News From Terre Haute, Indiana

May 7, 2014


The Tribune-Star

NEWPORT — Turnout was 30 percent in Vermillion County’s primary election Tuesday, and Clerk Florinda Pruitt reported no problems at any of the county’s 17 precincts.

The mostly Democratic county featured a closely watched sheriff’s race pitting the chief deputy of the sheriff’s department, Michael Phelps, against John Goldner, an Indiana State Police trooper. In his campaign, Goldner asked Vermillion County voters to select a candidate who was not previously a part of the sheriff’s department. However, it appears voters chose Phelps with about 57 percent of the votes cast, according to unofficial results.

On the Republican side, there was only one contested race in Vermillion County: The race between U.S. Rep. Larry Bucshon and Andrew McNeil. Bucshon, a two-term congressman from southern Indiana, won easily with about 74 percent of the votes cast.


U.S. Representative

District 8

Tom Spangler — 1,782

State Representative District 42

Mark C. Spelbring — 1,935


Bruce D. Aukerman — 2,000


Michael R. Phelps — 1,444

John D. Goldner — 1,090


Shawn P. Kilgore — 1,913

Commissioner District 2

Russell Hall — 906

Bret D. Harrison — 371

Lori A. Porter — 1,132

County Council District 1

James E. McClain — 488

County Council District 2

William B. Bush — 383

Bruce W. West — 374

County Council District 3

Michael A. Carty — 407

County Council District 4

Randy Dreher — 477


Marjorie A. Hennis — 1,359

Florinda A. Pruitt — 1,027


U.S. Representative District 8

Larry D. Bucshon — 279

Andrew T. McNeil — 99

State Senate District 23

Philip L. (Phil) Boots — 328

State Representative

District 42

Alan Morrison — 349