News From Terre Haute, Indiana

Opinion

February 10, 2013

MARK BENNETT: For Glenda Ritz, being educator, ‘not a politician’ still makes good political sense

TERRE HAUTE — Educator, not a politician.

Glenda Ritz emphasizes that distinction about herself. Indeed, last month, Ritz stepped from the classroom — after three decades as a teacher — into the job of Indiana superintendent of public instruction. Yet she won November’s election against controversial but widely known incumbent Tony Bennett by mastering the Teddy Roosevelt theory of political success on her uphill 2012 campaign trail.

“The most successful politician is he who says what the people are thinking most often in the loudest voice,” the Rough Rider president once said.

Ritz didn’t shout down Bennett, a forceful speaker himself. She did, though, voice concerns of at least the 1.3 million Hoosiers who voted for her about the waves of school reforms and high-stakes standardized testing. As a result, this Republican who ran as a Democrat just to challenge Bennett got elected to statewide office while the GOP dominated the Indiana House, Senate and governor’s races.

Politician? Maybe not. But this teacher, fittingly, appears to be a quick study of the political world surrounding her. Ritz’s first three weeks in office reflect her perceptiveness.

Last fall, her criticism of the education agenda of then-Gov. Mitch Daniels, Bennett and their Statehouse allies was tactful yet direct, sometimes sharp. Though Daniels and Bennett no longer are in office, like-minded Republicans remain in power, dominantly, from new Gov. Mike Pence to both chambers of the Legislature and the Board of Education.

In the wake of Bennett’s defeat, they quickly closed party ranks against her. On Day 1 of his administration, Pence used an executive order to shift the state superintendent’s role as supervisor of the Indiana Education Employment Relations Board to the governor. He vowed to preserve the reforms she’d criticized. Likewise, Republicans in the current session of the General Assembly proposed two bills that would dilute the superintendent’s powers.

Her response has been conciliatory, not adversarial. Her style thawed the chill with skeptics. Compromise has happened, even cooperation, particularly on issues where common ground — or, at least, its potential — exists.

In a telephone interview Wednesday, Ritz sounded optimistic about her working relationship with Pence and the Legislature.

“Actually, I’m having very cooperative conversations with both Democrats and Republicans,” she said. “I’m an educator, and I think everybody’s respecting that. They know I’m in a position in which I know a great deal about quality instruction in the classroom. They know I’m a national board-certified teacher. I’m having great conversations about education. I’m not a politician, and I think everybody over here at the Statehouse is acknowledging that and really are embracing a lot of my conceptual projects that I want to put in place.”

For example?

“I want to go from a pass-fail approach in our assessments on ISTEP to a true growth-model measure, so we really know where our students are in reading and writing and math, and how they are progressing,” Ritz said.

Some (but not all) legislators like her outlook on Common Core, a system of uniform curriculum standards that have been adopted in 46 states, including Indiana. Ritz’s predecessor, Bennett, actually pushed for Indiana to adopt Common Core, but conservatives and tea partiers within his own party later pushed back against them when the standards got labeled as a federal encroachment endorsed by President Obama. A Republican state senator sponsored a bill to withdrawn Indiana from Common Core. Ritz opposes such a move, but instead favors a careful analysis of whether Common Core fits Indiana before fully implementing it.

“I do not want to rebuke the Common Core,” she said. “We started transition [to it], and we have transition — [kindergarten and first grade] classrooms are implementing Common Core now. But what I do want to do in 2013 is take a look at our standards, especially in the area of math, because we need to have a good conversation about our delivery of math courses.”

Her idea for a contemplative “pause” in the process is being heard. The Senate Education Committee Chairman, Dennis Kruse, an Auburn Republican, told State Impact Indiana he’s crafting a compromise to the withdraw-from-Common-Core bill. It likely would initiate a series of statewide meetings on the standards, before any changes in the state’s participation.

Kruse also announced his committee would not hear the proposed bills that would strip away the duties of Ritz’s office.

Those bills are political maneuvers. Ritz steers her attention toward those affecting classrooms.

“I’m not keeping track too much of bills for or against,” she said. “I think there’s been a clear message at the Statehouse. In general, people aren’t really interested in limiting my power. They’re interested in what am I going to do to work with the education system and bring about positive change.”

So, when asked whether she supports Pence’s education agenda, Ritz sticks to their common ground.

“I definitely support his career-education agenda,” she said, referring to his plan to upgrade vocational skills training in Hoosier high schools.

The same goes for the major Daniels-era reforms, such as the nation’s largest use of public-funded vouchers for private-school tuition. “I don’t look at anything as ‘rolling back.’ I don’t go back in time,” Ritz said. “… I’m looking at transforming what it is that we had in place.”

Topping her list of transformation projects is the saturation of high-stakes, standardized testing into the day-to-day classroom teaching.

