News From Terre Haute, Indiana

June 8, 2013

Metro roundup: Former Sycamores take talents to CFL

Tribune-Star staff report
The Tribune-Star

TERRE HAUTE — Former Indiana State players Johnny Towalid and Justin Hilton were signed by teams in the Canadian Football League this week.

Towalid signed with the Saskatchewan Roughriders and Hilton with the Hamilton Tiger Cats. Both Towalid and Hilton are in preseason training camp with their respective teams.

Towalid earned the College Football Performance Awards FCS Defensive Back of the Year Award in the fall, earning first-team all-Missouri Valley Conference honors and setting a school record with four career interception returns for touchdowns. Two of those came in ISU’s win over eventual national champion North Dakota State.

Hilton joins the Tiger Cats after a stint this spring with the Cincinnati Bengals as well as a 2012 preseason camp with the Bengals. He had 40 receptions for 684 yards and seven touchdowns as a Sycamore and was on the MVC All-Newcomer Team in 2010.

Hamilton plays its first preseason game Thursday at Montreal, while Saskatchewan opens June 14 at Edmonton. The two teams play each other July 21 and July 27.

High schools

• Viking awards — West Vigo honored its spring sports athletes at a banquet earlier this week.

Baseball — Four-year letterwinners: Brandon Calleja* (all-WIC), Lucas Fagg, Cade Lindsey*, Kevin Stewart (all-WIC), Kyle Stewart (all-WIC), Austin Wallace*. Also Donnie Ames, Elijah Atterson, Brandin Behringer, Jack Belleu, Derrick Bennett*, Alec Blair*, Braiden Cardinal*, Cameron Crooks, Zach Edwards, Kyman Elkins*, David Fiddler*, Trevor Harris, Davie Inman*, Ryan Johnson, Josh Judson, Justin Kump, Wyatt Lowe, Clayton O’Neal*, Travis Reese*, Thomas Roberts*, Brycen Scank, Jordan Schaffer*, Dakota Short, Dacoda Watson, Alex West.

Golf — Clayton Baugh, Nate Ennis*, Nate Keith*, Nick Leek*, Brandon Long*, David McClain, Austin Roach.

Softball — Four-year letterwinners: Ciara McClain* (all-WIC), Jacy McClain* (all-WIC). Also Kayla Akers, Shelbe Barnhart-Padgett, Lizzie Barton*, Kortney Brown, Taylor Corbett, Mary Curley*, Shelby Edington*, Victoria Farris*, Maddie Funk*, Hannah Harden*, Charity Lane, Kenzie Little*, Miranda Mann*, Leah Morrison, Mackenzie Roth*, Brittany Voils* (all-WIC), Mackenzie Wallace, Baylee Waters* (all-WIC), Andrea Yocum, manager Austin Woodward*.

Tennis — Four-year letterwinner: Sydney Brown. Also Taylor Atterson*, Jessica Burns*, Kaylen Cheesman*, Mackenzie Collins*, Jordyn Cook*, Allyson Donnelly, Megan Glasgow*, Makayla Herring*, Delanee Hurst*, Savannah Mann, Payton McCall* (all-WIC), Kamdyn Moss*, Heather Prouse*, Maddie Riley*, Michaela Rollings*, Shyla Smith*, Justice Waltermire*, Halie Wilkinson, Nicole Wilson*, Nikki Wilson, Sarah Wyrick*.

Boys Track — Four-year letterwinners: Derek Braun*, Danny Creasey, Jacob Creasey*, Daniel Mackey* (regional qualifier), Clayton Minger*, Andy Velazquez*. Also Tyler Bell, Blake Benefiel* (regional qualifier), Sam Bowden*, Austin Buckallew*, Brody Donnelly, David Donnelly, Jonah Eckert* (regional qualifier), Ryan Hackett, Aaron Kirby, Jacob Lewis, Caleb Likens, Jimmy Maples*, Alex May, Cogan McClain*, Thomas Nicholson, Nate Owens, Austin Romanelly, Trevor Roskovensky*, Logan Thralls* (regional qualifier), Tyson Tolerson, Austin Vangilder, Kyle Watson*, Jacob Weir (regional qualifier), Doug Wilkins*, Kaleb Wilkinson, Chris Wolfe, Shawn Wycoff.

