News From Terre Haute, Indiana

July 22, 2012

METRO ROUNDUP: North LL gets no-hitter to open 11-12 state tourney

Staff Writer
The Tribune-Star

DYER — Blade Pittman, Kendal Riley and Chance Cooper combined on a no-hitter to lead Terre Haute North to a 2-0 victory over Dyer in the first day of pool play in the Little League 11-12s state tournament on Saturday.

North scored its two runs in the bottom of the fifth inning, a two-run single by Parker Bray scoring Chris Taylor and Avery Briddick.

Dyer    000    000    —    0    0    0

TH North    000    02x    —    2    5    0

TH North battery: Blade Pittman, Kendall Riley (4), Chance Cooper (6) and Colten Panaranto. W — Riley. Sv — Cooper.

Highlights — For North, Chris Taylor was 2 for 3 with a run scored; Parker Bray was 1 for 3 with 2 RBI; Colten Panaranto was 1 for 3; Evan Funkhouser was 1 for 1; Avery Briddick had a walk and run scored.

Next — TH North (1-0 in pool play) plays Ben Davis at 10 a.m. today.

In other baseball:

• Post 346 juniors win twice — At Kokomo, the Wayne Newton Post 346 junior team won its first two games in American Legion northern regional and will play for the championship today.

Post 346 defeated defending state champion Crown Point 5-4 on Friday on a game-winning hit by Lane Dransfield in the bottom of the seventh inning. Nick Prevo, Greg Hannum, Jack Harbaugh and Derrick Bennett also had RBIs. Post 346 trailed 4-2 going into the bottom of the sixth.

On Saturday, Austin Hicks pitched a complete game and Post 346 withstood a three-run seventh inning to beat the host Kokomo team 4-3. Harbaugh and Jonathan Eilbracht had run-scoring doubles for the winners.

Auto racing

• Thomas prevails — At Bloomington, Kevin Thomas Jr. was a double winner in Indiana Sprint Week action Friday at Bloomington Speedway.

Thomas won the semi and led the final 25 laps to win the 30-lap feature to become the fifth different winner in Sprint Week races. Dave Darland won his heat, led the first five laps of the main and finished second.

Chase Stockon qualified fifth fastest in the 43-car field and was sixth in the feature. He ranked seventh in ISW points going into the final two races at Haubstadt and Putnamville.

Jon Stanbrough was the leader in U.S. Auto Club sprint totals while Levi Jones was first in ISW points.

Friday’s results

Fast qualifier — Shane Cottle.

Heat winners — Scotty Weir (qualifying race), Hunter Schuerenberg, Brent Beauchamp, Dave Darland, Jon Sciscoe, Kevin Thomas Jr. (semi).

Feature — Thomas, Darland, Beauchamp, Jerry Coons Jr., Bryan Clauson, Chase Stockon, Jon Stanbrough, Levi Jones, Cottle, Robert Ballou, Bobby East, Daron Clayton, Chad Boespflug, Darren Hagen, Damion Gardner.