News From Terre Haute, Indiana

Opinion

November 14, 2010

Stephanie Salter: Can’t make a decision? Consult strangers on the ’Net

TERRE HAUTE — A day after I heard screenwriter and director Nora Ephron talking on NPR about that moment in the aging process when you realize you are no longer cut out to be au courant, that moment arrived for me.

“I think when you get older, things come along that you know are a test in some way of your ability to stay with it,” Ephron said on Morning Edition. E-mail, for example, had started out like a heady love affair for her. Then, it became “like one of those ex-husbands that you think, ‘What was I thinking?’

“The point is that you can kind of keep up for awhile and then, suddenly, something comes along and you think, ‘I give up. I am never going to tweet. I’m just never going to.’” Nor, Ephron says in her new book, “I Remember Nothing,” will she ever bother to learn about the Kardashians, “all Housewives, Survivors, American Idols and Bachelors,” and such trends as monkfish and “every drink invented since the cosmopolitan.”

For me, also a confirmed non-tweeter and Kardashian-phobe, my I-give-up moment was a public relations pitch for a social networking and dating site, CanDo

Better.com. Launched in March, the site’s unique shtick is to “let the world” tell you whether a potential date is the perfect match or whether you “can do better.”

No favorite colors, pet peeves, religious preferences or adored activities like walking in the rain need be mentioned. All you do is post your own photo and that of the possible date and open the question to whomever cares to weigh in on the Internet. Then, the decision comes in: People you have never met decide that (a) you can do better, (b) the possible date can do better or (c) you two are a “perfect match.”

More than 100,000 folks joined the site in the first few weeks it was up.

Now, it’s so successful, many users post photos of their current dating partners or even their spouses — you know, just to see what the world has to say about their matchability.

One of CanDoBetter’s creators, Craig Agranoff, admitted cheerfully in a television interview that the looks-only process is, “yeah, kind of shallow,” and has been called “a recipe for divorce.” But, he said, it can be kind of fun, “and fun can turn into true love.”

Unless, of course, the world decides that your wife or husband of 12 years is one of those people you can do better than.

The specific pitch I received via e-mail from CanDoBetter had an economic hook. The site’s resident relationships expert, New York psychologist Joel D. Block, reported “a substantial rise in women under 30 choosing to avoid a potentially bad date” with CanDoBetter because of economic reasons.

“It makes sense to think that women have the inexpensive role in the dating game; after all, women generally don’t pay for first dates,” the e-pitch said. “But what’s making single women extra fussy?” According to Block, at least five recession-related factors encourage young women to ask the world if they ought to risk going out with a specific man:

The cost of buying a new outfit, paying for a cab to leave early if it’s a bad date, taking public transportation to meet a date, having to avoid paying for dinner, and/or buying gas to meet a date.

“With so many singles using the [I]nternet to find a date, we know the problem is not meeting someone, it’s meeting that right someone,” Block says in the pitch. “People on first dates are not looking for meaningful conversations, but are evaluating their date as a potential romantic partner.”

I knew life had lapped me right there. When did meaningful conversation fall off the evaluation chart for a romantic partner? I started dating at 15, and I’ve never gone out a second time with any guy who couldn’t deliver a meaningful conversation — no matter how good looking he was.

Do under-30 women really pronounce a first date worth the price of a new outfit if the guy is just physically attractive? What happens when he opens his mouth and says something stupid or racist or crude? How can someone be “the right someone” — or simply worth going out with again — if you don’t know what he has to say beyond, “Make that two Bud Lites and a pair of Jello shots”?

And while I’m at it, what is with this assumption that the man always pays for the first date? Is it 1958 again?

If they “met” on an Internet dating site and mutually agreed to go out, why does the guy get stuck with the whole tab? Maybe if the woman is homeless or something, but … That is the kind of quid pro quo a lot of us worked hard to dismantle because it so often led to a guy expecting some sort of, um, compensation for his monetary investment. What’s wrong with going Dutch?

All of that said, the worst part of this, the real, true, I-give-up point of departure for me with the CanDoBetter concept is the voting thing.

I know we are a nation of stranger-voters, deciding who moves to another round on American Idol or whether Mama Grizzly’s daughter gets to dance another day. I know we reflexively post our thumbs-up or thumbs-down at the end of every online news story or blog about people we’ve never seen in real time nor they us.

But to invite “the world” to tell you whether a photo you are looking at indicates a person worth meeting for a date or someone you could do better than — how lame can you get?

Americans have never been known for our critical thought processes, but are we so pitiful that we need the help of strangers to tell us if a potential date’s face is equal to, or better or worse than, our own? What’s next? Instant message queries to the online masses, asking, “Should I try to kiss her? French or regular?”

No doubt, it will come as good news to the users of CanDoBetter.com, but I give up. Like Nora Ephron, I’m never going to tweet, I don’t care about the Kardsashians and I’m not going to ask the world to advise me on anything. I can do better on my own.