Girls Track — Four-year letterwinners: Kayla Lindsay*, Acetha Tolerson. Also Alathia Bowden*, Amanda Bridgewater*, Taylor Bunch, Olivia Butterman*, Lexie Carlson*, Taylor Certain*, Korinna Clay*, Joslynn Donham*, Carlie Eldredge, Lexie May*, Sophie Owen*, Shelby Sparks, Keisha Spillers*, Maddie Stuck*, Mackenzie Wallace, Shaelynn White*, Ashley Wilson.

*—Academic excellence awards

Auto racing

• Clayton prevails — At Bechtelsville, Pa., Daron Clayton won the feature in U.S. Auto Club sprint-car racing Wednesday at Grandview Speedway.


Wednesday's results

Fast qualifier — Dave Darland.

Heat winners — Darland, C.J. Leary, Levi Jones, Brady Bacon, Billy Pauch (semi).

Feature — Daron Clayton, Bryan Clauson, Jones, Hunter Schuerenberg, Chase Stockon, Shane Cottle, Chris Windom, Darland, Bacon, Matt Westfall, Tracy Hines, Mark Smith, Tyler Courtney, Nick Drake, Mark Bitner.

USAC sprint point leaders — Stockon 523, Darland 505, Bacon 483, Clauson  481, Schuerenberg 480.


• Rose schedule announced — The 2013 Rose-Hulman schedule features 14 home matches and the program’s first trip to California.

Rose finished 21-9 last season, including a 7-2 mark in HCAC matches. The Engineer roster includes nine letterwinners and seven newcomers, including three from Illinois.

Rose-Hulman will open its season Aug. 30 in the Otterbein Invitational. Its home schedule begins with a Sept. 6 match against Greenville.

2013 Rose-Hulman volleyball schedule

Aug. 30 — vs. Otterbein in Otterbein Invitational, 5 p.m.

Aug. 30 — vs. Kenyon in Otterbein Invitational, 7:30 p.m.

Aug. 31 — vs. Denison, 9:30 a.m.

Aug. 31 — at Capital, noon

Sept. 3 — vs. Olivet, 6 p.m.

Sept. 3 — at Trine, 8 p.m.

Sept. 6 — Greenville, 6 p.m.

Sept. 7 — Webster, 4 p.m.

Sept. 7 — Ohio Wesleyan, 6 p.m.

Sept. 8 — Muskingum, 10 a.m.

Sept. 8 — Kenyon, 2 p.m.

Sept. 13 — vs. TBA (at DePauw), 6 p.m.

Sept. 13 — vs. TBA (at DePauw), 8 p.m.

Sept. 14 — vs. TBA (at DePauw), noon

Sept. 14 — at DePauw, noon

Sept. 21 — Principia, 11 a.m.

Sept. 21 — Illinois College, 1 p.m.

Sept. 25 — Mount St. Joseph*, 7:30 pm

Sept. 28 — at Transylvania*, 1 p.m.

Sept. 28 — vs. Wittenberg 3 p.m.

Oct. 5 — Bluffton*, 5 p.m.

Oct. 9 — at Anderson*, 7:30 p.m.

Oct. 12 — Hanover*, 1 p.m.

Oct. 12 — Kalamazoo, 5 p.m.

Oct. 18 — at Claremont-Mudd-Scripps, 3 p.m.

Oct. 19 — at Pomona-Pitzer, 3 p.m.

Oct. 19 — vs. Cal Lutheran in California, 6 p.m.

Oct. 23 — at Earlham*, 7:30 p.m.

Oct. 26 — Defiance*, 1 p.m.

Oct. 26 — Illinois Wesleyan, 5 p.m.

Oct. 30 — at Franklin*, 7:30 p.m.

Nov. 2 — Manchester*, 2 p.m.

Nov. 5 — HCAC tourney first round, TBA

Nov. 9 — HCAC tourney semifinal, TBA

Nov. 10 — HCAC tourney championship game, TBA