News From Terre Haute, Indiana

July 12, 2012

METRO ROUNDUP: ISU basketball players honored by NABC

Staff Writer
The Tribune-Star

TERRE HAUTE — The National Association of Basketball Coaches announced the its NABC Honors Court this week, recognizing collegiate basketball student-athletes who excelled in academics during the 2011-12 season.

The Indiana State men’s basketball team have senior Jordan Printy and redshirt junior Lucas Eitel in the group.

Printy and Eitel were named to the Missouri Valley Conference’s Scholar-Athlete team following the 2011-12 season, with Printy earning first-team honors, while Eitel was voted to the second team.

Printy, a native of Marion, Iowa, played in all 33 games last season, earning the starting nod on 30 occasions and placing fourth on the team at 7.3 points per game. One of the best three-point shooters in ISU history, Printy knocked down 62 triples as a senior and tallied 215 for his career, one of just two student-athletes in program history to go over 200 treys (Michael Menser, 283, 1997-2001). Printy graduated this past spring with a degree in education while carrying a 3.71 grade-point average.

Eitel, a redshirt junior from Marshall, Ill., appeared in 32 games off the bench as a sophomore in 2011-12, averaging 3.0 points per game while shooting 42.9 percent from beyond the arc (21 of 49). Eitel turned in his best game of the season Jan. 10, against Evansville, leading the Sycamores to an 80-78 win with 12 points in 22 minutes off the bench. The 6-foot-2 guard checks in with a 3.62 GPA in the classroom while majoring in education.

In order to be named to the Honors Court, an athlete must meet a high standard of academic criteria. The qualifications are as follows: Academically a junior or senior and a varsity player; have a cumulative GPA of 3.2 or higher at the conclusion of the 2011-12 academic year; have matriculated at least one year at a current member of an NCAA Division I, II, III, or NAIA institution.


n Conrad in lead — At the French Lick Springs Resort courses, Stephen Conrad became the third leader in three days Wednesday in Indiana Open action.

Conrad shot 70 in the third round and is tied with 36-hole leader Jeff Cook, each with 1-under-par 211 scores.

They are one shot up on four players: Tyler Merkel, Chase Wright, Corey Ziedonis and Blake Watts.

First-round leader Austin Tereshko is another shot back with three other players.

Play winds up today.

Indiana Open leaders

211 — Stephen Conrad 72-69-70, Jeff Cook 68-69-74.

212 — Tyler Merkel 71-72-69, Chase Wright 72-70-70, Corey Ziedonis 70-71-71, Blake Watts 75-63-74.

213 — Andrew Wegeng 68-76-69, John DalCorobbo 71-72-70, Rusty Mason 70-70-73, Austin Tereshko 66-74-73.

214 — David Mills 73-70-71, Eric Steger 72-66-66.

n Results in — At Idle Creek, the foursome of Dave Zweisler, Dale Long, Pat Monaghan and Eric Fettig won the gross division of the CSN event June 30.

CSN event

Low gross

59 — Dave Zweisler, Dale Long, Pat Monaghan and Eric Fettig.

Low net

62 (1st) — Bob Depasse, Dawn Depasse, Chris Houge and Amanda Houge.

62 (2nd) — Tony Cordova, Jeff Deck, Justen Deck and Chris Deck.

Proximity awards

Closest to pin — Zweisler on No. 3, Long on No. 9, C.Deck on No. 12, Long on No. 16.

Longest drive — Chris Talbot on No. 15.

Longest putt — C.Deck on No. 18.

Auto racing

n Clauson posts win — At Sun Prairie, Wis., Bryan Clauson was the feature winner in U.S. Auto Club midget racing Sunday at Angell Park Speedway.

Clauson led the final 18 turns to win the 30-lap main followed by Brad Kuhn and Tracy Hines, who was fast qualifier and won his heat.

Darren Hagen was fourth and will take a 186-point lead over Hines in the midget point totals into a July 26 race at Lucas Oil Raceway.

Sunday’s results

Fast qualifier — Tracy Hines.

Heat winners — Hines, Jerry Coons Jr., Danny Stratton, Dillon Welch (semi).

Feature — Bryan Clauson, Brad Kuhn, Hines, Darren Hagen, Zach Daum, Coons, Kyle Larson, Chris Windom, Davey Ray, Jake Blackhurst, Stratton, Mike Hess, Welch, Rico Abreu, Bill Balog.

USAC midget point leaders — Hagen 928, Hines 742, Clauson 677, Caleb Armstrong 664, Bobby East 545.

n Fox, Weber win — At Haubstadt, Scott Weber and Michael Fox won features in Late Model Summernationals action Sunday at Tri-State Speedway.

Weber won the main event for late models and Fox won the A-main for modifieds.

Kenny Wallace placed ninth in the main for modifieds.

Late Model Summernationals action is slated for today at the Action Track.

Sunday’s results

Late models

Heat winners — Brandon Sheppard, Brian Shirley, Scott James, Dillon White (C-main).

Feature — Scott Weber, James, Shirley, Shannon Babb, Sheppard, Ryan Unzicker, Austin Dillon, Randy Korte, Rodney Melvin, Jason McBride, Michael Kloos, Bobby Pierce, Jason Feger, Mike Spatola, White.


Heat winners — Stephen Schnapf, Larry Anderson, Michael Fox, Josh Harris, Zach Dennis, Paul Miles (B-main), Tyler Diebert (B-main 2).

Feature —Fox, Stan Beadles, Schnapf, Matt Mevert, Anderson, Bradley Sterrett, Tyler Weiss, Dave Beck, Kenny Wallace, Miles, Diebert, Everett Bradham, Willie Madison, Michael Stuckey, Levi Kissinger.

n Bryan wins again — At Putnamville, C.J. Bryan was a double winner again in Saturday’s racing at Lincoln Park Speedway.

Bryan won his heat and feature for bomber cars. Other feature winners were Chris Windom in sprints, Paul Bumgardner in UMP modifieds and Troy Clark in super stocks.

Saturday’s results

Sprint cars

Heat winners — Billy Puterbaugh, Kent Christian, Casey Shuman, Garrett Abrams (B-main).

Feature — Chris Windom, Jon Stanbrough, Shuman, Kevin Thomas Jr., Brent Beauchamp, A.J. Hopkins, Scotty Weir, Christian, Jeff Bland Jr., Joe Ligouri, Nick Drake, Abrams, Matt Goodnight, Keaton Dobbs, Matt Thompson.

UMP modifieds

Heat winners — Paul Bumgardner, Bradley Sterrett.

Feature — Bumgardner, Sterrett, Kenny Carmichael, Eric Varner, Jeremy Owens, Chuck Walden, Andrew Auler, Michael Beatty, Kenny Carmichael Jr., Richie Lex.

Super stocks

Heat winners — Mike Staggs, Troy Clark.

Feature — Clark, Doug McCullough, A.J. Clark, Roy Bruce Jr., Slick Griffin, Jeremy Helton, Carmichael, Carmichael Jr., Staggs, J.R. Watkins.


Heat winners — C.J. Bryan, Josh Settles.

Feature — Bryan, Scott Tidwell, David Bumgardner, Josh Foxworthy, David Wallen, Josh Presley, Settles, Jef Beggs, Kenny Treash, Frank Cotton.