Stephanie Salter can be reached at (812) 231-4229 or stephanie.salter@tribstar.com.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • EDITORIAL: A green idea worth pursuing

    It sounds like a blue-ribbon idea.

    July 9, 2014

  • READERS' FORUM: July 10, 2014

    • Herb Faire a great success

    • Appreciation for a ‘lovely angel’

    • Thanks for stirring fireworks show

    July 9, 2014

  • tstribunestar EDITORIAL: Be safe, be responsible

    The Independence Day weekend brought a brief respite in construction work on area roadways. In particular, it provided needed relief to the congested segment of Interstate 70 in Clay County that is undergoing resurfacing this summer.

    July 8, 2014 1 Photo

  • Readers’ Forum: July 9, 2014

    • Don’t eliminate our six-day mail

    • Zamperini death stirs memories

    July 8, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Black Dog

    We had some excitement around our house the other day and it was not the good kind.
    There was a small dog, black in color with a spiked collar on his neck, and he was the spitting image of a small Doberman. I don’t know if they have miniature Dobermans but this dog could have been a mixed breed that came out looking like a Doberman although smaller.

    July 8, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 8, 2014

    • T-S ignores common decency

    • Lighten up on Donald Sterling

    • Time to reject Dems in Congress

    Fueling the EPA

    July 7, 2014

  • MS. TAKES: Great music is made during all generations

    Number Two son tells us that his 20-year-old son has been listening to “Big Band” music with apparent enjoyment. As if that wasn’t enough of a surprise, I was talking with a young girl, barely out of her teens and she told us that she really wasn’t into rap. She said, “It isn’t really music, it’s just talk.”

    July 7, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 7, 2014

    • The moral issue is major issue

    July 6, 2014

  • tstribunestar Editorial: City financial health demands an open, honest discussion

    Obscured by the recent rift over use of departmental funds in the city of Terre Haute’s budget are serious issues related to our city government’s overall financial health. The answers may be mired in the complexity of municipal finance, but coming to grips with the situation is important to the city’s future.

    July 6, 2014 1 Photo

  • Readers’ Forum: July 6, 2014

    • Coats ignoring climate science

    • Do those mustache posters exist?

    • Utility rate freeze took determination

    • What perversion is next in line?

    • Opinions vary, but voters will decide

    • This preaching must stop — now

    • Golf fundraiser a huge success

    July 6, 2014

  • Flashpoint: State’s lawyer has duty to represent state in marriage lawsuit appeal

    Recent federal court actions that first struck down Indiana’s statute limiting marriage to the traditional definition, and then stayed that order pending appeal, have left many in our state in legal limbo. As the attorney who represents state government and defends its laws, I know this difficult case stirs many people’s deeply held beliefs that touch their lives in very personal ways. Not since my office had to represent the state in lawsuits arising from the State Fair disaster has a dispute been so seemingly impossible to address in a way that the public would accept as being fair to all concerned.

    July 6, 2014

  • Flashpoint: The Supreme Court decision and ‘closely held’ corporations

    The much awaited Supreme Court decision in Burwell vs. Hobby Lobby came down this week. The court ruled in a 5-4 decision that the 1993 Religious Freedom and Restoration Act (RFRA) does cover “closely held” corporations, even if those corporations are for profit.

    July 6, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Learning more about Jefferson

    During this Fourth of July weekend, I’ll be reading John Meacham’s biography of Thomas Jefferson.

    July 4, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Celebrate your independence

    “We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.”
    As eloquent and declaratory as that statement is, implementing its principles has been a decades-long pursuit for these United States of America. Our nation, it seems, is the quintessential work in progress, even though what this country has created in terms of a stable, collective society is, let’s face it, pretty darn good.

    July 3, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 4, 2014

    July 3, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: The Men Who Made the Country

    The Fourth of July is the day we celebrate our independence from Great Britain. It reminds me of something David Ben-Gurion would say, at a much later date, about British rule: “If you have to have a master, the British are about as good at it as anybody.” Of course, we really don’t need a master.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • MET 033114 GREG ZOELLER MUG.jpg GREG ZOELLER: State’s lawyer has duty to represent state in marriage lawsuit appeal

    Recent federal court actions that first struck down Indiana’s statute limiting marriage to the traditional definition, and then stayed that order pending appeal, have left many in our state in legal limbo.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • Readers’ Forum: July 3, 2014

    • Over the top on immigration

    July 2, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: HIP 2.0 gives consumers better choices

    On Wednesday, the State of Indiana submitted its proposal for the Healthy Indiana Plan 2.0 to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

    July 2, 2014

  • Gov. Mike Pence (R, Ind.) MIKE PENCE: HIP 2.0 gives consumers better choices

    Today, the state of Indiana submitted its proposal for the Healthy Indiana Plan 2.0 to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
    If approved, the Healthy Indiana Plan 2.0 would replace traditional Medicaid for low-income, able-bodied Hoosier adults. Unlike traditional Medicaid, which is government-driven, HIP 2.0 is consumer-driven.

