News From Terre Haute, Indiana

July 4, 2013

Fast Track Mile draws generations of runners

Race to be run Thursday morning

Craig Pearson
The Tribune-Star

TERRE HAUTE — A record turnout is possible at today’s 32nd annual Fast Track Mile and Bob Lemont is doing all he can to contribute to the turnout.

The 82-year-old runner has encouraged a large portion of his family — four generations to be precise — to participate in the one-mile race down Wabash Avenue — which will be run today — this year.

Lemont, who resides in Brazil, is battling a hamstring injury after battling through his most recent 5K. 

“I started running at age 41, about 1971, and then ran my first marathon in 1973,” Lemont said. “Jogging was just taking off then, they didn’t have all the fancy gear they have now. I first started running in a pair of low-cut Converse shoes.”

His son Bob Lemont Jr. and grandson Trey Lemont will be running. Trey finished a tour in the armed forces, returning home to wife Raven and 6-month-old Tinsley.

“She’ll be pushing the baby,” Lemont Sr. said.

His 17-year-old great grandson Kelly Hawkins will also be running. 

“We’ll probably just all stick together. It’s a nice way to kick off the holiday. Usually, after the run we head down to the IHop for breakfast,” Lemont Sr. said.

A record 334 runners are pre-registered for the race, but walk-up registation put the total number of runners over 450 in 2012. Cost is $15 to run today and $20 to also get a t-shirt.

That’s been a common theme for the Wabash Valley Roadrunners, race director Dave Williams said.

“All of our events last year broke attendance records,” Williams said. “And our first one this year, the Swamp Stomp, also set a record. We’re hoping to keep that going.”

Participants vary from serious trainers to casual joggers to walkers.

Terre Haute North standout TaPring Goatee was the 2012 female winner. She is expected to register today. Jayson Meyer was the 2012 male winner.

The only other past winner registered is Danelle Readinger, formerly Danelle Leaf, a former Indiana State track standout.

The proceeds of the race go to the Wabash Valley Road Runners scholarship program and to its youth running program.

Terre Haute North runners Justin Clapp and Annie Mullican are this year’s scholarship winners.

The youth running program includes Wabash Valley youth from ages four to teenagers, many of whom will be running today.

“It’s a free program that meets a couple times a week during the summer. It keeps them running and playing games and keeping active,” Williams said.

Action begins near 4th and Wabash with the women’s race at 8:15 a.m. and the men’s race at 8:30 a.m. The finish line is near Gilbert Park.

Fast Track Mile winners

(formerly known as Mayor’s Cup Mile)

Overall male, female champions

1982 — Tony Nading and Denise Weinhoeft.

1983 — Tony Nading and Amanda Willhite.

1984 — Tony Nading and Teri Wiser.

1985 — Marty Jones and Teri Wiser.

1986 — Brad Cooper and Debbie Anderson.

1987 — Barry Schnieders and Meg McElroy.

1988 — Tony Nading and Meg McElroy.

1989 — Mike Eup and Meg (McElroy) Schnieders.

1990 — Todd Messer and Mellissa Utterback.

1991 — Kyle Hobbs and Meg (McElroy) Schnieders.

1992 — Darcy Jones and Christi Olson.

1993 — Chad McCullough and Ruth Ozmun.

1994 — Kevin Sullivan and Ruth Ozmun.

1995 — Chad Smith and Ruth Ozmun.

1996 — Chad Smith and Danelle Leaf.

1997 — Rick Sluder and Angie Menser.

1998 — Chad Contri and Michelle McIntosh.

1999 — Paul Risch and Alyssa Pittman.

2000 — Chad Contri and Angie Bruecker.

2001 — Jason Gunn and Angie Bruecker.

2002 — Chad Contri and Cassie Hunt.

2003 — Chad Contri and Cassie Hunt.

2004 — Dustin Strosnider and Cassie Hunt.

2005 — Jeff Simonich and Cassie Hunt.

2006 — Andrew Sullivan and Amy Hamilton.

2007 — Lucas Roscoe and Kayla Alexander.

2008 — Justin Kunz and Kayla Alexander.

2009 — Josh Bedford and TaPring Goatee.

2010 — Roger Busch and TaPring Goatee.

2011 — Roger Busch and Cassie Hunt

2012 — Jayson Meyer and TaPring Goatee.