News From Terre Haute, Indiana

May 20, 2014

Three ISU players honored by MVC

Tribune-Star staff report
The Tribune-Star

TERRE HAUTE — Three ISU players honored by MVC

Three Indiana State baseball players were given major honors by the Missouri Valley Conference on Monday.

Shortstop Tyler Wampler was named MVC Defensive Player of the Year, the first Sycamore to earn that honor. Closer Ryan Keaffaber was named MVC Freshman of the Year and starting pitcher Brad Lombard was MVC Newcomer of the Year.

Wampler had a fielding percentage of .973 and was third in the MVC with 152 assists. Wampler’s range and lack of errors (six) are his calling card. Keaffaber had 11 saves, a 2.32 ERA, and opponents are hitting just .203 against him. Lombard, ISU’s Saturday starter, was 6-2 with a 3.51 ERA.

Three Sycamores — catcher Mike Fitzgerald, center fielder Landon Curry and starting pitcher David Stagg — were second-team All-MVC. Second baseman Derek Hannahs was honorable mention.

Evansville’s Kyle Freeland was named MVC Pitcher of the Year and Wes Carroll was named Coach of the Year as the Purple Aces won the regular season crown. Wichita State’s Casey Gillaspie was named MVC Player of the Year.