    July 2, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Texting law serves safety

    July 1 each year marks the day in Indiana when new laws take effect. But rather than focus on new laws today, let’s observe the anniversary of a law that went on the books three years ago this month — the law that barred texting while driving.

    July 1, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 2, 2014

    July 1, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: Cats

    Looking at the situation as a whole, the adopted cats, plus one, seem to be doing OK. The boys, Magic and Mellow, like to roam occasionally, which causes some consternation when they are gone for a long time.

    July 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • LIZ CIANCONE: Oldtime fans will never give up on the Cubbies

    My Best Friend claims to be the world’s oldest living Cubs fan. I am willing to take him at his word, but surely there is some long-lived fan out there in the right field bleachers who would dispute his claim.

    June 30, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 1, 2014

    • Defying the laws of God
    • Correcting the written record
    • Hands of $$ from Redevelopment
    • Celebrity visit for celebration

    June 30, 2014

  • Flashpoint: New Healthy Indiana Plan our best option

    Some state-run health care exchanges — the brainchild of the Affordable Care Act (ACA) — have gotten off to a rocky start, to the point that they are turning to the federal government to pick up the pieces. Indiana’s decision to try to expand the already-existing Healthy Indiana Plan (HIP) in lieu of an exchange seems a more prudent choice every day.

    June 30, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: June 30, 2014

    • Don’t be victim of home repair scam
    • Ending unfair tax practices

    June 29, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: For kids, an immediate need

    If you agree that not much is sadder — and potentially more unsettling to our society — than a child torn from his or her home, here is a way you can make a difference, one kid at a time.

    June 28, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: June 29, 2014

    • The sexual revolution strikes again
    • Country sinks to new lows
    • Saddened by the headlines
    • Opinions not same as facts
    • Letter meets with approval
    • The real ‘truth’ sometimes hurts
    • Applause for great musical
    • Raising minimum wage hurts us
    • Gratitude to camp sponsors
    • More to the city’s mosquito problem

    June 28, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: Planned Parenthood’s dangerous sex coaching not worthy of funding

    Planned Parenthood of Indiana and Kentucky’s CEO, Betty Cockrum, recently waged a public relations campaign in newspapers across the state. Cockrum touted the need for Planned Parenthood’s version of sex education for Hoosier teens.

    June 28, 2014

Latest News
TribStar.com Poll
AP Video
Police: Prostitute Accused in Overdose Death Raw: Rocket Explodes Over Israeli Wedding Raw: 10-year Sentence for Ex-New Orleans Mayor Weaver Reprises Ripley Role for 'Alien' Game Tornadoes Kill Four in Central New York Day After: Brazil Reeling in WC Loss Obama Talks Economy, Slams Republicans Sterling Testifies in Los Angeles Clippers Trial Raw: Brazil Fans Cry After World Cup Loss Typhoon Nears Japan's Main Islands Raw: Obama Shoots Pool in Denver Raw: World's Tallest Water Slide Opens Thursday Argentina to Face Germany in World Cup Final Service Held for 200 Whose Bodies Went Unclaimed Raw: Stampede in Rio During World Cup Raw: Palestinians Clash With Israeli Forces Israeli Offensive Escalates in Gaza Attack Former NFL Player 'Excited' Deal Almost Done GOP: Immigration a 'human Rights Issue' Kim Kardashian Hits Up Valentino Show in Paris
NDN Video
Elephant Pool Party at The Oregon Zoo Must-See! Berry and Fallon Form Human Hamster Wheel Pilot buys pizzas for travelers delayed by storm Klose nets record, Germany rout Brazil 7-1 'Purrmanently Sad Cat' Looks Adorably Sad All the Time Pharrell 'humbled' by success of mega-hit 'Happy' Day After: Brazil Reeling in WC Loss Jennifer Lawrence Facepalms Emma Watson Athletes Bare All for ESPN Magazine's Body Issue Raw: Brazil Fans Leaving Stadium Before Half Andi Dorfman Walks Out During the Rose Ceremony 5 Firework Fails for July 4th Justin Bieber Catches Tom Hanks Getting Down, Showing ‘How We Do It Big shoes to fill for Brazil ahead of Germany clash Man's 'Potato Salad' Plea Takes Off on Kickstarter Joan Rivers Storms Out of Interview Watch: A turtle and dog play ball Yikes! This Jet is Way Too Close Late-Night Highlight: Ben Falcone Screwed Up His Proposal To Melissa McCarthy Jenny and Sherri Talk "View" Departure
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
  • -

     

    March 12, 2010

activity