News From Terre Haute, Indiana

September 16, 2013

Metro Sports: Dangel and Sonneberger are honored Engineers

Tribune-Star staff report
The Tribune-Star

TERRE HAUTE — Rose-Hulman had two student-athletes honored as Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Players of the Week on Monday.

Kate Dangel was Volleyball Defensive Player of the Week, while Josh Sonneberger was Football Defensive Player of the Week.

Dangel helped the Engineers to a 2-2 mark at the DePauw Invitational during the weekend with 69 digs and three service aces. It’s her fourth HCAC Defensive Player of the Week award.

Sonneberger had nine tackles, forced a fumble, had 1.5 tackles for loss and recorded half a sack in the Engineers’ 27-17 loss to Centre. He leads the Engineer defensive line with 12 tackles, including 2.5 tackles for loss, and also recovered a fumble in the season opener.

Both athletes have also been named Exchange Club of Terre Haute’s Players of the Week, and will be recognized at today’s luncheon meeting at the Holiday Inn.

The Rose volleyball team, 7-8, hosts Principia and Illinois College in the Homecoming Quad match on Saturday.

The football team, 0-2, begins HCAC play at 2 p.m. that day in the homecoming game against Defiance.


• ISU fourth
— At Chicago, Indiana State is fourth but just nine shots out of the lead after the first round of Chicago State’s Cougar Classic on Monday.

Host Chicago State leads with 306, while Detroit is at 311, Northern Illinois at 314 and ISU at 315. Cleveland State is also at 315 followed by Texas-Pan American (316), IPFW (318), Loyola (319), Dayton (323), Creighton (324), Illinois-Chicago (325), Green Bay (334) and Eastern Illinois (334).

McCall Christopher of ISU shot a 75 and is tied for fifth, three shots behind Detroit’s Olivia Richards. Marissa Uradomo shot 78, Erinn Sutton 80, Amanda Smith and Megan Berube 82 each and Gina Della Camera 89.

Today’s final round at the Starboard Course of Harborside International begins at 9 a.m. today. ISU is the defending tournament champion.


• Engineers win again
— At Rose-Hulman, the Engineer women won their second match of the weekend on Sunday by downing Oakland City 6-3 at Joy Hulbert Tennis Center.

Rose-Hulman 6, Oakland City 3

Singles — Hailey Moore (OC) def. Marie Stettler 4-6, 6-1, 10-7; Suzana Mohd (RH) def. Jordyn Brown 6-0, 6-0; Whitney Malin (OC) def. Paige Cook 6-0, 6-3; Colleen Stevenson (RH) def. Lauryn Schnarr 6-7 (5-7), 6-1, 10-7; Lauren Miller (RH) def. Ashley Forbes 6-0, 6-0; Rose-Hulman won No. 6 by forfeit.

Doubles — Malin-Moore (OC) def. Mohd-Stettler 8-6; Cook-Kylie McCollum (RH) def. Forbes-Schnarr 8-0; Rose-Hulman won No. 3 by forfeit.

Next — Rose-Hulman (2-0) will host Transylvania next Sunday. Players may compete individually Friday and Saturday at the Intercollegiate Tennis Association regional competition at DePauw.

Auto racing

• Carmichael a winner
— At Putnamville, Kenny Carmichael Jr. was a double winner in Saturday’s racing at Lincoln Park Speedway.

Carmichael won his heat and the feature for super stocks. He also was second in the main event for modifieds.

Other winners were Casey Shuman in sprints, Brian Hayden in modifieds, Josh Presley and David Wallen of Brazil in bombers.


Saturday’s results

Sprint cars

Heat winners — Casey Shuman, Ryan Pace.

Feature — Shuman, Chad Boespflug, Brian Hayden, Pace, Max McGhee, Kent Christian, Levi Shields, Michael Terry Jr., Brent Beauchamp, Jason Robbins. Brandon Morin, Lee Underwood, Shawn Krockenberger, Douglas Roberts, Devin Cress.

UMP modifieds

Heat winners — Hayden, Wes McClara, Paul Bumgardner, Collin Thirlby (B-main).

Feature — Hayden, Kenny Carmichael Jr., McClara, Roger Mills, Thirlby, Eric Varner, Carlos Bumgardner, Jake Humphrey, Duane Lee, Dan Lewellen.

UMP super stocks

Heat winners — Carmichael Jr., Marty Cooper, Roy Bruce Jr., Tyler Loughmiller.

Feature — Carmichael Jr., Steve Peeden, Cooper, Dustin Shoulders, Bruce, Josh Boller, Mike Staggs, C.J. Bryan, Josh Fagg, Scott Carrington.


Heat winners — David Wallen, Josh Presley, Carlos Bumgardner, A.J. Smith.

Feature 1 — Presley, C.Bumgardner, Josh Foxworthy, Blake Cross, Bob Farris.

Feature 2 — Wallen, Smith, Damon Harrell, Tom Courtney, Justin Minardo.

• Heck posts win — At Paragon, Doug Heck of Brazil was a winner on Saturday in the final night of racing for the season at Paragon Speedway.

Heck won one of the features for sprint cars. Other winners were Jake Scott in sprint cars, Chris Hillman in super stocks, Chris McCoy in bombers, Jacob Ham in pure stocks, and Greg Garrison in hornets.


Saturday’s results

Sprint cars

Heat winners — Nick Johnson, Jared Harris, Randy Johnson.

Feature 1 — Jake Scott, Bub Cummings, Eric Edwards, Hot Rod Henning, Brian Lake, Danny Harris, Brad Cummings, Nevil Algeio, Shawn Miller, Hunter O’Neal.

Feature 2 — Doug Heck, Tony Reed, Harris, Buddy Lowther, Ray Kenens, Jeremy Giles, R. Johnson, Bradley Crone, Dave Peperak, Tyler Waltz.

Super stocks

Heat winners — Chris Hillman, Steve Hawkins, Steve Hollars.

Feature — Hillman, Trent Niflis, Hawkins, Travis Howe, Hollars, Jeremy Potts, Rob Paris, Mike Ham, Jake Leitzman, Richie Lex.


Heat winners — Chris McCoy, Jeff Beggs, Jeff Cast Jr.

Feature — McCoy, Tyler Neal, Baily Hicks, Michael Harris, Beggs, Jordan Williams, Dave Byrdwell, Jason Trimmer, Jason Trader, Tom Cox.

Pure stocks

Heat winners — Justin Litton, Josh Litton.

Feature — Jacob Ham, Aaron Acres, Ju. Litton, Matthew Cooley, Jo. Litton, Curtis Fouts, Johnny Payton, Jesse Kindred, Tyler Perkins, Danny Ray Wampler.


Heat winners — Greg Garrison, Greg O’Neill, Jeramie England, John Dent (B-main).

Feature — Garrison, O’Neill, Luke Bland, Hillman, O’Neill, Jordan Wever.

Spirit Award given — Drivers from Crossroads Dragway competed in the ET Finals at Lucas Oil Raceway during the weekend.

They won the Team Spirit Award, beating out 23 other tracks, and finished in the top 10 in Division 3 North Central Division competition.

Chad Eaton got the best appearing award for the Sportsman class. Mike Tewell got down to the last four cars for a semi-finalist finish out of 200-plus racers in the Pro class and Tommy Smith got to the fifth round in the Pro class. Shawn Rissler got to the fourth round in the Sportsman class.

Fun Night runs are slated Friday with regular racing and a Fast 33 at the 330 race set for Saturday with time runs at 12:30 p.m.

Track information may be obtained on Facebook, at or at 812-229-2167.