News From Terre Haute, Indiana

Opinion

December 24, 2013

RONN MOTT: It’s about Christmas

I have quite a few cousins. On the Mott side of the family, I only had two. But on the Martin side (my mother’s folks), I had 11 cousins. All were older than me. My brother, Gary, and I were the tail end of the cousin chain. So, it wasn’t surprising I received a phone call the other day from my cousin, John Ferguson. John has been in Oklahoma for decades where he has been in television most of his career. After ISU, he took a stab at Hollywood and realized he wasn’t going to make it on the Silver Screen. He married a girl from Oklahoma and moved there, where he became a fixture on local television.

John Ferguson graduated from Clinton High School and what was then Indiana State Teachers College. He got involved as an announcer and an actor on a locally produced children’s show. It was all set to go nationally when the star, 3-D Danny, got romantically involved and did not want to leave Oklahoma City. John had many jobs off-camera, including sales, but is best known as “Count Gregor,” host of a weekly spook theater where he played Count Gregor, mystical host, and most of the other roles in this spook theater presentation. Count Gregor and Friends would interrupt and play host to this thrilling, spooky production.  

So John called me Saturday morning to wish me the merriest and we talked about old times and how things change and how much richer the memories get of the holiday as one gets older.

It has been some years since I’ve seen John in person, but it is true that good relationships never break, they just pause and pick back up when contact is made.

I suppose at Christmas you think more about family and what it means. I know living apart from my family from state to state and radio station to radio station we often shared the holidays with friends and people who also could not be home with their families. So, in a sense, families were reformed and remade to continue this grand season. Getting a call from my cousin, John, helped brighten the day and helped me remember some wonderful moments as a child.

Long before television reached this part of the country, my cousin Laura and I would lie down in front of the tree and open up this wonderful book of carols and Christmas songs, and we would go from page to page and sing all of the songs we knew.

It wasn’t the richness of those early days, but the fun and the togetherness made the Christmas rich. I went to Sunday school at the First Methodist Church and participated in those activities which gave the holidays a religious overtone you cannot capture without the activity of an organized church.  

I remember walking into my Aunt Phoebe’s house, and standing between the dining room and the living room was this beautiful, blue tree covered with what was called “angel hair.” She had decided to do all blue bulbs, blue ornaments, and other blue decorations. It looked like a blue bank of fog had settled over that tree in my Aunt Phoebe’s dining room.

I’ve always had a soft spot ever since those days for blue lights and the color blue in general.

In spite of my family’s dysfunction, I always managed to enjoy Christmas and all of the things that go with the celebration, including presents, candy, family, learning at church about this Baby Boy who was born in Bethlehem. Now, it makes me a little nostalgic about those who are no longer here to aid in the celebration.

I don’t care if you believe, or disbelieve, but you certainly have to admit the event changed the world. I would hope it is for the better. It has endured … the story of the manger, the Magi, the gifts and the trouble stirred up by Herod with the harshness of the rule of the Roman Empire, and this Babe, this Child, who brought promises of eternal salvation with Him.

So, in this week of celebration of the Birth of Christ and just a few days away from a brand new year, we wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.

Ronn Mott, a longtime radio personality in Terre Haute, writes commentaries for the Tribune-Star. His pieces are published online Tuesday and Thursday on Tribstar.com, and in the print and online editions on Saturday.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • wefight.jpg Feeling carried: Filmmaker captures late uncle’s walk through illness and into ‘whatever is next’

    Paul Fleschner sensed a remarkable strength as he filmed his beloved uncle one final time.

    July 12, 2014 2 Photos

  • EDITORIAL: Dysfunctional relationship with schools chief doesn’t bode well for potential Pence presidency

    A window to the future may be unfolding in Indiana.

    July 12, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 13, 2014

    • Telling the truth about smoking
    • Larger energy bills on the way, thanks to EPA
    • Embrace the compassion, not self-righteousness
    • Wondering about country’s leaders
    • New amendments have hurt country

    July 12, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: EPA proposal will have little impact on environment, but could hurt coal industry

    I recently signed on as an original co-sponsor to a bipartisan bill led by one of my Democrat colleagues from West Virginia that would stop the newly released Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) regulations on existing coal-generated power plants.

    July 12, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Troubled history in that place called Iraq

    People are dying, again, in Iraq. And, again, people other than Iraqis will ultimately make the decision about what happens to this ancient land.

