News From Terre Haute, Indiana

February 24, 2013

PREPS: Robinson beats Newton to win Class 2A Regional

The Tribune-Star

NEWTON, Ill. — Robinson defeated Newton to win the Newton Class 2A Regional in boys high school basketball Friday.

Aaron Siler led the Maroons with 30 points, scoring 27 in the first half, as they defeated the Eagles for the second time this season after losing to the team in the Little Illini Conference tournament.

The 27-5 Maroons will meet Breese Central in the Greenville Sectional on Wednesday. Breese Central defeated Carlyle 54-39 to win the Breese Central Regional.

Teutopolis plays Roxana  in the first game of the sectional Tuesday.

Advancers in the 3-point showdown from Newton are Cory Blount and Jason Richart of Robinson, Trevor Brumleve of Cumberland and Corey Davidson of Newton.

In other Illinois regionals Friday:

n At Sullivan, Monticello defeated Tolono Unity 53-37 to win the Sullivan 2A Regional title. Austin Temples of Paris is among the advancers in the 3-point showdown.

n At Chrisman, Salt Fork defeated Shiloh 53-47 to win the Chrisman A Regional championship.

Advancers  in the 3-point showdown are Cyrus Ferguson of Shiloh, John Porter of Chrisman, Wes Motley of Tri-County and Max Stutsman of Salt Fork.

n At Dieterich, the host school defeated Windsor 61-49 in semifinal action and met Oblong for the regional title Saturday.

Girls basketball

n LIC team named — The Little Illini all-conference team has been released.

League champion Marshall placed three players on the first team.

LIC girls basketball

First team

Marshall — Kaydie Grooms, Breah Keim, Ariana Kuhn.

Cumberland — Kamisha Holsapple.

Flora — Crimson Jones.

Newton — Megan Jansen, Morgan Swingler.

Olney — Marley Miller, Kelsey Shipman.

Red Hill — Taylor Paulin.

Second team

Casey — Taylor Birchfield, Kyleigh Decker.

Edwards County — Katlin Schmittler.

Flora — Meg Hout.

Lawrenceville — McKenzi Kelly, Kourtney Osmon.

Oblong — Kelsie Harper.

Olney — Makenzie Sechrest.

Palestine-Hutsonville — Calee Fulling.

Red Hill — Tori Paulin.

Honorable mention

Marshall — Cheyenne Thompson.

Casey — Conner Cutright.

Cumberland — Micah Seibert.

Edwards County — Melissa Moody.

Lawrenceville — Kelsie Ferrell.

Newton — Carly Niebrugge.

Oblong — Emily Lockhart.

Olney — Rachel Misner.

Palestine-Hutsonville — Nicole Kiger.

Red Hill — Dakotah Moan.

Robinson — Kylee Hannahs.