“We’re taking away valuable instructional time from our students. I am going to come from the perspective of what’s right for the classroom,” Ritz said. “If it is negatively affecting the classroom, then we shouldn’t be doing it. And all the testing that we’ve been doing in the state of Indiana is having a negative impact on our instruction in the classroom, so we just have to turn that around. We have to have meaningful assessments that are going to give us just enough data to allow educators and parents to do our job in educating the kids and making sure we’ve got good, quality time in the classroom.”

In a 15-minute interview, Ritz said “classroom” nine times and “education” 13 times. She mentioned politics just twice.

Class dismissed.

Mark Bennett can be reached at 812-231-4377 or mark.bennett@tribstar.com.

 

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Editorial: The Bennett ‘settlement’

    It takes a special kind of arrogance to flout ethics laws in the manner which former state Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Bennett has violated them. Even when he finally admitted his transgressions, he claimed he could have avoided the matter altogether had he just changed the department’s ethics policy before engaging in the troublesome conduct.
    In essence, this was the old “mistakes were made” acknowledgment of wrongdoing. And the real mistake to which Bennett admits was apparently not changing the rules before he violated them. This is a truly Nixonian moment.

    July 10, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 11, 2014

    July 10, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: That Old Man River

    I was surprised to learn the people in Cairo are now taking water taxis to avoid the traffic, the confusion and the dangers that are appearing on Cairo, Egypt’s, streets. I mean, I was surprised the people in Cairo, these native Egyptians, were surprised they could take a water taxi and get to where they wanted to go using the Nile River as a highway. So, for the Egyptians living in Cairo, everything old is brand new again.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A green idea worth pursuing

    It sounds like a blue-ribbon idea.

    July 9, 2014

  • READERS' FORUM: July 10, 2014

    • Herb Faire a great success

    • Appreciation for a ‘lovely angel’

    • Thanks for stirring fireworks show

    July 9, 2014

  • tstribunestar EDITORIAL: Be safe, be responsible

    The Independence Day weekend brought a brief respite in construction work on area roadways. In particular, it provided needed relief to the congested segment of Interstate 70 in Clay County that is undergoing resurfacing this summer.

    July 8, 2014 1 Photo

  • Readers’ Forum: July 9, 2014

    • Don’t eliminate our six-day mail

    • Zamperini death stirs memories

    July 8, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Black Dog

    We had some excitement around our house the other day and it was not the good kind.
    There was a small dog, black in color with a spiked collar on his neck, and he was the spitting image of a small Doberman. I don’t know if they have miniature Dobermans but this dog could have been a mixed breed that came out looking like a Doberman although smaller.

    July 8, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 8, 2014

    • T-S ignores common decency

    • Lighten up on Donald Sterling

    • Time to reject Dems in Congress

    Fueling the EPA

    July 7, 2014

  • MS. TAKES: Great music is made during all generations

    Number Two son tells us that his 20-year-old son has been listening to “Big Band” music with apparent enjoyment. As if that wasn’t enough of a surprise, I was talking with a young girl, barely out of her teens and she told us that she really wasn’t into rap. She said, “It isn’t really music, it’s just talk.”

    July 7, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 7, 2014

    • The moral issue is major issue

    July 6, 2014

  • tstribunestar Editorial: City financial health demands an open, honest discussion

    Obscured by the recent rift over use of departmental funds in the city of Terre Haute’s budget are serious issues related to our city government’s overall financial health. The answers may be mired in the complexity of municipal finance, but coming to grips with the situation is important to the city’s future.

    July 6, 2014 1 Photo

  • Readers’ Forum: July 6, 2014

    • Coats ignoring climate science

    • Do those mustache posters exist?

    • Utility rate freeze took determination

    • What perversion is next in line?

    • Opinions vary, but voters will decide

    • This preaching must stop — now

    • Golf fundraiser a huge success

    July 6, 2014

  • Flashpoint: State’s lawyer has duty to represent state in marriage lawsuit appeal

    Recent federal court actions that first struck down Indiana’s statute limiting marriage to the traditional definition, and then stayed that order pending appeal, have left many in our state in legal limbo. As the attorney who represents state government and defends its laws, I know this difficult case stirs many people’s deeply held beliefs that touch their lives in very personal ways. Not since my office had to represent the state in lawsuits arising from the State Fair disaster has a dispute been so seemingly impossible to address in a way that the public would accept as being fair to all concerned.

    July 6, 2014

  • Flashpoint: The Supreme Court decision and ‘closely held’ corporations

    The much awaited Supreme Court decision in Burwell vs. Hobby Lobby came down this week. The court ruled in a 5-4 decision that the 1993 Religious Freedom and Restoration Act (RFRA) does cover “closely held” corporations, even if those corporations are for profit.

    July 6, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Learning more about Jefferson

    During this Fourth of July weekend, I’ll be reading John Meacham’s biography of Thomas Jefferson.

    July 4, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Celebrate your independence

    “We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.”
    As eloquent and declaratory as that statement is, implementing its principles has been a decades-long pursuit for these United States of America. Our nation, it seems, is the quintessential work in progress, even though what this country has created in terms of a stable, collective society is, let’s face it, pretty darn good.

