News From Terre Haute, Indiana

August 10, 2013

Metro roundup: ISU volleyball sets standard with 15th straight academic award

Tribune-Star staff report
The Tribune-Star

Lexington, Ky. — The 2012-2013 edition of the Indiana State volleyball team continued one of the most impressive streaks among Division I college teams as they were named a recipient of the American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) Team Academic Award for the 15th consecutive year. The streak is the longest among Division I schools and the second longest among all schools. Drury University (Division II) has a streak of 16 straight selections.

“I am so proud of how hard this year’s team has worked in the classroom to set themselves apart academically,” Traci Dahl, Indiana State head volleyball coach, said. “ISU Volleyball has received this award for 15 years straight which is the longest streak in NCAA Division 1. The team puts a lot of pride in their academics and it is nice to see them recognized nationally.”

AVCA announced Wednesday that 622 teams have earned the AVCA Team Academic Award for the 2012-2013 season. This number breaks the previous year's total of 536 and sets a new all-time high for this award.

The award was initiated in the 1992-93 academic year to honor collegiate and high school volleyball teams that displayed excellence in the classroom during the school year by maintaining at least a 3.30 cumulative team grade-point average (GPA) on a 4.0 scale or a 4.10 cumulative team GPA on a 5.0 scale.

NCAA Division I recorded their highest-ever total number of recipients, honoring 130 programs.


Knights win — At Bloomington, Northview won the Edgewood Mustang Classic played Thursday at Cascades Golf Course.

The Knights shot 367 to win. Owen Valley had 392 to place second.

Natalya Meinhart of Washington was medalist with 84. Keirsten Mikesell and Karlie Atkinson of Northview each shot 86 for second low score.

Northview opened the season with third in the South Invitational.

Edgewood Mustang Classic

Team scores — Northview 367, Owen Valley 392, Washington 395, Edgewood 441

Northview (367) — Keirsten Mikesell 86, Karlie Atkinson 86, Jensen Swaim 100, Faith Wells 98, Kenzi Magers 97