free Arturo - The World's Saddest Polar Bear A Look Back at Batman On Film Through The Years LeBron James -- Dropped $2k On Cupcake Apology ... Proceeds To Benefit Charity Snoop Dogg Says He Smoked Weed at the White House Raw: Fight Breaks Out in Ukraine Parliament Chris Pratt Interrupts Interview To French Braid Intern's Hair Shirtless Super Mario Balotelli Dances While Ironing - @TheBuzzeronFOX Whoa! Watch "Housewives" Star Do the Unthinkable LeBron apologizes to neighbors with cupcakes Justin Bieber In Calvin Klein Underwear Shoot
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
  • -

     

    March 12, 2010

activity