    July 3, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 4, 2014

    July 3, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: The Men Who Made the Country

    The Fourth of July is the day we celebrate our independence from Great Britain. It reminds me of something David Ben-Gurion would say, at a much later date, about British rule: “If you have to have a master, the British are about as good at it as anybody.” Of course, we really don’t need a master.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • MET 033114 GREG ZOELLER MUG.jpg GREG ZOELLER: State’s lawyer has duty to represent state in marriage lawsuit appeal

    Recent federal court actions that first struck down Indiana’s statute limiting marriage to the traditional definition, and then stayed that order pending appeal, have left many in our state in legal limbo.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • Readers’ Forum: July 3, 2014

    • Over the top on immigration

    July 2, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: HIP 2.0 gives consumers better choices

    On Wednesday, the State of Indiana submitted its proposal for the Healthy Indiana Plan 2.0 to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

    July 2, 2014

  • Gov. Mike Pence (R, Ind.) MIKE PENCE: HIP 2.0 gives consumers better choices

    Today, the state of Indiana submitted its proposal for the Healthy Indiana Plan 2.0 to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
    If approved, the Healthy Indiana Plan 2.0 would replace traditional Medicaid for low-income, able-bodied Hoosier adults. Unlike traditional Medicaid, which is government-driven, HIP 2.0 is consumer-driven.

    July 2, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Texting law serves safety

    July 1 each year marks the day in Indiana when new laws take effect. But rather than focus on new laws today, let’s observe the anniversary of a law that went on the books three years ago this month — the law that barred texting while driving.

    July 1, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 2, 2014

    July 1, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Cats

    Looking at the situation as a whole, the adopted cats, plus one, seem to be doing OK. The boys, Magic and Mellow, like to roam occasionally, which causes some consternation when they are gone for a long time.

    July 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Oldtime fans will never give up on the Cubbies

    My Best Friend claims to be the world’s oldest living Cubs fan. I am willing to take him at his word, but surely there is some long-lived fan out there in the right field bleachers who would dispute his claim.

    June 30, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 1, 2014

    • Defying the laws of God
    • Correcting the written record
    • Hands of $$ from Redevelopment
    • Celebrity visit for celebration

    June 30, 2014

  • Flashpoint: New Healthy Indiana Plan our best option

    Some state-run health care exchanges — the brainchild of the Affordable Care Act (ACA) — have gotten off to a rocky start, to the point that they are turning to the federal government to pick up the pieces. Indiana’s decision to try to expand the already-existing Healthy Indiana Plan (HIP) in lieu of an exchange seems a more prudent choice every day.

    June 30, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: June 30, 2014

    • Don’t be victim of home repair scam
    • Ending unfair tax practices

    June 29, 2014

Latest News
TribStar.com Poll
AP Video
World's Tallest Water Slide: See It for Yourself Four Kids, Two Adults Shot Dead Near Houston Kim Kardashian Hits Up Valentino Show in Paris Connecticut Boy Dies Inside Parked Car Police: Prostitute Accused in Overdose Death Fans Dying to Be Near Jazz Greats Service Held for 200 Whose Bodies Went Unclaimed Israeli Offensive Escalates in Gaza Attack Robots Gearing Up for Their Own 'World Cup' Raw: Obama Shoots Pool in Denver Argentina to Face Germany in World Cup Final Israeli-Palestinian Tensions, Attacks Escalate APNewsBreak: Different Attackers in Benghazi? Raw: Australia Hosts Annual Beer Can Regatta Neighbors Mourn Killing of Texas Family "Hotwives" Spoofs Reality TV Dodgers Found Partly Responsible in Fan Beating Police: Prostitute Linked to 2nd Death Art of Haitian Machete Fighting Revived Chimp-attack Victim Lobbies Congress
NDN Video
Tiny Hamsters Who Ate Burritos are Back for a Tiny Hedgehog's Party Watch Kelly Ripa Get Soaked! 'Referee' Hands Out Yellow Cards for Social Faux Pas in NYC 2014 Emmy Nominees: 8 Snub Shockers Emma Watson Is Va-Va-Voom in Valentino 7 Infamous Sports Blowouts Argentina tops Holland in World Cup semifinals News flush: Japanese toilet exhibition making a splash Emmy Nominations: What to Watch For 'Game of Thrones' Leads 66th Emmy Awards Nominations Photographic 'Proof' That LeBron Is Leaving Miami - @TheBuzzeronFOX Elephant Pool Party at The Oregon Zoo Must-See! Berry and Fallon Form Human Hamster Wheel Pilot buys pizzas for travelers delayed by storm Klose nets record, Germany rout Brazil 7-1 'Purrmanently Sad Cat' Looks Adorably Sad All the Time Pharrell 'humbled' by success of mega-hit 'Happy' Day After: Brazil Reeling in WC Loss Jennifer Lawrence Facepalms Emma Watson Athletes Bare All for ESPN Magazine's Body Issue
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
  • -

     

    March 12, 2010

activity