News From Terre Haute, Indiana

November 5, 2008

Clay County's turnout one for record books

By Brian M. Boyce

BRAZIL — Clay County’s voter turnout was one for the record books, officials said Tuesday evening.

Mary Brown, clerk of the Circuit Court, said the 59.37 percent turnout was the biggest on record “as far as I know.”

With 11,660 of Clay County’s 19,641 registered voters participating, the process went off without too many problems, she said.

“I think it went very smoothly,” she said, noting that between the poll workers and election staff, those handling the operations were well experienced.

Brown herself is finishing her second term and thus was unable to run for re-election.

Her replacement beginning in January will be Republican Vickie Wheeler, who currently works in the office.

Wheeler defeated Democrat Cathleen Bales by about 15 percent.

Democrat Joseph Mark Dierdorf took the county recorder seat from Republican Angela Modesitt, while Republican Joel Reinoehl beat out Democrat Brandon Sciotto for county coroner.

Democrat Jack Withers Sr. won county commissioner District 1 over Republican Walter Young, and Democrats Charles Hoskins, Michael McCullough and Brian Wyndham won County Council at- large seats.

Race results

Contested Races

Clerk of the Circuit Court

Victoria J. (Vickie) Wheeler (R) 6,150

Cathleen M. (Cathy) Bales, (D) 4,636


Angela J. Modesitt (R) 5,259

Joseph Mark Dierdorf (D) 5,837


Joel R. Reinoehl (R) 6,388

Brandon S. Sciotto (D) 4,570

Commissioner District 1

Walter E. Young (R) 4,263

Jackie R. Withers Sr., (D) 6,716

County Council At Large

Rick E. Neier (R) 5,392

Warren E. Stevenson (R) 5,357

Charles A. (Chip) Hoskins (D) 5,550

Michael D. McCullough (D) 6,697

Brian L. Wyndham (D) 5,914

Uncontested Races


John R. Keller (R) 8,524

Commissioner District 2

Charles S. (Charlie) Brown (D) 8,611