News From Terre Haute, Indiana

May 8, 2013

THPD holds annual award banquet

Adamson named officer of the year

Special to The Tribune-Star
The Tribune-Star

TERRE HAUTE — Officer Ryan Adamson was named Terre Haute Police Officer of the Year at the Terre Haute Police Department Recognition and Commendation Dinner on Tuesday. Also, Adamson and K-9 Carón received the Combat Cross award and Adamson was one of 51 men and women who received a Grand Cordon award.

Officers, friends and family members gathered to honor men and women of the THPD and civilians who gave extraordinary service to the community during 2012.

Detective Bryant Todd Kennedy received the Individual Grand Cordon award and officer Gerald Kurdelak received the Gallantry Star.

About 100 awards and honors were conferred upon more than 60 police officers, along with selected civilians, who were honored in more than 10 categories of service and achievement.

In special presentations, Bill Wolfe, sculptor and Indiana artist, received the Mike Dinkel Memorial Award. Wolfe sculpted the six-foot bronze statue of THPD Officer Brent Long and his K-9 partner Shadow, which will be a centerpiece for a memorial honoring all Terre Haute police officers killed in the line of duty. Officer Long died on July 11, 2011.

Recipients of the Civilian Service Award were veterinarian Dr. Patricia Cook, veterinarian Dr. Jessica Cook, Tom Greenberg and Kevin Mason.

Susan Dinkel, news director at WTHI-TV, served as master of ceremonies. Mayor Duke Bennett and THPD Chief John Plasse also participated. The annual event, now in its 22nd year and sponsored by First Financial Bank, was conducted in Sycamore Banquet Center, Hulman Memorial Student Union, Indiana State University. First Financial Bank is a member of First Financial Corporation.

Terre Haute Police Department Commendation Award Winners

n Officer of the Year: Ryan Adamson

n Individual Grand Cordon: Detective Bryant Todd Kennedy

n Combat Cross: Officer Ryan Adamson and K-9 Carón

n Gallantry Star: Officer Gerald Kurdelak

n Life Saving: Sgt. Jeremy Sparks, Cpl. Phillip Haley and officer Christopher Mundy

n Mike Dinkel Memorial Award: Bill Wolfe, artist and sculptor

n Civilian Service Award: Dr. Patricia Cook, veterinarian; Dr. Jessica Cook, veterinarian; Tom Greenberg; and Kevin Mason

n Police Achievement: Detectives Troy Pesavento, Jimmie Richardson, Rick Decker and Bryant Todd Kennedy; Sgt. Larry Manley; and Lt. Jason Brentlinger

n Honorable Service: Sergeants Joseph T. Pearce and Larry Manley; Detectives Troy Pesavento, Jimmie Richardson, Sanford Scott Jr. and Travis Chesshir, who was the recipient of two honorable service awards; and officers Matthew Rains, Scott Marshall, Philip Ralston and Eric Eldred

n Unit Citation: Sergeants Michael Ellerman, Jason Czupryn, Kevin Barrett, Christian Gallagher and Michael McGuire; officers Robert Pitts, Justin Sears, Marc Phillips, Eric Atterson, Orbie Dawson, John Gallion, Brent Stoelting and Kenneth Fischer; Assistant Police Chief Shawn Keen; Lt. Jason Brentlinger; and Detectives Sanford Scott Jr., Troy Davis and Kenneth Murphy

n Grand Cordon: Lieutenants Dale Loudermilk, Jason Brentlinger, Jeff Milner, Edward Tompkins and Aaron Loudermilk; Sergeants Michael Ellerman, Scott Sevigny, William Sheldon, Jason Czupryn, Christian Gallagher, Gary Shook, Matthew Carden, Harold Seifers and Stan Weinzapfel; Sgt. Joseph T. Pearce received two Grand Cordon Awards; officers David Rafter, Jonathan Ringo, Matthew Murray, Daniel LaFave, Adam Loudermilk, Brad Birchfield, Robert Pitts, Mark McCammon, Scott Marshall, Drew Thornsbrough, Eric Atterson, Gerald Kurdelak, Jesse Chambers, Bryan Baker, D. Mark Minnick, Brittany Coffman, Ryan Adamson and Kurt Brinegar; officers Matthew Rains and James Ribolla each received two Grand Cordon awards; officer Danial Armentrout received three Grand Cordon awards; Detectives David Stamper, Jimmie Richardson, Brad Rumsey, David Thompson, Stephen Lockard, Starla Neidigh, Troy Davis, Michael Mikuly, Jeff Trotter, Kenneth Murphy and Charles Burress; Detective Troy Pesavento received two Grand Cordon awards; Detective Cpl. Darren Long; Captain Carl Green; and Assistant Chief Shawn Keen