News From Terre Haute, Indiana

March 16, 2013

METRO ROUNDUP: Mahurin, Ulrich, Karazsia, Smith honored

The Tribune-Star

BLOOMINGTON — Four Wabash Valley players are among the 30 senior boys and 27 senior girls named Friday to the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association Academic All-State team.

Selected as first-teamers were Lane Mahurin and Gary Ulrich of Rockville and Austin Karazsia of Linton on the boys team and Rhagen Smith of Sullivan on the girls team.

Another chosen player with Wabash Valley ties is Steven Bennett of New Castle, son of coach Steve Bennett of the Trojans and grandson of former Marshall coach Carroll Bennett.

Honorable-mention recognition went to 132 more senior boys and 111 more senior girls. Included on the girls list are Cassie Weddle of Northview and Kori Wood of Riverton Parke.

Criteria for nomination to the team was a minimum 3.5 grade-point average on a 4.0 scale, being in the upper 25 percent of the player’s class and an SAT score of at least 1,500 or an ACT score of at least 23.

Boys first team — Cullen Arnold, Washington; Brian Bangs, West Lafayette; Steven Bennett, New Castle; Andrew Birky, Kouts; Mike Crawford, Tipton; Nick Davidson, Andrean; Matt Dorris, Pioneer; Connor Edmonds, South Bend St. Joseph’s; Joe Fagan, Indianapolis Chatard; Drew Hussong, Floyd Central; C.J. Johnson and Sean Lonergan, Fishers; Dalton Judd, Zionsville; Austin Karazsia, Linton; Tyler Klein, Cambridge City; Lane Mahurin and Gary Ulrich, Rockville; Jace Martin, Oak Hill; Caleb Morris, Bethany Christian; Michael Morris, New Palestine; Sam Philpott, Noblesville; Michael Schlotman, Munster; Blake Simmons, Castle; Samuel Stegelmann, Goshen; Evan Stieler, Evansville Day; Connor Stumm, Sheridan; Austin Torres, Penn; Stephen Turner, Mount Vernon (Fortville); Josh VanMeter, Norwell; and James Volovic, Carmel.

Boys honorable mention includes — Jake Alsman, North Knox; Tyler Brough and Logan Frye, Eastern Greene; Jake Jay, Plainfield; Dan Scofield, Lawrence North; Wade Stallings, Indianapolis North Central.

Girls first team — Lindsay Baker and Jennifer Walker-Crawford, Warsaw; Jessica Bell, Lake Central; Kylie Blessinger, Forest Park; Kelsi Byrd, North Montgomery; Olivia Carlton and Taylor Lutz, Penn; Ally Christman and Alyssa Gibson, Fort Wayne Dwenger; Marissa Collier, Indianapolis Chatard; Katie Curtis, Lebanon; Lauren DeSutter, Tri-West; Nicole Dodd, Northeast Dubois; Hannah Franklin, Randolph Southern; Rachel Houck, Mount Vernon (Fortville); Lexi Ingram, Bloomington South; Rachel Jennings, Logansport; Emily Loew, Indianapolis Cathedral; Brittany Neeley, Eastern (Greentown); Grace Palmieri, West Lafayette; Jessica Pongonis, Hamilton Southeastern; Victoria Schaefer, Southridge; Haley Schrock and Madison Schrock, Northridge; Rhagen Smith, Sullivan; Jennifer Stinson, Edinburgh; and Lauren Weidman, Center Grove.

Girls honorable mention includes — Gracie Elliott, Martinsville; Brett Green, Mooresville; Betsy Grove, North Knox; Larynda Keith, North Daviess; Shelby Shaffer, Center Grove; Cassie Weddle, Northview; Kori Wood, Riverton Parke.


• Indiana State 2, Minnesota 1 — At Minneapolis, Indiana State pitching ace Sean Manaea struck out nine and walked just one as the Sycamores improved to 6-6 overall with the series-opening win against the Golden Gophers.

Manaea scattered six hits in nine innings of work. He walked just one batter.

ISU managed just four hits, but got runs across the plate in the fourth and sixth innings. Mike Fitzgerald’s sacrifice fly in the fourth accounted for the first run. ISU scored the second on an error after a double-steal attempt. Landon Curry scored the run.

The three-game series continues at 3 p.m. today at the Metrodome. Daniel Peterson is expected to pitch for the Sycamores.


• Sycamores finish fourth — At Daytona Beach, Fla., Indiana State’s women were fourth after both rounds of the Southwest Minnesota State Spring Invitational that concluded Friday on the Legends Course at LPGA International.

The Sycamores shot a 331 Thursday, then came back with a 314 in Friday’s round. Lynn (Fla.) won the championship with a score of 610.

ISU’s Amanda Smith tied for ninth overall after rounds of 79 and 78 for a 157 score.

The Sycamores are off until April 5-6 when they compete in the Bradley Spring Invitational.