News From Terre Haute, Indiana

Opinion

November 9, 2013

MARK BENNETT: A degree of success

Determination to get that diploma Bird’s deepest bond with fellow ISU alums, students

TERRE HAUTE — A statue of Larry Bird now stands outside Hulman Center, dedicated this weekend.

It depicts him wearing his No. 33 Indiana State Sycamores uniform and displays his rare, famed gift — wizardry with a basketball. “One of the four or five greatest players ever,” rival and friend Magic Johnson once said.

Bird’s stats, court exploits, confidence and practice ethic are part of Hoosier and American hoops lore. He took a school previously disregarded by the college basketball elite to the game’s pinnacle — the fabled 1979 NCAA championship game vs. Johnson’s Michigan State Spartans — with the Sycamores sporting an improbable 33-0 record and the No. 1 national ranking. That’s why they call him Larry Legend. Perhaps no other player ever could’ve accomplished such a thing.

Most of us can’t relate to that achievement, no matter how great we thought we were in high school or on the neighborhood courts. It seems other-worldly.

Bird succeeded at something else in 1979, though, and that achievement is something every current ISU student and thousands of young kids, dads and moms, grandpas and grandmas all across the state can match. The statue doesn’t overtly portray this feat, although artist Bill Wolfe did sculpt Bird in his senior season form. That circumstance is significant. Bird was drafted by the NBA’s Boston Celtics as a junior, but chose to play as a senior and finish his bachelor’s degree.

He entered ISU in 1975, sat out that first season of Sycamore basketball after transferring from Indiana University (it’s an NCAA rule), continued taking classes as a physical education major and playing through the following three incredible seasons, completed his student teaching in the spring of ’79 at West Vigo High School and graduated.

Many would say, “Well, good for Larry, but why single him out for praise in that area? After all, thousands of people earn degrees from Indiana State every year.”

And that’s the point. That statue, in more subtle style, also represents the niche that ISU has long carried and undoubtedly longs to retain. The university offers higher education to many, many first-generation college students. In other words, they are folks who’ll become the first in their family to receive a bachelor’s degree. Believe it or not, that goal mattered greatly to Bird, just as it does to scores of his fellow ISU alums. The allure of the NBA was tempting, but remember, as a junior, Bird’s pro potential remained in doubt among NBA insiders. It wasn’t on his radar, then.

“At that time, I don’t think I had spent two minutes in my life thinking about playing in the pros,” Bird wrote in his autobiography, “Drive: The Story of My Life.” “I just liked college life and had no desire to leave school.”

He, of course, returned in the fall, led ISU to the NCAA Final in March, and then turned down NBA money for school once more. Celtics president Red Auerbach — who’d gambled a first-round draft pick on the small-school phenom a year earlier — offered Bird the unheard-of opportunity to immediately join the Celtics after the Sycamores’ NCAA run ended. (Auerbach assumed ISU would lose in the early rounds, which irritated Bird.) Larry said, “No,” again, and remained committed to starting his student teaching job at West Vigo, graduating, and then going off to fame and fortune in Boston.

In that order.

And he did just that.

In a 1998 interview, former West Vigo coaches Dick Ballinger and Bob Burton recalled how Bird immersed himself in the final piece of his college experience — student teaching. He taught classes in phys-ed and driver’s ed, and served as an assistant baseball coach, and eagerly mowed and lined the field. Burton once overheard Bird talking with his agent Bob Woolf by telephone from the coaches’ office. “Larry was supposed to have some kind of meeting in Indianapolis, but I heard him tell Woolf, ‘I have a B-team baseball game to coach in Bloomington tonight, and that’s my first obligation,’” Burton recalled. Woolf sent a Lear jet to Bloomington to pick up Bird, afterward.

On a handful of occasions, Bird supervised a class of special-needs kids at the high school. “It was an unbelievable experience,” Bird said in the book, “When the Game Was Ours,” written by Jackie MacMullan. “I can’t tell you how much respect I have for people who made it their life’s work to help those kids.”

By that May, Bird was the College Player of the Year, a millionaire-to-be, and a graduate of Indiana State University.

“I was so excited I remember running home and showing off my diploma to everyone, especially to Mom and Granny,” Bird explained in “Drive.” “Mom had always told me that she wanted me to be the first person from either side of our family to get a college degree, and I had done it!”

Thirty-four years later, his alma mater is focused on bolstering its graduation rates. Currently, 21 percent of full-time ISU freshmen get degrees within four years, and 41 percent within six years. ISU President Dan Bradley has set goals to raise the four-year rate to 30 percent and the six-year rate to 50 percent by 2017. Such a big increase may seem to be a lofty goal. Yet, to the thousands of young people who come to Indiana State every year, that goal is their motivation, and their chance to give their family — many of modest means — something special.

In that respect, the new statue on campus contains a small piece of every Sycamore graduate who shares Bird’s final college achievement.

