News From Terre Haute, Indiana

May 17, 2014

METRO ROUNDUP: ISU men in 2nd, women third at Missouri Valley track

The Tribune-Star

CARBONDALE, ILL. — Indiana State completed the second day of the Missouri Valley Conference Outdoor Track and Field Championships on Saturday with the women in third and the men second.

Wichita leads the women’s standings with 88.5 points to 68.5 for ISU. Southern Illinois is just ahead of the Sycamores with 70.

“We started off day two on a great note with our seniors finishing off the heptathlon in third and eighth place,” said coach Angela Martin. “Long jump and shot put continued our great day, as we had three scorers in each event. We got some qualifiers into the finals so hopefully we can step up our game on the track.”

Although the ISU men are in second place, they are farther behind with 42.5 points to 94 for the MVC-leading Shockers.

“I think we qualified pretty well today,” said coach John McNichols. “We had two in the 100, three in the 110 hurdles, one in the 400, two in the 800 and four in the 400 hurdles. From that standpoint we did great, but we still could’ve had a few more qualifiers in some events. We did well in the shot put and long jump, so I think we put ourselves in position to do well [today] if we can get real serious and go compete.”

Kelly Steffen started off the Sycamores scoring on day two with an all-conference performance in the heptathlon with a score of 5,168 points to place third. Rachael Johnson followed her in eighth with 4,815 points.

Mary Theisen earned the first conference champion honor of the weekend for her team when she claimed the shot put with a throw of 54-feet-8.75. Whitney Walker earned all-conference honors as well with her third-place finish at 50-0. Dawnielle Passmore was eighth.

Freshman long jumper Mandy Jones was literally as close to winning as she could’ve been without actually capturing the crown, as she tied Robiann Broomfield of Missouri State at 19-8.75. Jones got second in the competition, however due to a tiebreaker. Kaisha Martin and Carmelia Stewart placed fifth (19-3.5) and sixth (19-1.5) respectively.

The Sycamores also had a great day in the high jump, as freshman LeVisa Evans went 5-6 to earn a second-place finish and all-conference honors. Johnson placed fourth at 5-5 and Ioanna Koltsidou placed seventh, also at 5-5.

For the men, Brett Wehmiller was sixth in the decathlon with a score of 6,068 points. Chris Fields followed that with a fourth-place showing in the shot put (56-5.25) and Sean Dennis took sixth (51-10.5). DeSean Prentice cleared 6-9.75 inches to place fourth in high jump and Devyn Mikell had a fifth-place showing in the long jump (23-6).

On Friday, John Mascari won his second straight Missouri Valley Conference 10,000-meter championship with a time of 29:25.43, a meet record, and Tristan Selby and Al Escalera followed in third and fourth place.

Theisen earned all-conference honors with her third-place finish in the hammer throw at 186-5. Lauren Rice placed fourth in the pole vault at 12-3.25 and Kimyanna Rudolph was sixth at 11-9.25, and Nicole Lucas placed seventh in the 10,000-meter run in a time of 36:09.05.

On the men’s side, Fields was seventh in hammer throw at 189-8.

The final day of competition will begin at 11:00 a.m. today.


• Bartsch wins — At Hawthorn Park, Matthew Bartsch of Evansville was the winner by almost exactly a second in the Terre Haute Triathlon.

A total of 104 competitors finished the event; several were discouraged by the chilly water and dropped out.

Top 10 — Matthew Bartsch, Evansville, 1:45:07.3; Doug Robinson, Indianapolis, 1:46:07.9; Brant Bahler, Bloomington, 1:52:52.0; William Deckard, Bedford, 1:52:57.7; John Stroup, Fishers, 1:54:24.4; Jeffrey McClaine, Bloomington, 1:56:26.9; Ron Steffy, Jasper, 1:57:18.4; Vaughn Rightley, Terre Haute, 1:57:24.0; Josh Vansickle, Indianapolis, 1:57:49.3; Mike Hillyard, Evansville, 1:58:06.4.

Top 3 women — Brittany Broyer, Martinsville, 2:05:47.7; Calley Bridges, Cincinnati, 2:12:40.8; Andrea Doogs, Louisville, 2:18:42.5.

