News From Terre Haute, Indiana

Opinion

August 29, 2010

STEPHANIE SALTER: The Mayor of 12 Points has relocated his office

TERRE HAUTE — In my mind’s eye, it will always be Memorial Day Weekend and Mr. Tilford will be cheerfully scrambling to keep artificial flowers and wreaths on the shelves and display poles of his 12 Points variety store.

A Puccini opera — or maybe Duke Ellington — will always be on the sound system.

Reality will be bent and Tilford’s Variety Store and USPS contract postal unit will bustle into an endless future, selling stamps and money orders, sewing notions and kids’ puzzles, Adam’s Clove Chewing Gum and alarm clocks, and polyester flowers for all seasons.

The store’s proprietor, Cecil Tilford, will always be behind the counter, his pale blue eyes focused on a column of figures or dancing in amusement at yet another long yarn spun by a customer who’s forgotten what she or he came in for in the first place. A pot of coffee will always be on the warmer plate and, outside, an American flag will always be snapping in a strong breeze.

Time will fly and stand still at the same moment. What it will not do is run out.

In truth, Mr. Tilford has not been in his store since April, when long-simmering health issues landed him, first, in the hospital, then in The Waters of Clinton, a long-term care facility at 11th and Elm streets in the home of next weekend’s Little Italy Festival.

For the record, he looks and sounds great. (Amazing what three squares a day, physical therapy and someone to help navigate a maze of prescription meds will do for an 85-year-old guy.) And his roommate is someone he’s known and loved most of his life, his little “twin” brother, Wayne, who was born on the same day as Mr. T, only five years later.

Mr. Tilford said the other day that for a few months after his hospitalization, his business neighbor and friend, Rich Curtis, tried to hold down the fort in the variety store and post office. But Curtis lost his own piano shop lease and had to move out of 12 Points. The post office closed at the end of June. Last weekend, all the fantastic and amazing items in Tilford’s Variety were auctioned off.

The 42-year term of the Mayor of 12 Points was over.

As might be expected, Mr. T is not happy about this. Despite his physical pain, he cherished coming to his store. “I’ve enjoyed every job I’ve had,” he said the other day after lunch at The Waters. “Except when I was first married and I worked at Stran Steel. I did not like that job.”

His beloved wife, Doris, didn’t like it, either. Sometimes, she deliberately let him sleep through the start of a night shift. So, in his 20s, he went into retailing — for F.W. Woolworth downtown on Wabash Avenue — a field he stayed in for the rest of his life.

Doris’ beautiful photo is on Mr. T’s night stand, next to the plaque he was given in 2008, commemorating his 40 years in business in 12 Points. A full-size Marine Corps flag hangs over his bed. On the window ledge nearby is a desktop name plate that says, “Mayor Tilford,” another gift from his many admirers.

As sad as he is about being forced to call it quits in his store and post office, Mr. T characteristically channels his energy toward remembering the good times and being grateful for such a long, rich run. “I’ve always been an optimist,” he said.

Instead of obsess over not being able to get to the store for the auction, he chooses to emphasize the sizable turnout.

“The Shadow people gave me copies of all the sales — 192 people bought merchandise,” he said, shaking his head in wonder. “That’s pretty good. And they included all their names and phone numbers.”

In other words, if he feels like it, Mr. T can call some of those buyers to discuss their purchases and their plans for them, catch up with the folks he knows (probably all 192) and talk business. One of his favorite parts of being in retail, he said, has always been interacting with people — customers, suppliers, the U.S. Postal Service employees he met over the decades.

Even when he talks about the disastrous 2002 fire that destroyed his original, big variety store across Lafayette Avenue, Mr. T tends to concentrate on how lucky he was not to be in the place when the front windows blew out from combustion. Things were never the same; he and Doris went from a sprawling space in which they sold everything from small appliances to jewelry, to a nook less than one-third the size.

And yet he says (and means), “I still really enjoyed every minute in the small store. I loved being around all the people.”

Mr. T met Doris Harbrueger at Fontanet School when he was in the second grade. “She was this skinny little tow head, and I went home and told my mom about her and said, ‘I’m going to marry that girl.’” And so he did.

During his 26 months of active duty during World War II, most of it in the Mariana Islands of the Pacific, Mr. T carried the photo of Doris that sits on his night stand. All of his Marine buddies said no one that pretty would ever wait for him, especially since he was sending her most of his pay for their nest egg. The boys were wrong. Doris waited and stayed married to Mr. T until her death in 1999.

“She was my one and only, of course,” he said, swallowing a little hard.

