News From Terre Haute, Indiana

June 30, 2013

On the Move: June 30, 2013

The Tribune-Star

TERRE HAUTE — The Vigo County Parks and Recreation Department has hired Amber Slaughterbeck to the department staff. Slaughterbeck was hired as the first natural resource programmer for the department, which began on June 17. Primarily, she will be responsible for creating, implementing and evaluating outdoor/environmental programming for youth, adults and families. In addition, she will be responsible for the current Vigo County Parks and Recreation Department special events, as well as managing social media for the department.

• • •

The Vigo County Parks and Recreation Department recently added Jared McCormick as the department intern. McCormick is a student at Indiana State University, majoring in recreation and sport management. He will be a member of the department staff this summer and will stay through 2013.

• • •

Terre Haute native Jim Winning has recently been promoted to market president for Old National Bank. Winning’s new responsibilities will include cultivating new business development opportunities and building community relations. In addition, Winning will continue his current commercial responsibilities of servicing and strengthening business client relationships.

Previously Winning served as vice president of commercial lending for Old National. During his 14 years with the company, he also served as a private banking officer and a client adviser in Old National’s wealth management division.

A graduate of Indiana State University, Winning is an active community volunteer. In addition to serving as commissioner of the Vigo County Sanitation Board of Commissioners, he is involved with Terre Haute Youth Football, Terre Haute Boys and Girls Club, Riley Recreation League, Union Hospital Foundation, Terre Haute Golf Association and Catholic Charities.

• • •

The Vigo County Public Library has appointed Elizabeth Wiram Scamihorn of Terre Haute as the public relations specialist. Scamihorn brings to this new position her professional experience and community involvement.

Scamihorn will focus on the development and execution of an innovative marketing plan to enhance the image of the VCPL and support its mission to “Learn, Connect, Grow.” Scamihorn will use her philanthropy background to serve the library in its fundraising efforts.

Born in Terre Haute, she graduated from Terre Haute South Vigo High School, then Indiana State University with a bachelor’s degree in speech communications, public relations and professional journalism. Before joining the library, Scamihorn worked as the program associate for the Wabash Valley Community Foundation for nearly three years.

• • •

Three Indiana State Police troopers from the Putnamville District have advanced in their respective careers after receiving promotions.

On June 16, Indiana State Police superintendent Douglas G. Carter promoted Capt. Michael J. Eslinger to major, First Sgt. Mark A. Tow to lieutenant, and Master Trooper Charles A. Tharp to sergeant.

Eslinger is now the commander of the ISP Commercial Vehicle Enforcement Division. As the commander, Eslinger is responsible for the supervision of all ISP scale facilities throughout Indiana, serves as the ISP liaison to the Indiana Department of Revenue and Indiana Department of Transportation, and oversees the day-to-day operations of the nearly 190 subordinate civilian and sworn commercial vehicle enforcement staff.

Eslinger is a 19-year veteran of the ISP having began his career as a trooper on the Indiana Toll Road, then as a squad sergeant and lieutenant at the former Terre Haute Post, and was promoted to Area V captain in 2010. He was also instrumental in forming the first ISP Meth Lab Team in the State of Indiana at the former Terre Haute Post. Eslinger is a native of Parke County and a graduate of Indiana State University. He resides in rural Sullivan County.

Tow now serves as the ISP Special Operations SWAT commander. Until this promotion, Tow served as the assistant commander of ISP SWAT operations. He will command and oversee all ISP SWAT operations, training and equipment, and be responsible for 40 SWAT members. Tow is a 27-year veteran of the department and a 25-year member of ISP SWAT. Tow began his career as a road trooper at the former Terre Haute District and later served as a trooper at the Evansville District. In 2008, he was promoted to sergeant within SWAT operations and promoted again in 2010 to  first sergeant to serve as assistant SWAT commander. Tow is the recipient of the ISP Meritorious Service Award and Combat Action Award. He is a skilled marksman and a former field training officer responsible for new troopers. Tow is a Martin County native and attended both the Northwood Institute and Oakland City College. Before his ISP career, Tow served three years in the U.S. Marine Corps and three years in the U.S. Army. Tow resides in Sullivan County.

Tharp is serving as a commercial vehicle enforcement school bus squad leader. In this role, Tharp is directly responsible for the supervision of 10 troopers assigned to the south zone who conduct all annual and semi-annual school bus inspections, all drug and alcohol audits of school bus drivers, and all necessary investigations of school bus crashes. Tharp is a 21-year veteran of the ISP, beginning his career as a trooper assigned to the toll road. Tharp transferred to the former Terre Haute district and served as a trooper, detective and, since 2008, the district school bus inspector. Tharp is a Marshall, Ill., native and a former officer with the Marshall Police Department. He is a skilled marksman, firearms armorer and instructor, and a former SWAT team member, first aid instructor and field training officer. Tharp also served with the former ISP Terre Haute district meth lab team. He resides in rural Sullivan County.

• • •

Two Wabash Valley leaders have joined the Ivy Tech Community College-Wabash Valley Regional Board of Directors to serve two-year terms.

Joining the board is William J. Kauffman, business development officer for First Financial Bank. Kauffman earned a bachelor’s degree in radio and television from Indiana State University and began his career at WIIL-TV. After more than 25 years in sales at WTHI-TV, he became director of sales at Hulman Print Services. He joined First Financial Bank in 2009. Kauffman actively serves the community through the Breakfast Optimists, Downtown Rotary, Ducks Unlimited, First Baptist Church, Miss Indiana Scholarship Pageant, Terre Haute Children’s Museum and the Wabash Valley Breast Cancer Survivor’s, Inc.

Also joining the board is Michael L. Mitchell, executive vice president and chief technology officer for Sony DADC’s Americas region. He is responsible for operational matters at five Sony manufacturing locations in Canada, the United States, Mexico and Brazil. Mitchell began his career with Sony in 1984. Previously, Mitchell was with Martin Marietta Aerospace, now Lockheed Martin, where he produced flight hardware for the space shuttle program. He holds a bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering from Northern Illinois University and is the recipient of eight patents related to electronic, optical disc and production technologies.