News From Terre Haute, Indiana

November 7, 2012

Clay County election 2012

Brian Boyce
The Tribune-Star

BRAZIL — A massive turnout by Clay County voters had general election participation nearing 60 percent by the final unofficial count.

Clay County Clerk Vickie Wheeler said about 9:15 p.m. that a mechanical problem with one of the machines had the process halted with just 40 ballots left uncounted. Of the county’s 23 precincts, a full 22 had been processed, but the remaining few won’t be tallied until later this week, she said.

All ballot counts Tuesday night are unofficial until certified by the Clay County Election Board.

Still, 11,089 of the county’s 19,109 registered voters participated in this general election, making for a turnout of 58.03 percent. Of that number, 2,544 voted absentee. Three voters chose a straight ticket ballot for the Libertarian Party, compared to 925 who did likewise for the Democrats and 1,221 for Republicans.

Clay County chose Republican Mitt Romney for the president with 64.58 percent of the vote compared to Democrat incumbent Barack Obama’s 33.17. Libertarian Gary Johnson received 2.07 percent. For the U.S. Senate, local voters sent Republican Richard Mourdock 50.43 percent of the vote over Democrat Joe Donnelly’s 42.41 percent and 7.12 percent for Libertarian Andrew Horning. Republican Mike Pence garnered 50.98 percent of the county’s vote for governor, over Democrat John Gregg’s 43.8 percent and Libertarian Rupert Boneham’s 5.21 percent.

Wheeler said lines at the polls were steady all day.

“The president probably brought that in, but our judges really brought the voters in too,” she said, noting two judge positions were contested this year.

Judge of the Circuit Court

James Edward Deal (R) - 4,273

Joseph D. Trout (D) - 6,408

Judge of the Superior Court

Robert Alex Pell (R) - 5,218

J. Blaine Akers (D) - 5,497

Clerk of the Circuit Court


Victoria J. (Vickie) Wheeler (R) - 8,522



Joseph Mark Dierdorf (D) - 8,018


Joel R. Reinoehl (R) - 6,613

Amy J. (Solomon) Shelton (D) - 3,901


John R. Keller (R) - 6,598

Frank E. Beasley (D) - 3,835

Commissioner District 1

Bryan K. Allender (R) - 5,352

Jack Withers (D) - 5,163

Commissioner District 2

Tony A. Fenwick (R) - 5,867

Charles (Charlie) Brown (D) - 4,750

County Council At-Large

(Vote for 3)

Patricia (Pat) Heffner (R) - 6,032

John Nicoson (R) - 5.222

Lisa D. Rickert (R) - 4,103

Chip Hoskins (D) - 4,682

Dolores Johnson (D) - 4,030

Michael McCullough (D) - 5,547

Clay Community School Board District 1

Tina R. Heffner - 1,046

Kevin K. Kumpf - 1,131

Theodore R. Paris - 341

Clay Community School Board District 2

Jennifer Kaelber - 1,073

Gary D. Rickert - 556

Clay Community School Board District 3

Tammy Lynn Beasley - 838

Thomas Keith Reberger - 1,352

Clay Community School Board District 4

Forrest R. Buell - 1,059

Stanley F. (Fred) Froderman - 1,468

Jason Moon - 514

MSD of Shakamak, Board of Trustees District 1


Jeffery B. Miller - 460

MSD of Shakamak, Board of Trustees District 3

No candidate