Top 3 age-group finishers

Men 1-19 — Chase McQueen, Columbus, 1:58:42.4; Paul Hintz, Terre Haute, 1:59:31.8; Matthew Head, Jasper, 2:03:47.8.

Men 20-24 — William Kindrick, Greenwood, 2:02:11.5; Colby Boyer, Marshall, Ill., 2:28:24.7.

Men 25-29 — Tyler Lucas, Terre Haute, 2:07:23.3; Jason Wade, West Lafayette, 2:16:51.7; Brandon Lucas, Terre Haute, 2:21:07.5.

Men 30-34 — John Kensek, Bloomington, 2:04:35.1; Michael Jones, Chicago, 2:14:27.0; Tyler Claypool, Marshall, Ill., 2:22:19.6.

Men 35-39 — Clay Edwards, Bloomington, 1:58:39.2; Scott Bartley, Bedford, 2:01:16.4; Chris Jensen, Elmhurst, Ill., 2:01:37.8.

Men 40-44 — Stroup, McClaine, Steffy.

Men 45-49 — Roy Ritter, Bedford, 2:08:10.2; Timothy Spurling, Evansville, 2:09:00.9; Jan Hawkins, Delphi, 2:12:03.3.

Men 50-54 — Deckard; Mike Bonnett, Terre Haute, 2:06:55.8; Kurt Bryan, Centerpoint, 2:09:47.5.

Men 55-59 — Paul Asay, Terre Haute, 2:06:41.2; Jim Sowders, Bedford, 2:08:13.5; Ron Biernbaum, Palestine, 2:09:34.6.

Men 60-64 — Stan Strohm, Robinson, 2:03:18.5; Patrick McCreary, Alton, Ill., 2:10:35.1; Thomas Priester, Hazelwood, Mo., 2:45:02.6.

Men 70-98 — Mount Davis, Louisville, 2:28:53.7.

Women 20-24 — Meredith Schmitt, Fort Branch, 2:24:23.5; Toni Tillett, Terre Haute, 2:25:58.7.

Women 25-29 — Jaclyn Bevis, Greenwood, 2:31:46.6; Karen Morley, Indianapolis, 2:35:07.0; Ashley Cullison, Worthington, 2:40:29.8.

Women 30-34 — Tracy Ford, Chicago, 2:25:47.0; Madeline McCarthy, River Forest, Ill., 2:33:47.6.

Women 35-39 — Sandra Sutera, Indianapolis, 2:52:10.6.

Women 40-44 — Tracy Owens, Carmel, 2:19:06.5; Bernadette Pethtel, Chicago, 2:24:44.7; Stacia Siefert, Peoria, Ill., 2:30:18.1.

Women 45-49 — Angela Salesman, Robinson, 2:19:58.9; Eleonore Maudry, Bloomington, 2:22:25.7; Deborah Walter, Terre Haute, 2:32:12.8.

Women 50-54 — Suzanne Stetter, Huntingburg, 2:35:55.4.

Women 55-59 — Martha Whitacre, Paris, 2:20:21.2.

Women 70-98 — Elizabeth Brackett, Chicago, 2:39:35.3.


Team Acorn (Rightley) 1:57:24.0; Bonnett team 2:06:55.8; Siefert team 2:30:18.1.


• Ace — At Mark’s Par Three, Dave Slaven Jr. got his first-ever hole-in-one during the Eagles Spring Scramble on Saturday.

Slaven hit a 5-iron on the 125-yard eighth hole, the first ace at the course this season. Witnessing the shot were Michael McIntyre and Bud Welker.

• Winners finish 16-under — At the Country Club of Terre Haute, two teams shot 16-under-par in the Hat Tournament.

Members of the winning team were Adam English, Gary Hosking, John White and Ron Luttrell.

First (-16) — Adam English, Gary Hosking, John White, Ron Luttrell

Second (-16) — Gordy Bryan, Pat Cahill, Dan Gmelich, Ralph Cutter

Third (-15) — Dick Vining, Mike Farr, Doug Gillespie, Ted Hazledine

Skill award winners — Brian Dorsett, Tristan Ireland,  Mike Woodward, Ron Luttrell, Bryan Pox