    July 11, 2014

  • Editorial: The Bennett ‘settlement’

    It takes a special kind of arrogance to flout ethics laws in the manner which former state Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Bennett has violated them. Even when he finally admitted his transgressions, he claimed he could have avoided the matter altogether had he just changed the department’s ethics policy before engaging in the troublesome conduct.
    In essence, this was the old “mistakes were made” acknowledgment of wrongdoing. And the real mistake to which Bennett admits was apparently not changing the rules before he violated them. This is a truly Nixonian moment.

    July 10, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 11, 2014

    July 10, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: That Old Man River

    I was surprised to learn the people in Cairo are now taking water taxis to avoid the traffic, the confusion and the dangers that are appearing on Cairo, Egypt’s, streets. I mean, I was surprised the people in Cairo, these native Egyptians, were surprised they could take a water taxi and get to where they wanted to go using the Nile River as a highway. So, for the Egyptians living in Cairo, everything old is brand new again.

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A green idea worth pursuing

    It sounds like a blue-ribbon idea.

    July 9, 2014

  • READERS' FORUM: July 10, 2014

    • Herb Faire a great success

    • Appreciation for a ‘lovely angel’

    • Thanks for stirring fireworks show

    July 9, 2014

  • tstribunestar EDITORIAL: Be safe, be responsible

    The Independence Day weekend brought a brief respite in construction work on area roadways. In particular, it provided needed relief to the congested segment of Interstate 70 in Clay County that is undergoing resurfacing this summer.

    July 8, 2014 1 Photo

  • Readers’ Forum: July 9, 2014

    • Don’t eliminate our six-day mail

    • Zamperini death stirs memories

    July 8, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Black Dog

    We had some excitement around our house the other day and it was not the good kind.
    There was a small dog, black in color with a spiked collar on his neck, and he was the spitting image of a small Doberman. I don’t know if they have miniature Dobermans but this dog could have been a mixed breed that came out looking like a Doberman although smaller.

    July 8, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 8, 2014

    • T-S ignores common decency

    • Lighten up on Donald Sterling

    • Time to reject Dems in Congress

    Fueling the EPA

    July 7, 2014

  • MS. TAKES: Great music is made during all generations

    Number Two son tells us that his 20-year-old son has been listening to “Big Band” music with apparent enjoyment. As if that wasn’t enough of a surprise, I was talking with a young girl, barely out of her teens and she told us that she really wasn’t into rap. She said, “It isn’t really music, it’s just talk.”

    July 7, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 7, 2014

    • The moral issue is major issue

    July 6, 2014

  • tstribunestar Editorial: City financial health demands an open, honest discussion

    Obscured by the recent rift over use of departmental funds in the city of Terre Haute’s budget are serious issues related to our city government’s overall financial health. The answers may be mired in the complexity of municipal finance, but coming to grips with the situation is important to the city’s future.

    July 6, 2014 1 Photo

  • Readers’ Forum: July 6, 2014

    • Coats ignoring climate science

    • Do those mustache posters exist?

    • Utility rate freeze took determination

    • What perversion is next in line?

    • Opinions vary, but voters will decide

    • This preaching must stop — now

    • Golf fundraiser a huge success

    July 6, 2014

  • Flashpoint: State’s lawyer has duty to represent state in marriage lawsuit appeal

    Recent federal court actions that first struck down Indiana’s statute limiting marriage to the traditional definition, and then stayed that order pending appeal, have left many in our state in legal limbo. As the attorney who represents state government and defends its laws, I know this difficult case stirs many people’s deeply held beliefs that touch their lives in very personal ways. Not since my office had to represent the state in lawsuits arising from the State Fair disaster has a dispute been so seemingly impossible to address in a way that the public would accept as being fair to all concerned.

    July 6, 2014

  • Flashpoint: The Supreme Court decision and ‘closely held’ corporations

    The much awaited Supreme Court decision in Burwell vs. Hobby Lobby came down this week. The court ruled in a 5-4 decision that the 1993 Religious Freedom and Restoration Act (RFRA) does cover “closely held” corporations, even if those corporations are for profit.

    July 6, 2014

  • RONN MOTT: Learning more about Jefferson

    During this Fourth of July weekend, I’ll be reading John Meacham’s biography of Thomas Jefferson.

