News From Terre Haute, Indiana

March 3, 2014

ISU teams sweep titles in indoor track

Men lead all the way, women fight off contenders

The Tribune-Star

CEDAR FALLS, Iowa — Indiana State’s track teams swept the Missouri Valley Conference Indoor Championships on Sunday at Northern Iowa, the men leading all the way and the women surviving a three-way battle.

Sycamore men had 151 points to 105 for Wichita State, 95 for Southern Illinois, 85 for Northern Iowa, 81 for Illinois State, 76 for Loyola and 64 for Drake.

“A win in the Valley is always special because we have a lot of great coaches and athletes,” said Missouri Valley Conference Coach of the Year John McNichols. “To win two in a row is a great tribute to the hard work by the athletes on this team. We really did our business [Saturday], as we had 13 qualifiers for finals and the next best team had five.”

ISU’s women had 130 points trailed by Wichita with 116.5, Southern Illinois with 92.5, Loyola and Illinois State with 68 each, Missouri State with 66, Bradley with 46 and Drake with 9.

“I think our women did a great job, as we had a tough task in front of us,” said Angela Martin, also named Coach of the Year. “Southern Illinois and Wichita State have great teams, but we had two fantastic days. We had women [with personal records] left and right; they were focused and they knew what they needed to do.

Katie Wise broke her facility record in the 60-meter dash for the second straight day, winning in 7.30 seconds — currently 13th-best in the nation.

Other women’s champions were Camrlia Stewart in the 60-meter hurdles (8.44 seconds), Mary Theisen in shot put (56-feet-4)  and Kimyanna Rudolph with a second straight pole vault title (13-10.5).

Greggmar Swift won a second straight 60-meter hurdles championship (7.73) for the men, with Jonathan Jackson first in the 800 (1:52.57).

Other all-conference performers for the men were Keith Housley in the 60 (second, 6.91), Kevin Piraino in the 400 (third, 48.65), Adairius Washington in 60 hurdles (second, 7.88), David Timlin in the mile (second, 4:11.18) and Robert Webb in heptathlon (second, 5,339 points).

All-MVC women included Demetra Camble in the 60 (second, 7.58), Alethia Marero in the 400 (second, 55.33), Whitney Walker in shot put (third, 48-10.75) and Stewart in triple jump (second, 41-1.75).

In addition to winning both Coach of the Year awards, ISU won awards for the best men’s track athlete, Swift, and swept the women’s awards. Stewart was Athlete of the Meet, Wise the best women’s track athlete and Theisen the best women’s field athlete.