Other than doubting pals, the Marine Corps fit Mr. T like the proverbial glove. One of 10 children, he’d learned his fierce work ethic from his mother and coal miner dad. The Marines honed his determination and toughness.

“Semper Fi,” he said. “I believed that in the Marine Corps, and I believe that in almost every phase of life. Ever faithful — to your spouse, your family, your work, your friends, your morals, everything pertaining to your life.”

That credo carried him the last several years, when men half his age would have hung it up from the physical pain and the frustration of watching big box retailers grind local independents to dust. Even now, pretty much confined to a wheelchair, Mr. T pictures his store and post office and weighs a reopening.

 “I really think I could do it,” he said, “but I’m afraid I wouldn’t do a good enough job.”

For now, he and Wayne and some of the other guys in The Waters take meals together and often gather to discuss current events. As he rolls down the hall toward his room or the dining room, Mr. T is greeted with “Hi, Cecil!” by aides and residents of the facility. It’s as though he has switched from being the Mayor of 12 Points to the Mayor of The Waters.

Yes, he confesses, he gets bored and sad and, always, he misses Doris. “But, otherwise, everything’s fine,” he said. “And whatever’s around the corner, well, we’ll see.”

Fortunately, Mr. T has one of the finest collections of great memories any man could own. Old friends from 12 Points who might care to share them need only drive to Clinton. Mr. T will start up the time machine, and you can go for a ride to a favorite day in either incarnation of Tilford’s Variety Store.

I’ll be taking a pack of clove chewing gum on all my trips.

Stephanie Salter can be reached at (812) 231-4229 or stephanie.salter@tribstar.com.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • EDITORIAL: Get smart with 911

    Worst-case scenarios when emergency service are needed are not things people like to think about. But focused attention on details in advance could make a life-changing, even life-saving, difference in the future.

    April 17, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: Heading in the wrong direction

    A study released last week by the Tax Foundation reported Indiana taxpayers saw one of the sharpest increases in tax burden since 2001. Dig deeper and the numbers are more alarming.

    April 17, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: They didn’t make it!

    The “One and Dones” done went and didn’t! (I know this is grammatically incorrect, but I want those folks down in Kentucky to read it.)

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • tstribunestar EDITORIAL: Dealing with eroded trust

    Our neighbors in Putnam County are understandably concerned, even outraged, over problems in their sheriff’s department. People have a right to expect their chief law-enforcement agency — one of the most important public institutions in any community — to operate professionally and effectively.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Readers’ Forum: April 17, 2014

    • A blessing from our young folks

    • Confidence in judge candidate

    April 16, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Preparing for voting changes

    The primary election, during which Hoosiers will traipse to their polling places to select party candidates to fill the ballot for the general election, is now three weeks away.

    April 15, 2014

  • Readers’ forum: April 16, 2014

    • Mott’s rant on global warming

    • Salvation through the Indian way

    April 15, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Royce Waltman

    In recent days the papers have been full of good things about Royce Waltman. Not a lot of puffery, but more like Royce himself… straight, true and right at you.

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Not much peace since war to end all wars

    My jaw dropped the other day when I read that this year, 2014, marks 100 years since the start of World War I. No, you wise guys, I wasn’t there personally.

    April 14, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: April 15, 2014

    Sound choice for county judge
    Giving your car the care it needs
    Park restrooms should be open

    April 14, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Noteworthy in the news (Honors for outstanding women)

    Honors for outstanding women
    Sprucing up around the wetlands
    You can say that again
    Reader Poll results

    April 13, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: April 14, 2014

    Alternatives to ‘injustice’

    April 13, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Teaming up to fight the ugliness of graffiti

    Graffiti hurts the Terre Haute community. It deflates property values and local pride. It literally paints an image of carelessness on the city.

    April 12, 2014

  • MARK BENNETT: It’s (Not) So Easy

    Arctic air bled into the Wabash Avenue post-hippie-era diner-pub every time the wooden door swung open.

    April 12, 2014

  • ERIC SCHANSBERG: The 1040 tax form turns 100

    The 16th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution brought us the federal income tax in 1913. A year later, the 1040 tax form was born.

    April 12, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: April 13, 2014

    • An attack of hypocrisy

    • New jail not a good idea

    • Thinking about the next election

    • Being positive a tremendous asset

    • Work status a matter of value

    April 12, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: Time to fix government

    In 1965, the chairman of the powerful Ways and Means Committee, Wilbur Mills, brought legislation establishing Medicare and Medicaid to the floor of the U.S. House. That was my first year in Congress, and I remember vividly the moment when Mills came to the Democratic caucus to explain his plans.