    July 4, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Celebrate your independence

    “We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.”
    As eloquent and declaratory as that statement is, implementing its principles has been a decades-long pursuit for these United States of America. Our nation, it seems, is the quintessential work in progress, even though what this country has created in terms of a stable, collective society is, let’s face it, pretty darn good.

    July 3, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 4, 2014

    July 3, 2014

  • Ronn Mott.jpg RONN MOTT: The Men Who Made the Country

    The Fourth of July is the day we celebrate our independence from Great Britain. It reminds me of something David Ben-Gurion would say, at a much later date, about British rule: “If you have to have a master, the British are about as good at it as anybody.” Of course, we really don’t need a master.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • MET 033114 GREG ZOELLER MUG.jpg GREG ZOELLER: State’s lawyer has duty to represent state in marriage lawsuit appeal

    Recent federal court actions that first struck down Indiana’s statute limiting marriage to the traditional definition, and then stayed that order pending appeal, have left many in our state in legal limbo.

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • Readers’ Forum: July 3, 2014

    • Over the top on immigration

    July 2, 2014

  • FLASHPOINT: HIP 2.0 gives consumers better choices

    On Wednesday, the State of Indiana submitted its proposal for the Healthy Indiana Plan 2.0 to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

    July 2, 2014

  • Gov. Mike Pence (R, Ind.) MIKE PENCE: HIP 2.0 gives consumers better choices

    Today, the state of Indiana submitted its proposal for the Healthy Indiana Plan 2.0 to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
    If approved, the Healthy Indiana Plan 2.0 would replace traditional Medicaid for low-income, able-bodied Hoosier adults. Unlike traditional Medicaid, which is government-driven, HIP 2.0 is consumer-driven.

    July 2, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Texting law serves safety

    July 1 each year marks the day in Indiana when new laws take effect. But rather than focus on new laws today, let’s observe the anniversary of a law that went on the books three years ago this month — the law that barred texting while driving.

    July 1, 2014

  • Readers’ Forum: July 2, 2014

    July 1, 2014

Latest News
TribStar.com Poll
AP Video
Raw: Israel, Gaza Exchange Rocket Fire Raw: Stunning Timelapse of WC Final Host City Joy Fills Streets of Cleveland As LeBron Returns Raw: Militants, Israelis Exchange Rocket Fire Israel Widens Attack As Gaza Death Toll Rises Raw: Airstrike Creates Chaos on Gaza Streets Netherlands Beats Host Brazil 3-0 to Finish 3rd Texas Shooting Suspect Collapses in Court Raw: Airstrike Creates Chaos on Gaza Streets Raw: Sirens Blare Over Jerusalem Proposed Bill to Regulate NY Costumed Characters Diaz and Segel Strip Off for 'Sex Tape' Death Toll Tops 100 As Israel Offense Continues Raw: Rebel Leader Weds in Eastern Ukraine Ana Ortiz on 'Devious Maids' Finale LeBron: Move Back to Cleveland 'Exciting' FIFA Rejects Suarez Appeal Against Biting Ban WH: LeBron's Move a 'Powerful Statement' World Cup Final Pits Argentina Against Germany Arizona Mom of Missing Baby Released From Prison
NDN Video
Cleveland welcomes home LeBron Houston Killer Collapses in Court When Read Capital Murder Charges for Allegedly Killing Family of Six Worst Valet Ever Wrecks $500K Lamborghini Glee Star Becca Tobin's Boyfriend Matt Bendik Found Dead in Hotel Aerial fish restocking in Utah ScarJo Channels Marilyn Monroe Obama Responds to Hecklers on Immigration Tiny Hamsters Who Ate Burritos are Back for a Tiny Hedgehog's Party Watch Kelly Ripa Get Soaked! 'Referee' Hands Out Yellow Cards for Social Faux Pas in NYC 2014 Emmy Nominees: 8 Snub Shockers Emma Watson Is Va-Va-Voom in Valentino 7 Infamous Sports Blowouts Argentina tops Holland in World Cup semifinals News flush: Japanese toilet exhibition making a splash Emmy Nominations: What to Watch For 'Game of Thrones' Leads 66th Emmy Awards Nominations Photographic 'Proof' That LeBron Is Leaving Miami - @TheBuzzeronFOX Elephant Pool Party at The Oregon Zoo Must-See! Berry and Fallon Form Human Hamster Wheel
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
  • -

     

    March 12, 2010

activity