News From Terre Haute, Indiana

May 23, 2010

Kegler's Korner: Leturgez, Russell and Bolinger members of TH Bowlers Hall 41st class

Dennis Clark
The Tribune-Star

TERRE HAUTE — A trio of local bowlers were inducted to the Terre Haute Bowlers Hall of Fame in their 41st recognition dinner at the Excalibur in West Terre Haute on May 10.

Brandy Leturgez was the lone men’s inductee (bowling achievement). Jeri Russell (achievement) and Lynn Bolinger (meritorious service) were the women’s inductees.

• Leturgez started bowling in 1978 and has accumulated 16 300 games and a trio of 299 games. He has also rolled seven 800 three-game series with a high of 827. His high league average is 226.

Leturgez is a member of the 700 Club, a certified USBC coach, and has been a junior board member for six years. He was named male junior bowler of the year by the local organization in 1989. He has a first-place finish in the junior state tournament.

Leturgez is currently president of the Monday Night Mixed League and is secretary of a Wednesday night summer league.

• Russell has been bowling since 1970, with a high game of 299, high three-game series of 724 and high league average of 187. She has received 10 awards for high average in league play.

She has bowled in numerous tournaments, including the National Tournament. Her high game in tournament play is 267.

Russell is a member of the Greater Terre Haute Women’s Bowling Association, the 600 Club (women), and 700 Club (men and women).

• Bolinger started bowling in 1998. She has been involved with the High School Bowling League, helped with various high school tournaments and was awarded the Terre Haute Bowling Center’s Youth Service Award in 2008.

She has raised money for the scholarship awards for youth bowlers at the Bowling Center, volunteering her time to assist with various bowling tournaments for the past 12 years.

Bolinger is also a member of the Greater Terre Haute Women’s Bowling Association and the 600 Club.

Members Terre Haute Bowlers Hall of Fame

1970 — Ray Brown, Larry Bruno, Bob Poynter, Frieda Terhorst, Elmer Fritsher, M.G. Baker, Linc Maloney, Marie Krider

1971 — Bob Silcock, Lou Bartenbach, Howard McDaniel, Floyd Morgan, Herschell Bouillez, Tommy Lou Brosche, Walt Gregg, Herman Kruse

1972 — Jules Benetti, Lou Hahn, Kenny Rottman, Louise Welch, Dale Snodgrass

1973 — Herb Wolfe, Rose Meyer, Harry Strohl

1974 — Tony Ave, Bob Welsh, Lou Lenne

1975 — Dave James, Rose Joy, Mid McGuire

1976 — Augie Taparo, Gordon Geckeler, Maxine Jacobs

1977 — Ray Olivero, Mary Snodgrass

1978 — Chris Hollars

1979 — Peg Bartenbach, Rod Harbaugh, Art Compton

1980 — Walt Piepenbrink, Edith Lammey

1981 — Jerry Ugo, Dorothy Coffin

1982 — Dave Paulin, Norma Bucy

1983 — Gene Fox, Jeannie Strohl

1984 — Dave Klueber, Charlene Steinhauser

1985 — Jim Cox, Dorothy Murray

1986 — Morris Montgomery, Betty Grubb

1987 — John Hayes, Doris Berry

1988 — Richard Braden, Margaret Curry

1989 — Larry Seeley, Margaret Alsman

1990 — Harry Burris, Joan Goetz

1991 — Bob Hill, Cathy Pusich, Janet Barnes, Gary Beasley

1992 — Wally Graham, Jo Elkins, Mary Jo Ingle, Paul Ingle

1993 — Betty Jo Dean, John Ugo, Dixie Lee Stahr, Mike Boswell

1994 — Katie Varda, Rich Metz, Elizabeth Williams, Gerold Brandenburg, Bruce Kasameyer

1995 — Gene Boswell, Bob Bye, Anya Fisher, Bonnie Burk

1996 — Tom Barr, Mary Shake, James Yeager, Eileen Bosc

1997 — Alusta Kneeves, Herman (Clem) Laubert, Bryan Barton, Alice Hines, Carolyn Wilkins

1998 — Donna Smith, Richard Tully, Kenneth Brownfield, Simona Lansaw

1999 — Laura Hayworth, Sue Paulin, R. Dean Leeman

2000 — Clarence (Harley) Jones, Mary Ann Budd, Patricia Stewart, John McWilliams

2001 — Barb Clodfelter, Jane Garrett, Mike Zebrowski Sr., Darrell Davis

2002 — Gary Busiere, Ruth Ward, Mike Fisher, Mike Winemiller, Tharon Geckeler

2003 — Virginia Anderson, Lonnie Boyce, Guy Johnson, Phyllis Peterson, Terry Sheldon

2004 — William Chance Jr., Mary Houk, Sherry DeLisle

2005 — Jodi Moan, Vicki Downing, Sherman Wilkins, Larry Davison

2006 — Misty Chandler, Linda Zellers, David Renshaw, Larry Weaver

2007 — Cathy Cunningham, Joyce Weaver, David Elder, John DeLisle

2008 — Scott Hill, Gary Hiddle, Cyndi Daugherty, Clarene Fisher

2009 — Phil Cooper, Carol Davis, Robert Laney, Barbara Campbell

2010 — Brandy Leturgez, Jeri Russell, Lynn Bolinger

• • •

• PBA Regional — A reminder, the Professional Bowlers Association Central/Midwest Region Terre Haute Open will be at the Terre Haute Bowling Center for the second straight summer, this time on Aug. 6-8.

Which leads me to the following related observation.

Did you happen to see the news item about 18-year-old Andrew Koff winning a PBA South Region Tournament in Jupiter, Fla. last Sunday?

It seems that Koff, just two days after graduating from Gulliver Prep High School in Miami, defeated David Boyd 243-199 to win this tournament.

Koff earned the $2,500 prize money, but since he was an amateur, will have this money deposited as a scholarship into his United States Bowling Congress SMART account.

If you are wondering, Koff is not the youngest bowler to win a PBA Regional tournament.

That distinction belongs to PBA Hall of Famer Pete Weber, winning a tournament at age 16 or 17 in Baldwin, Mo. in 1979. His exact age was in question due to less-detailed record keeping for PBA Regional events in those days. Norm Duke is the youngest player on the national PBA Tour, winning the 1983 Cleveland Open at 18 years, 345 days.

Koff’s feat is not just a lucky happenstance, finishing 25th in the U.S. Open at age 16, missing the cut to match play by just one pin. He also rolled two 300 games in one day, finishing third in a South Regional Tournament at age 17.

Koff is an honor student and has already accepted a scholarship to study engineering beginning this fall at Duke University.

Dennis Clark can be reached by e-mail at