The 39th annual Wabash Valley Art Guild Spring Art Show took place May 4 amid the First Friday activities in Terre Haute. The Clabber Girl Museum and Gallery hosted the honors event featuring artwork by 32 Indiana and Illinois artists. This year’s juror was Jason Krueger, curator of the Indiana State University Permanent Art Collection.

David Gill presented the Best of Show painting titled “Comfortable Past.” The Artists’ Choice Award went to Elizabeth Art for her painting, “Waiting For A Friend,” and Marsha Stewart received the People’s Choice Award for her painting, “A Stitch in Time.”

Deborah Nidiffer-Hickman, Spring Art Show chairman, said she was very pleased with this year’s show. “It’s been one of our best and we’ve had more artists than ever participate!” All award-winning entries will be on display through May 29 in The Gallery at Clabber Girl, 900 Wabash Ave.

In the three-dimensional category, first place honors went to Bruce Fiscus for a metal sculpture, “Niddoiseu Colibri,” and second place was awarded to Todd Stokes for an etched glass entry, “Fleeting Time-Faded Memory.”

In the painting category, first place honors went to David Gill for “Last Perfect Day,” a second place to Elizabeth Art for “1962 Self-Portrait” and third place to Art for her entry, “Harlan’s Barn.” Nidiffer-Hickman received an honorable mention for “Painted Butterfly.”

Awards in photography include first place to Thomas Wright for “Vertical Limits,” a second place to Sheila Ter Meer for “Middle Child Born on the Libra-Scorpio Cusp,” and third place honors to Todd Stokes for “Ephemeral Forest.” An honorable mention also went to Wright for “Frosted.”

In the multi-media category, the first place award went to Ruthann Brady for “Stand Tall,” a second place to Richard Acton for “Get Off My Limb,” and third place honors to Marsha Stewart for “Be Still and Know.” JoAnne Perigo Fiscus received an honorable mention for “Sea-sation.”

The fifth category was drawing. First place honors went to Gloria Schopper for “Tulip Fest” and a second place went to Nidiffer-Hickman for “Story Time with Tori.” An honorable mention was awarded to Jeanne Rewa for “Afternoon Frolic.”

Supporting businesses and organizations this year include Retec Corp., Arts Illiana, Mace Ford, KIHM Metal Technologies, Lynn’s Pharmacy, One Stop Auto Repair, Terre Haute Savings Bank, First Financial Bank, Britt Aero, and the Alliance of the Swope.