News From Terre Haute, Indiana

November 29, 2012

Two former Valley hoops players entering Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame

The Tribune-Star

TERRE HAUTE — Two of the top scorers in Wabash Valley high school basketball history will be inducted into the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame.

Chad Tucker and Bill “Fig” Newton are members of the class to be inducted in ceremonies scheduled in March.

Tucker was the leading scorer in Cloverdale history with 1,338 points, graduating in 1983, and became the leading scorer at Butler with 2,321 points. He played profesional basketball for seven seasons overseas.

Newton averaged better than 23 points and 19 in his senior season (1967-68) at Rockville and had an average of better than 18 points at Louisiana State.

Newton was an alternate for the 1972 U.S. Olympic team and was a member of the 1973 ABA champion Indiana Pacers. He also will be inducted into the Rockville High School Hall of Fame this year.

Other inductees include former Mr. Basketball winners James Master and Dan Palombizzio and Phil Dawkins, captain of the East Chicago Washington 1960 state championship team coached by John Barrato that upset Muncie Central in the title tilt.

The other nominees:

LaVern Benson — Indianapolis Crispus Attucks, 1958, played on two state-finalist teams.

Phil Dawkins — East Chicago Washington, 1960, scored the game-winning points in a one-point victory over Fort Wayne Central and led team with 21 points in championship against Muncie Central.

Gene Demaree — New Marion, 1961, scored 1,361 points at the Ripley County school of 65 students, leading team to first sectional title in senior season.

Chuck Franz — Clarksville, 1979, tied or broke 24 school records including a 51-point game against New Albany for sectional championship and was a sophomore on Indiana University’s 1981 NCAA championship team.

Scott Haffner, Noblesville, 1984 — averaged 28 points in leading team to undefeated season senior year and set University of Evansville single-game mark of 65 points.

Bob Heady, Frankton, 1960 — scored more than 1,100 points and became a top prep coach, taking Carmel and Shenandoah to finals in one-class system and winning 383 games.

James Master, Harding, 1980 — set Fort Wayne city scoring mark with 1,592 points and was named Mr. Basketball.

Carl Meditch, Indianapolis Arsenal Tech, 1955 — outscored the likes of Oscar Robertson and Willie Meriweather senior year, leading city and North Central Conference in scoring.

Alan Nass, Huntingburg, 1959 — was an Indiana All-Star, leading Happy Hunters to 40-9 mark junior and senior seasons, and was captain of 21-5 Georgia Tech team in 1963.

Dan Palombizio, Michigan City Rogers, 1981 — graduated as state’s ninth leading scorer with 2,092 points and was state’s second three-time all-state selection.

Dick Piper, Chester Township, 1948 — led team to undefeated regular season and school’s first regional championship.

Robert Rousey, Anderson, 1949 — captain of Indiana All-Star team who played at Kansas State.