News From Terre Haute, Indiana

September 6, 2012

Swope announces People’s Choice in 68th Annual Juried Exhibition

Special to the Tribune-Star

TERRE HAUTE — Cristy Brinkman-Robertson is the winner of the People’s Choice Award at Swope Art Museum’s “68th Annual Wabash Valley Juried Exhibition.” She received the award for her hot glue sculpture “Diaphanous Formation.” Determined by visitor ballots, the annual award is given to the artist who created the most popular work of art in the exhibition.

Three front-runners emerged during the course of the exhibition, but Brinkman-Robertson pulled ahead in the exhibition’s final weeks. Visitors were drawn to the delicate translucent glow of her sculpture.

Evocative of the otherworldly growth patterns seen in a coral reef or under a microscope, “Diaphanous Formation” also delighted visitors with its surprising and elegant application of the mundane material hot glue.   

The award includes a cash prize of $250 from the Alliance of the Swope Art Museum, which also sponsored two juror-selected awards for the exhibition. This year’s distinguished juror was Jeffrey Grove, the Hoffman Family Senior Curator of Contemporary Art at the Dallas Museum of Art in Texas. Hoffman selected what works would be included in the exhibition and identified those worthy of special recognition with awards.

The Swope Art Museum established the People’s Choice Award in 2010 as a way to give visitors a chance to voice their opinions in a meaningful way.

Nearly 400 visitors cast ballots for their favorite works of art over the two-month run of this year’s exhibition. First Financial Bank sponsored the 68th Annual event, which featured 59 works of art in a diversity of media by 52 artists from Indiana, Illinois and Michigan.

Brinkman-Robertson lives in Terre Haute and is assistant curator at Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology as well the director of the Swope’s Summer Youth Art Program.

Open and free to the public since 1942, the Swope Art Museum celebrates its 70th year of service to the community this year. For more information call 812-238-1676 or visit