Mark Bennett can be reached at 812-231-4377 or mark.bennett@tribstar.com.

 

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • RONN MOTT: Troubled history in that place called Iraq

    People are dying, again, in Iraq. And, again, people other than Iraqis will ultimately make the decision about what happens to this ancient land.

    July 11, 2014

  • Editorial: The Bennett ‘settlement’

    It takes a special kind of arrogance to flout ethics laws in the manner which former state Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Bennett has violated them. Even when he finally admitted his transgressions, he claimed he could have avoided the matter altogether had he just changed the department’s ethics policy before engaging in the troublesome conduct.
    In essence, this was the old “mistakes were made” acknowledgment of wrongdoing. And the real mistake to which Bennett admits was apparently not changing the rules before he violated them. This is a truly Nixonian moment.

    July 10, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 11, 2014

    July 10, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: That Old Man River

    I was surprised to learn the people in Cairo are now taking water taxis to avoid the traffic, the confusion and the dangers that are appearing on Cairo, Egypt’s, streets. I mean, I was surprised the people in Cairo, these native Egyptians, were surprised they could take a water taxi and get to where they wanted to go using the Nile River as a highway. So, for the Egyptians living in Cairo, everything old is brand new again.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A green idea worth pursuing

    It sounds like a blue-ribbon idea.

    July 9, 2014

  • READERS' FORUM: July 10, 2014

    • Herb Faire a great success

    • Appreciation for a ‘lovely angel’

    • Thanks for stirring fireworks show

    July 9, 2014

  • tstribunestar EDITORIAL: Be safe, be responsible

    The Independence Day weekend brought a brief respite in construction work on area roadways. In particular, it provided needed relief to the congested segment of Interstate 70 in Clay County that is undergoing resurfacing this summer.

    July 8, 2014 1 Photo

  • Readers’ Forum: July 9, 2014

    • Don’t eliminate our six-day mail

    • Zamperini death stirs memories

    July 8, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Black Dog

    We had some excitement around our house the other day and it was not the good kind.
    There was a small dog, black in color with a spiked collar on his neck, and he was the spitting image of a small Doberman. I don’t know if they have miniature Dobermans but this dog could have been a mixed breed that came out looking like a Doberman although smaller.

    July 8, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 8, 2014

    • T-S ignores common decency

    • Lighten up on Donald Sterling

    • Time to reject Dems in Congress

    Fueling the EPA

    July 7, 2014

  • MS. TAKES: Great music is made during all generations

    Number Two son tells us that his 20-year-old son has been listening to “Big Band” music with apparent enjoyment. As if that wasn’t enough of a surprise, I was talking with a young girl, barely out of her teens and she told us that she really wasn’t into rap. She said, “It isn’t really music, it’s just talk.”

    July 7, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 7, 2014

    • The moral issue is major issue

    July 6, 2014

  • tstribunestar Editorial: City financial health demands an open, honest discussion

    Obscured by the recent rift over use of departmental funds in the city of Terre Haute’s budget are serious issues related to our city government’s overall financial health. The answers may be mired in the complexity of municipal finance, but coming to grips with the situation is important to the city’s future.

    July 6, 2014 1 Photo

  • Readers’ Forum: July 6, 2014

    • Coats ignoring climate science

    • Do those mustache posters exist?

    • Utility rate freeze took determination

    • What perversion is next in line?

    • Opinions vary, but voters will decide

    • This preaching must stop — now

    • Golf fundraiser a huge success

    July 6, 2014

  • Flashpoint: State’s lawyer has duty to represent state in marriage lawsuit appeal

    Recent federal court actions that first struck down Indiana’s statute limiting marriage to the traditional definition, and then stayed that order pending appeal, have left many in our state in legal limbo. As the attorney who represents state government and defends its laws, I know this difficult case stirs many people’s deeply held beliefs that touch their lives in very personal ways. Not since my office had to represent the state in lawsuits arising from the State Fair disaster has a dispute been so seemingly impossible to address in a way that the public would accept as being fair to all concerned.

    July 6, 2014

  • Flashpoint: The Supreme Court decision and ‘closely held’ corporations

    The much awaited Supreme Court decision in Burwell vs. Hobby Lobby came down this week. The court ruled in a 5-4 decision that the 1993 Religious Freedom and Restoration Act (RFRA) does cover “closely held” corporations, even if those corporations are for profit.

    July 6, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Learning more about Jefferson

    During this Fourth of July weekend, I’ll be reading John Meacham’s biography of Thomas Jefferson.

    July 4, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Celebrate your independence

    “We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.”
    As eloquent and declaratory as that statement is, implementing its principles has been a decades-long pursuit for these United States of America. Our nation, it seems, is the quintessential work in progress, even though what this country has created in terms of a stable, collective society is, let’s face it, pretty darn good.

