News From Terre Haute, Indiana

August 25, 2013

METRO ROUNDUP: ISU soccer wins its season opener

Depasse takes second in Terre Haute Criterium

The Tribune-Star

TERRE HAUTE — Sophomore Kate Johnson sent in the game-winning goal from 20 yards out in the 106th minute to give the Sycamores a 2-1 win over the Eagles of Georgia Southern in their season opener Friday.

The Eagles struck first in the third minute on a shot just outside the box to give them an early 1-0 lead over the Sycamores.

The Sycamores came back to even the score at 1-1 in the 37th minute off a free kick goal by freshman Kayla Welch.

Sycamore keeper Brittany San Roman kept the score tied in the 78th minute, making a diving save off a Georgia Southern attack.

The Sycamores will return to action today when they host Butler at Memorial Stadium at 1 p.m.


• Terre Haute Criterium — At Fairbanks Park, Terre Haute native Kevin Depasse took runner-up in the Category 1/2/3 race to cap the inaugural Terre Haute Criterium on Saturday.

Ryan Shean of Indianapolis pulled away in the final lap of the 60-minute race, and Depasse outsprinted Luke McLaughlin of Louisville, Ky., to take a photo finish for second place. Luke Hillman was third.

Robert Brooks won the men’s masters race, and Joseph Van Denburg of Terre Haute won the men’s Category 4/5 race. Mark Powell won the men’s Category 3 race. More than 50 cylcists competed in the event.


• Cassell leads at Rea Park — Chris Cassell is the leader in the Rea Park Championship after one round, holding a one-shot lead over Scott Givens.

Cassell went 34-36 with seven birdies and two bogeys to shoot 70 on Saturday. Givens was 37-34 in shooting 71. Ezra Evans, Andy Jackson and Travis Turpen all had 72 to tie for third.

Chuck Adamson and Bill Verdeyen each had 70 and share the lead in the senior division. Adamson was 34-36 and Verdeyen went 35-35.

Steve Prevo had 72 for third and Dick Stockberger carded 73 for fourth.

Play winds up today with the leaders teeing off at 10:16 a.m.

Rea Park Championship

Open Division leaders

70 — Chris Cassell 34-36

71 — Scott Givens 37-34

72 — Ezra Evans 37-35, Andy Jackson 37-35, Travis Turpen

Senior Division leaders

70 — Chuck Adamson 34-36, Bill Verdeyen 35-35

Today’s tee times, pairings

Senior Division, second flight

8 a.m. — Collins 88, Campbell 84, Bays 84

8:08 — Mike Bird  83, Jones 83, Gormong 83

8:16 — Seal 83, Chirhart 83, Robinson 82

First flight

8:24 — Solomon 80, Thomas 80, Homburg 80

8:32 — Haller 79, Webster 79, Myers 78

8:40 — Carson 78, Snodgrass 78, King 77

Championship flight

8:48 — Kusch 75, Wilcoxon 75, Payne 74

8:56 — Stockberger 73, Prevo 72, Verdeyen 70, Ådamson 70

Open Division, second flight

9:04 — Cordova 89, Chris Mundy 88, Gormong 87

9:12 — Braxton McIntyre  83, Neaderhiser 82, Mimms 82

9:20 — Jenkins 82, Luke Peoples 80, Klutey 80

First flight

9:28 — Kyle 79, Sam Peoples 79, Carson 79

9:36 — Shouse 79, Tim Mundy 79, Ron McIntyre 78

9:44 — Amies 77, Toney 77, Kaperak 77

9:52 — Anderson 76, Mark Bird 76, Ryan Cahill 76, Atkinson 76

Championship flight

10 a.m. — Alumbaugh 75, Roscoe 75, Baugh 75, Matchett 74

10:08 — Higgins 74, Winning 74, Drew Cahill 74, Turpen 72

10:16 — Evans 72, Jackson 72, Givens 71, Cassell 70

Auto racing

• Darland prevails — At Kokomo, Dave Darland won the feature race Friday in the second night of the Sprint Car Smackdown at Kokomo Speedway.

Darland was fast qualifier and led the final 12 turns to win the 30-lap main. Chase Stockon took second wile Blake Fitzpatrick won his heat.

Darland assumed first place in the U. S. Auto Club sprint point totals, leading Bryan Clauson by 16 points going into the third round of the action at Kokomo.

Friday’s results

Fast qualifier — Dave Darland.

Heat winners — Jon Stanbrough, Hunter Schuerenberg, Kevin Thomas Jr., Blake Fitzpatrick, Shane Cottle (semi).

Feature — Darland, Chase Stockon, Brady Bacon, Bryan Clauson, Cottle, Tracy Hines, Chris Windom, Casey Shuman, Scotty Weir, Robert Ballou, Chad Boespflug, Tyler Courtney, Wes McIntyre, Stanbrough, Dakota Jackson, Fitzpatrick, C.J. Leary, Thomas Meseraull, Schuerenberg, Daron Clayton, Christopher Bell, Braylon Fitzpatrick, Thomas.

• Short posts win — At Bloomington, Brady Short was a feature race winner Friday at Bloomington Speedway.

Short won the main event for sprint cars with Danny Holtsclaw second and Seth Parker of West Terre Haute third. Parker and Holtsclaw won their heats.

Other winners were Jesse Cramer in modifieds, Aaron Fields in super stocks, and Greg Garrison in hornets.

Friday’s results

Sprint cars

Heat winners — Seth Parker, Landon Simon, Danny Holtsclaw.

Feature — Brady Short, Holtsclaw, Parker, Levi Shields, Chris Babcock, Joe Ligouri, Travis Welpott, Bub Cummings, Kent Christian, Max McGhee, Simon, Ethan Fleetwood, Eric Edwards, Tony Main, Çharlie Beldon Jr.

UMP modifieds

Heat winners — Jesse Cramer, Greg Amick, Jake Humphrey.

Feature — Cramer, Richie Lex, John Demoss, Amick, Kenny Carmichael, Chad Combs, Mike Bechelli, Bryson Clark, Jerry Davis, Jeff Deckard, Humphrey Kenny Carmichael Jr., Blake Davis, Bradley Sterrett, Devin Gilpin.

UMP super stocks

Heat winners — Steve Peeden, Chris Hillman.

Feature — Aaron Fields, Peeden, Steve Hollars, Troy Clark, Roy Bruce Jr., Jack Frye, Steve Hawkins, Tyler Loughmiller, Chip Slagle, Aubrey Eagan.


Heat winners — Luke Bland, Whitney Baldwin, Chris Deckard.

Feature — Greg Garrison, Ryan Hehman, Bland, Matt Hamilton, Dan Morgan, Frank Robertson, Baldwin, Lisa Raines, Deckard, Bryson Clark.