News From Terre Haute, Indiana

August 30, 2012

Terre Haute North’s Mazely-Allen a Teacher of the Year finalist

The Tribune-Star

TERRE HAUTE — A Vigo County School Corp. teacher has been named among the most elite in the state.

Marianne Mazely-Allen, an English instructor at Terre Haute North Vigo High School, is among 10 finalist for 2013 Indiana Teacher of the Year.

Indiana Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Bennett on Wednesday announced the names included on the distinguished list. One of these 10 will be selected the 2013 Teacher of the Year in September.

“The candidates for 2013 Indiana Teacher of the Year were all impressive,” Bennett said. “These finalists represent the talent and dedication illustrated by teachers throughout Indiana.”

Robin Smith, principal at Terre Haute North, said that Mazely-Allen “is deserving. Dr. Allen comes to school and gives 100 percent of herself every day to see that her students get the best education possible.”

Mazely-Allen raises the bar high in her expectations, but students work hard to achieve them “because of the level of respect she gives them and they give to her in return,” Smith said.

The following teachers were selected as Indiana’s 10 Teacher of the Year finalists:

• Martha Constantine — kindergarten; Early Learning Center at Brook Park, MSD of Lawrence Township

• Lavon Dean-Null  — Grade 7, social studies; Discovery Middle School, Penn-Harris Madison School Corp.

• Amy Haywood — physics/ chemistry/ dual credit; Decatur Central High School, MSD of Decatur Township

• Marianne Mazely-Allen — Grades 10-12, English; Terre Haute North Vigo High School, Vigo County School Corp.

• Michael Novak — Grades 9-12, engineering/tech ed; Greensburg Community High School, Greensburg Community Schools

• Kelli Park — Grades 9-12, art; Franklin Community High School, Franklin Community School Corp.

• Joey Singleton — Grade 8, mathematics; Plainfield Community Middle School, Plainfield Community School Corp.

• Joshua Torres — Grades 6-12, music; Center Grove High School, Center Grove Community School Corp.

• Suzanne Whitton — Grades K-5, visual fine arts; Delaware Trail Elementary School, Brownsburg Community School Corp.

• Thomas Younts — Grades 9-12, agriculture and biology; Fishers High School, Hamilton Southeastern School Corp.

The Teacher of the Year program is open to all licensed classroom teachers who intend to remain active in the teaching field. Each year, superintendents and school leaders select local Teachers of the Year. Those winners are encouraged to submit portfolios to be considered for Indiana’s Teacher of the Year. Portfolios highlight teachers’ exceptional accomplishments with a professional biography, student growth and performance data, and an essay describing the educator’s teaching philosophy.

Forty-six public and non-public educators applied for the 2013 Indiana Teacher of the Year. All candidates will be honored at a banquet on Oct. 12 in Indianapolis.

Each finalist will be interviewed by a committee of past Indiana Teacher of the Year honorees and other education stakeholders.

The winner will be Indiana’s candidate for National Teacher of the Year and will be recognized in Washington, D.C., next spring. Indiana’s Teacher of the Year will receive a cash award, international travel opportunities, a trip to National Space Camp, educational software, and sabbatical/higher education scholarship opportunities.

The National Teacher of the Year Program, sponsored by the Center of Excellence in Leadership of Learning and CSO Architects, is a project of the Council of Chief State School Officers. Visit for more information.