News From Terre Haute, Indiana

May 22, 2013

New conservancy district appoints first directors

The Tribune-Star

TERRE HAUTE — Members of the first board of directors of a new lake conservancy district were appointed Tuesday by the Vigo County Board of Commissioners.

The Move Over Lake Conservancy District was established on May 2 under a court order in Vigo County Superior Court Division 1. The district was initially approved in an annual meeting of landowners around the man-made lake south of Riley.

The district was also approved by the Indiana Division of Natural Resources. The district allows for the collection of funds from district property owners to maintain and improve the lake as well as a dam and spillway.

County commissioners were ordered by the court to appoint the district’s first board of directors. After the initial appointment, district members will elected board members.

The initial 3-member board of directors, approved by county commissioners, is James E. Twiggs, for Area 1, with his term expiring at the district’s annual meeting in 2016; Andrew K. Faust, for Area 2, with his term expiring at the annual meeting in 2015; and Randal G. Hoffman, for Area 3, with his term expiring in 2014.