News From Terre Haute, Indiana

January 5, 2014

ARCTIC BLAST 2014: 57 Indiana counties issue travel advisories

Associated Press

INDIANAPOLIS — The Indiana Department of Homeland Security reports 57 Indiana counties have issued travel advisories, with nine asking residents to refrain from all travel.

The counties that have issued travel warnings are Boone, Clinton, Hamilton, Newton, Putnam, Tipton, Vigo, Wabash and Warren. Vigo County Commissioners have closed all roadways except for emergency vehicles until further notice.

Another 33 counties — ranging from Posey County in extreme southwest Indiana to Allen County in the northeast — have issued travel watches, meaning conditions are threatening to public safety. Residents in those counties are asked to use roads only for essential travel, such as for work or in emergencies.

The other 15 counties have issued travel advisories, which means routine travel or activities may be restricted in areas because of a hazardous situation.