News From Terre Haute, Indiana

June 26, 2012

METRO ROUNDUP: Riley 12s win state championship in Columbus

Staff Writer
The Tribune-Star

COLUMBUS — Riley’s 12-year-olds won the United States Specialty Sports Association Class AA state baseball tournament at Columbus, completing a 5-0 weekend with a win over Greene County’s Sandlot Spartans in the championship game.

Riley beat the Lafayette Harrison Raiders 9-1 and the Tipton Young Guns 10-2 in pool play on Saturday, then downed the Franklin Grizzly Cubs 12-4 and the Hendricks County Hurricane 10-6 to reach the championship game.

Sandlot Spartans    010    001    —    2    4    3

Riley    200    30x    —    5    6    0

WP — Benji Downs. LP — Allen.

Highlights — For Riley, Caleb Cannon was 2 for 2 with a double, winning pitcher Benji Downs was 2 for 3 with 2 RBIs and walked just 1 in 6 innings, and Eli Harden had a double and an RBI.

Next — Riley plays in its own Riley Invitational beginning Thursday.

Team members — Conner Brown, Cannon, Tate Cooper, Billy Davignon, Downs, Gabriel Foust, Shane Garner, Harden, Will Hayes, Lukas Johnson, Greg Schultz. Manager is Tim Hayes, coaches are Tim Downs and Dan Cook.

• WRV pitcher is MVP — At Indianapolis, Ethan Sparks of White River Valley pitched a complete-game shutout with seven strikeouts and drove in the only run with a seventh-inning single Sunday as the South team beat the North 1-0 in the Class 1A junior game of the Indiana Elite All-Star Showcase.

Eight games were played at Decatur Central High School during the weekend with recent high school juniors and seniors playing North-South games in each of four classes.

Sparks was named Most Valuable Player of the 1A junior game.

• Seniors compete — The following result was reported from Terre Haute Men’s Senior League play.

Yankees    010    002    011    —    5    12    2

Cardinals    000    300    100    —    4    9    1

K.Volkers and J.Stephens, A.Nielsen (6); C.Swaner and D.Hutchens.

Highlights — For the Volkers Group Yankees, Kyle Volkers struck out 15 batters, Mike Hughes had 3 hits and John Bragg singled and scored the winning run in the top of the 9th. Chris Swaner had 2 doubles for the Cardinals.


• Grandson wins “Mark’s Memorial” — At Mark’s Par Three, Adam LaGrange shot a 60 to win the boys 16-19 division of the “Mark’s Memorial” junior tournament sponsored by the Riley Lions on Sunday.

It’s the eighth annual tournament for the Riley Lions, now named in honor of the late Mark LaGrange — Adam’s grandfather.

Other winners were Andrew Granda, who shot 65 for a 20-stroke win in boys 11-13; Braxton McIntyre in boys 14-15; Justin Pruiett in boys 10-under; Carson Smith in girls 14-15; Megan Ramer in girls 11-13; and Gabriella Bonilla in girls 10-under. Boys 10 and under and all the girls played just nine holes.

Boys 16-19

60 — Adam LaGrange

65 — Ryan Baker

66 — Brendan O’Connell

67 — Dante Bagnoche

68 — Andrew Behnke

69 — Zach Thomas

70 — Mario Foradori

78 — Nathan Bashaw

79 — Ethan Caldwell

83 — Tate Egan

95 — Cody Steele

Boys 14-15

77 — Braxton McIntyre

83 — Dominic DeSantis

84 — Justin Wilson

Boys 11-13

65 — Andrew Granda

85 — Mason Boes

96 — Jalen Satterfield, Clayton Buck

98 — Luke Weaver

99 — Sam Bowen

138 — Zander Johnson

WD — Garrison Gottsche

Boys 10-under

46 — Justin Pruiett

63 — Blaize Stinnett, Hayden Hughes

Girls 14-15

58 — Carson Smith

62 — Kelli Carney

Girls 11-13

39 — Megan Ramer

51 — Morgan Finney

52 — Layla Ahmadi

58 — Emily Wright

59 — Sarah Behnke

Girls 10-under

66 — Gabriella Bonilla

68 — Aurora Bonilla

WD — Kyar McVey

• Tattoo Tournament — At the Country Club of Terre Haute, Fred and Becky Barth and Lou and Jan Harmening won their respective divisions Sunday in the annual Tattoo Tournament.


9 under — Fred and Becky Barth

5 under — John and Phyllis White


7 over — Lou and Jan Harmening

11 over — Bill and Joyce Burdine

Skill awards

Straight drive — P.White (women, No. 8), F.Barth (men, No. 18)

Closest to pin — B.Burdine (men, No. 10), Caroline Unger (women, No. 16)

Auto racing

• Darland, Stanbrough win — Dave Darland and Jon Stanbrough were winners in U.S. Auto Club weekend sprint car races in Wisconsin.

At Sun Prairie, Darland led all the way to win Sunday’s 30-lap main with Chris Windom second and Stanbrough third at Angell Park Speedway.

At Wilmot, Stanbrough won his heat on Saturday and passed Kevin Thomas Jr. on the 28th lap to win the 30-lap feature at Wilmot Raceway. Thomas led 20 laps and was second.

Stanbrough regained first place in the USAC sprint point totals and has a 26-point lead over Levi Jones going into the first Indiana Sprint Week race on July 13.

Chase Stockon finished eighth and 12th in the two features.

Saturday’s results

Fast qualifier — Kevin Thomas Jr.

Heat winners — Hunter Schuerenberg, Jerry Coons Jr., Jon Stanbrough.

Feature — Stanbrough, Thomas, Shane Cottle, Levi Jones, Damion Gardner, Chris Windom, Darren Hagen, Chase Stockon, C.J. Leary, Chris Gurley, Coons, Steve Irwin, Robert Ballou, Ryan Irwin, Bret Mellenberndt.

Sunday’s results

Fast qualifier — Bryan Clauson.

Heat winners — Leary, Thomas, Tracy Hines.

Feature — Dave Darland, Windom, Stanbrough, Schuerenberg, Hagen, Jones, Hines, Ballou, Gardner, Coons, Clauson, Stockon, Thomas, Leary, Mike Hess.

USAC sprint point leaders — Stanbrough 767, Jones 741, Darland 700, Gardner 696, Hines 673.

• Clark posts win — At Putnamville, Troy Clark won the main event for super stocks in racing on Saturday at Lincoln Park Speedway.


Saturday’s results

B-main — Danny Holtsclaw.

Feature — Casey Shuman, Jeff Bland Jr., Brett Burdette, A.J. Hopkins, Scotty Weir, Brent Beauchamp, Josh Burton, Dakota Jackson, Keaton Dobbs, Josh Moffatt, Rod Henning, Mike Burkin, Rick Vaughn, Troy Link, Shawn Krockenberger.

UMP modifieds

B-main — Jason Thomas.

Feature — Brian Hayden, Richie Lex, Paul Bumgardner, Kenny Carmichael Jr., Dan Lewellen, Craig Conyer, Kenny Carmichael, Duane Lee, Carlos Bumgardner, Jeff Bland Jr.

Super stocks

B-main — Kris Starks.

Feature — Troy Clark, Slick Griffin, P.Bumgardner, Mike Cawood, Carmichael, Marty Cooper, Mike Staggs, Dustin Shoulders, Kris Starks, Steve Shecks.


B-main — Josh Settles.

Feature — David Bumgardner, C.J. Bryan, Doug McCullough, David Wallen, Mike Fisher Jr., Blake Cross, Jeff Beggs, Tom Courtney, Josh Presley, Justin Minardo.