News From Terre Haute, Indiana

April 26, 2013

Changes made on First Financial board

Tribune-Star staff report
The Tribune-Star

TERRE HAUTE — First Financial Corp. — and its wholly owned subsidiary, First Financial Bank — has made changes in board of directors and senior management.

On Feb. 5, the board of directors of First Financial Corp. appointed Donald E. Smith as president emeritus effective April 17, according to the Security and Exchange Commission. Smith had served as chairman of corporation’s board of directors and president of the corporation.

“In his role as president emeritus, Mr. Smith will focus on nurturing and developing his extensive civic and business contacts in the Terre Haute, Indiana community and less in the day-to-day operations of the corporation,” the bank reported in a Feb. 8 filing with the SEC.

At an April 17 shareholders meeting, B. Guille Cox Jr., 67, was elected chairman of the board of directors for First Financial Corp. Cox has served on the corporation board since 1987. His current term expires 2014.

Norman L. Lowery, 66, will continue as vice chairman of the corporation’s board of directors and continue as chief executive officer of the corporation. Lowery is also president/CEO of First Financial Bank. The board of directors reported on March 12 to the SEC that the corporation entered into a new 36-month employment agreement with Lowery. The agreement was made effective Dec. 1, 2012, to supersede a Dec. 1, 2011, agreement.  

Also on April 17,  W. Curtis Brighton, 59, William R. Krieble, 65, and Ronald K. Rich, 74, already board members, were nominated and elected to serve three-year terms on the corporation’s board of directors, according to the SEC.

Other board members of the First Financial Corp. are Thomas T. Dinkel, 62; Gregory L. Gibson, 50; Anton H. George, 53; Virginia L. Smith, 65; and William J. Voges, 58.