News From Terre Haute, Indiana

January 17, 2010

KEGLER'S KORNER: PBA TH Open set to roll June 10-12

By Dennis Clark

TERRE HAUTE — The Professional Bowlers Association Central/Midwest Region Terre Haute Open returns to the Terre Haute Bowling Center on June 10-12, according to tournament director Phil Cooper.

Cooper said the contract “is in the mail from the PBA”, but the event — back for the second year in a row — is officially on the PBA calendar.

Richard Kidd, a left-handed bowler from El Paso, Ill., defeated Sean Swanson, a 15-time regional tour titlist, 199-181 in the championship match last June. The victory earned Kidd $2,800 in prize money.

The tournament had a field of 114 bowlers during qualifying rounds. Several bowlers from the Wabash Valley competed alongside pros representing 13 different states.

Also making news in bowling:

• Forty youth bowlers competed for scholarships exceeding $1,000 in the Josh Combs Memorial Scholarship Tournament recently at the Bowling Center. Combs was a junior bowler at THBC who was tragically killed in an accident last summer.

Scholarship winners

Zac Dubree ($125), Keith Fulk ($100), Cody Shaw ($100) Keith Fulk ($100), Megan McCullough ($100), Jordan Burdett ($95), Joey Derigo ($70), Amanda Sullivan ($70), Garrett Hart ($70), Evan Curry ($65), Kenny Jackson ($40), Blake Rebeck ($40), Michael Rogers Jr. ($40), Ben Jordan ($25), Allen Yocum ($25), Aiden Fellows ($25), Katie Goekler ($25) and Robby Goekler ($25).

• A former exempt PBA bowler won the New Year’s Day Sweeper at the Terre Haute Bowling Center on, you guessed it, Jan. 1.

Jack Laffey, of Fortville, Ind., defeated Steve Lang of Indianapolis (not the Terre Haute bowler by the same name) 217-177 in the championship match to earn $500 prize money.

A field of 49 bowlers competed, including several PBA regional bowlers. One of the talented bowlers was Nick Hoagland, a former Indiana University bowler, the 2001 ABC National Masters Singles champion.

Bowlers rolled six games across six pairs lanes, with the top five qualifying for the stepladder finals.

In match play, Scot Johnson (No. 5 seed) defeated Jacob Wright (No. 4) 248-214, Johnson edged Darrell Davis (No. 3) 207-194, Lang (No. 2) eliminated Johnson 246-215, before top seed Laffey (No. 1) topped Lang in the title match.

Final results, including six-game qualifying score and prize money

Jack Laffey 1,447 $500, Steve Lang 1,445 $450, Darrell Davis 1,444 $270, Jacob Wright 1,437 $228, Scot Johnson 1,428 $350, Mark Sullivan 1,414 $140, Fred Modesitt 1,409 $115, Mark Guenzel 1,402 $90, Nick Hoagland 1,392 $80, Chris Drake 1,385 $75, Jason Hiddle 1,379 $70, Jeff Clark 1,375 $70, Jason Downs 1,371 $60, Jerry Wence 1,362 $60, Steve Harman 1,358 $60, Brian Taylor 1,356 $60.

• 700 Club — Vigo Bowl was the scene of the 26th Floyd Morgan 700 Club/Youth Tournament last Sunday.

Youth division winners were Eli Perry (Division A), Zack Fields (Division B), Troy Wright (Division C), Lindsey Drake (Division D) and Justin Beaulieu (Division E).

Marc Pruett was the 700 Club individual winner, aided by a 300 game.

700 Club tournament director Carol Davis also announced a pair of schedule changes. The Scratch Singles at Vigo Bowl has been switched to Jan. 31, while the Trio Tournament at Brazilian Lanes is now slated for Feb. 21.

The final two tournaments are unchanged, the 16th Match Games at the Bowling Center on Mar. 7 and the Blind Draw Doubles Tournament (anyone with a 700 three-game series is eligible) at Imperial Lanes on Apr. 11.

All 700 Club tournaments begin at 11 a.m.

Dennis Clark is ALWAYS seeking bowling news items and r esults. Items can be sent by e-mail to; by mail to P.O. Box 149, Terre Haute, IN 47808; or by fax to (812) 231-4321.