News From Terre Haute, Indiana

May 22, 2012

METRO ROUNDUP: ISU 5th in MVC all-sport standings

Staff Writer
The Tribune-Star

TERRE HAUTE — Winning three league championships in 2011-12 helped Indiana State finish fifth in the Missouri Valley Conference All-Sports Trophy standings announced Monday by the league office.

ISU won men’s cross country, men’s outdoor track and field and baseball championships during the past academic year. All-Sports Trophy winner Missouri State had five championships and runner-up Wichita State had four.

The Sycamores’ fifth-place finish is its highest since a similar ranking in 2005-06; ISU earned fourth-place honors in 2004-05 and 2000-01.

Standings are based on a school’s average finish in each of the sponsored championships by the Missouri Valley Conference. Teams are awarded one point for first, two for second, three for third, etc., and the total accumulated points are divided by the number of sports in which a particular school competes.

Missouri State earned its first MVC All-Sports Trophy since 2002-03 with an average finish of 2.62, edging out the Shockers at 2.87. Illinois State averaged a 3.35, Northern Iowa 4.57 and the Sycamores 4.92; only the top five finishers are released each year by the league.


• Sycamores have 36 honorees — Indiana State’s football team had two student-athletes earn the President’s Council Academic Awards, nine receive the Commisioner’s Academic Excellence Award and a total of 36 join the Missouri Valley Football Conference Honor Roll, the school announced Monday.

The President’s Council requires a minimum 3.5 grade-point average and participation in at least two seasons for a student within 18 hours of graduation. The Commissioner’s Award has a requirement of a 3.2 GPA for the previous two semesters and the Honor Roll requires a 3.0 GPA with at least 12 semester hours during the fall semester.

President’s Council awards — Julian Easterly, Alex Sewall.

Commissioner’s awards — Alex Bettag, Keith Dietel, Easterly, Luke Harris, Evan Norris, Chris O’Leary, Dillon Painter, Sewall, Lawrence Young.

Honor Roll — Seth Arnold, Bettag, Cory Bichey, Logan Buske, Braden Collins, Dietel, Patrick Doyle, Easterly, Daniel Gabbard, Reuben Greene, Jess Harris, L.Harris, Taje High, Blake Hopf, Travis Johnson, Joshua Keyt, FN Lutz, Michael Mardis, Evan Norris, O’Leary, Ifeanyi Osude, Painter, Casey Paswater, Desean Prentice, Logan Rehrer, Tanner Riley, Ryan Roberts, Jacob Sapp, Bryn Schwartz, A.Sewall, Mark Sewall, Tyler Stafford, Alexander Stowers, Kendall Walker, Matthew White, Young.


• Two Sycamores named — The Missouri Valley Conference announced its 2012 Scholar-Athlete teams for softball on Monday. Indiana State’s Alyssa Doyle and Halee Myers earned honorable-mention status.

Doyle is a recent graduate with a 3.97 grade-point average in elementary education. Myers just finished her junior season and has a 3.9178 GPA, also in elementary education.


• Post 346 outing — At Oak Ridge, the annual outing to support the Wayne Newton Post 346 American Legion baseball team was conducted Sunday.

First place actual — E.T. Horrall, Blayd Horrall, John Hayes

Second place actual — Harper, Mahan, Kruse, Kusch

First place handicap — M.Sturm, D.Sturm, J.Lawson, S.Lawson

Second place handicap — S.Milam, T.Smith, W.Smith, S.Brewer

Longest drive ladies — K.Hannum

Longest drive men — J.Kusch

Closest to pin — D.Crabb

Longest putt — R.Petty