    July 3, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 4, 2014

    July 3, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: The Men Who Made the Country

    The Fourth of July is the day we celebrate our independence from Great Britain. It reminds me of something David Ben-Gurion would say, at a much later date, about British rule: “If you have to have a master, the British are about as good at it as anybody.” Of course, we really don’t need a master.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • MET 033114 GREG ZOELLER MUG.jpg GREG ZOELLER: State’s lawyer has duty to represent state in marriage lawsuit appeal

    Recent federal court actions that first struck down Indiana’s statute limiting marriage to the traditional definition, and then stayed that order pending appeal, have left many in our state in legal limbo.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • Readers’ Forum: July 3, 2014

    • Over the top on immigration

    July 2, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: HIP 2.0 gives consumers better choices

    On Wednesday, the State of Indiana submitted its proposal for the Healthy Indiana Plan 2.0 to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

    July 2, 2014

  • Gov. Mike Pence (R, Ind.) MIKE PENCE: HIP 2.0 gives consumers better choices

    Today, the state of Indiana submitted its proposal for the Healthy Indiana Plan 2.0 to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
    If approved, the Healthy Indiana Plan 2.0 would replace traditional Medicaid for low-income, able-bodied Hoosier adults. Unlike traditional Medicaid, which is government-driven, HIP 2.0 is consumer-driven.

    July 2, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Texting law serves safety

    July 1 each year marks the day in Indiana when new laws take effect. But rather than focus on new laws today, let’s observe the anniversary of a law that went on the books three years ago this month — the law that barred texting while driving.

    July 1, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 2, 2014

    July 1, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Cats

    Looking at the situation as a whole, the adopted cats, plus one, seem to be doing OK. The boys, Magic and Mellow, like to roam occasionally, which causes some consternation when they are gone for a long time.

    July 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Oldtime fans will never give up on the Cubbies

    My Best Friend claims to be the world’s oldest living Cubs fan. I am willing to take him at his word, but surely there is some long-lived fan out there in the right field bleachers who would dispute his claim.

    June 30, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 1, 2014

    • Defying the laws of God
    • Correcting the written record
    • Hands of $$ from Redevelopment
    • Celebrity visit for celebration

    June 30, 2014

  • Flashpoint: New Healthy Indiana Plan our best option

    Some state-run health care exchanges — the brainchild of the Affordable Care Act (ACA) — have gotten off to a rocky start, to the point that they are turning to the federal government to pick up the pieces. Indiana’s decision to try to expand the already-existing Healthy Indiana Plan (HIP) in lieu of an exchange seems a more prudent choice every day.

    June 30, 2014

Latest News
TribStar.com Poll
AP Video
Joy Fills Streets of Cleveland As LeBron Returns Raw: Rebel Leader Weds in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Israel, Gaza Exchange Rocket Fire Ana Ortiz on 'Devious Maids' Finale Arizona Mom of Missing Baby Released From Prison Police: Prostitute Linked to 2nd Death Texas Shooting Suspect Collapses in Court WH: LeBron's Move a 'Powerful Statement' Proposed Bill to Regulate NY Costumed Characters Diaz and Segel Strip Off for 'Sex Tape' Death Toll Tops 100 As Israel Offense Continues Raw: Protesters, Israeli Security Forces Clash Man Flees Police in World Cup Scalping Scheme Raw: Stunning Timelapse of WC Final Host City Robot Writes Jewish Torah Scroll Raw: Australia Hosts Annual Beer Can Regatta More Immigrants Detained Along Rio Grande LeBron James Says He's Returning to Cavaliers Children Face Deportation Without Attorneys Raw: Airstrike Creates Chaos on Gaza Streets
NDN Video
Cleveland welcomes home LeBron Houston Killer Collapses in Court When Read Capital Murder Charges for Allegedly Killing Family of Six Worst Valet Ever Wrecks $500K Lamborghini Glee Star Becca Tobin's Boyfriend Matt Bendik Found Dead in Hotel Aerial fish restocking in Utah ScarJo Channels Marilyn Monroe Obama Responds to Hecklers on Immigration Tiny Hamsters Who Ate Burritos are Back for a Tiny Hedgehog's Party Watch Kelly Ripa Get Soaked! 'Referee' Hands Out Yellow Cards for Social Faux Pas in NYC 2014 Emmy Nominees: 8 Snub Shockers Emma Watson Is Va-Va-Voom in Valentino 7 Infamous Sports Blowouts Argentina tops Holland in World Cup semifinals News flush: Japanese toilet exhibition making a splash Emmy Nominations: What to Watch For 'Game of Thrones' Leads 66th Emmy Awards Nominations Photographic 'Proof' That LeBron Is Leaving Miami - @TheBuzzeronFOX Elephant Pool Party at The Oregon Zoo Must-See! Berry and Fallon Form Human Hamster Wheel
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
  • -

     

    March 12, 2010

activity