    April 12, 2014

  • Death Notice: April 13, 2014

    Phillip Herman

    April 12, 2014

  • GUEST EDITORIAL: Despite high court ruling, big money may not guarantee election success

    The Supreme Court has taken the predictable next step in the wake of its 2010 Citizens United decision in which it lifted the limit on donations wealthy donors can make to certain political entities.

    April 11, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Pondering our planet’s future

    I watched a TV show recently and the subject was global warming.

    April 11, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Warm thoughts for Waltman

    When Royce Waltman left Indiana State University as its head basketball coach in 2007, there was a sense of disappointment in the community that covered a broad spectrum.

    April 11, 2014

  • Readers' Forum: April 11, 2014

    • An appeal for organic farming

    • Kesler best choice for judge position

    April 11, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Bits & Pieces

    I don’t know about you, but I get a total sense of helplessness when I realize 239 people died in one airplane crash. And to make it worse, if that is possible, the loved ones left behind can’t close. Maybe this week.

    April 10, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Road work season requires motorists’ undivided attention

    Spring’s budding flowers, trees and grasses are not the only colorful eye candy popping up on the west-central Indiana landscape. Those orange barrels and pylons common to construction areas are appearing as well.

    April 9, 2014

  • Readers' Forum: April 10, 2014

    • Appreciation for writer’s views

    • Amazed by policy on birth control

    April 9, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Dangers lurking among us

    Hardly a week goes by without multiple stories being published in this newspaper detailing the arrests, court proceedings, convictions or sentencings of individuals involved in sex crimes against children or young teens. It’s a disturbing trend that underscores the ever-present dangers that exist where we may least expect them.

    April 9, 2014 1 Story

  • Readers' Forum: April 9, 2014

    April 9, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Basketball and Done

    I guess I’m going to have to change my mind about the “One and Done” rule. It would seem the future professionals wearing university uniforms — national runner-up Kentucky is an example — has proven me a fool. Why should I care about the education they are getting, or not getting?

    April 8, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Angling for a mate not fond of fishing

    While many little girls daydream about the dream man they hope to find, it seems to me that they concentrate on all the wrong things. I can’t discount the appeal of beauty, brains and virtue, but my dream man was one who was not dedicated to fishing.

    April 7, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: April 8, 2014

    Tracking the trail of thieves
    Friendly service at local store
    New voice for judicial system
    Movie strikes a proper balance

    April 7, 2014

Latest News
TribStar.com Poll
AP Video
Crew Criticized Over Handling of Ferry Disaster Obama Hopeful on Ukraine, Will Watch Russians Flamingo Frenzy Ahead of Zoo Construction Malaysia Plane: Ocean Floor Images 'Very Clear' Agreement Reached to Calm Ukraine Tensions Raw: Bulgarian Monastery Dyes 5000 Easter Eggs Chelsea Clinton Is Pregnant Raw: Pope Francis Performs Pre-easter Ritual Diplomats Reach Deal to Ease Tensions in Ukraine Today in History for April 18th Captain of Sunken South Korean Ferry Apologizes Raw: Two Lucky Kids Get Ride in Popemobile Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Sparks Fly With Derulo and Jordin on New Album Raw: Pro-Russian Militants Killed on Base Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Author Gabriel Garcia Marquez Dead at 87 New York Auto Show Highlights Latest in Car Tech Raw: Royal Couple Visits Australia Mountains Beau Biden Plans 2016 Run for Del. Governor
NDN Video
The 2014 New York Auto Show Meet Johnny Manziel's New Girlfriend Chelsea Clinton Announces Pregnancy Funny: Celebrating Easter with Martha Stewart and Friends Man Accuses 'X-Men' Director Bryan Singer of Sexually Abusing Him As a Teenager Man hit with $525 federal fine after he doesn't pay for soda refill Lea Michele & Naya Rivera Feuding? Jabari Parker declares for the NBA draft Singing Nun Belts Out Cyndi Lauper New West, Texas Explosion Video Swim Daily, Throwback Thursday Don't Be A Tattletale: Bad Bullying Tips For Students The trillest thoughts on marijuana "RHOA" Star Charged With Battery Grizzly Bears Get Snowy Birthday Party Weatherman draws forecast when another technical glitch strikes WGN Elizabeth Olsen's Sexy Shoot Bay Area Teen Gets Prom Date With Help From 'Breaking Bad' Star Boston Bomb Scare Defendant Appears in Court Behind The Tanlines Jersey Strong Part 1
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
  • -

     

    March 12, 2010

activity