News From Terre Haute, Indiana

June 20, 2013

Swope to open annual juried art exhibition June 29

News Release

TERRE HAUTE — The free opening reception and awards ceremony for the Annual Wabash Valley Juried Exhibition is set for 3 to 6 p.m. on June 29 at the Swope Art Museum. Awards will be given at 4 p.m. The exhibitions will be on view through Aug. 24.

“Every year I’m impressed by the exhibition,” said Elizabeth Petrulis, curator of collections and exhibitions at the Swope. “Seeing the wide variety of talent from this region always renews my enthusiasm for sharing the visual arts with our community. It is a luxury to have the perspective of a new judge each season, and this year’s judge picked a very vibrant show.”

The juror, Kris Ercums, curator of global contemporary and Asian art at the Spencer Museum of Art, University of Kansas at Lawrence, selected 63 works of art from the 410 works submitted for consideration by 140 artists residing in Indiana, Illinois, Ohio or Michigan.

As part of his duties as juror, Ercums chose 23 works to receive awards sponsored by local community members and organizations; three works received purchase awards. In addition to the 26 awards listed below, the People’s Choice Award, sponsored by the Alliance of the Swope Art Museum, will be selected by visitor ballots. The votes will be tallied, and the award will be announced at the close of the exhibition.

Howard E. Wooden, Sr. Memorial Grand Prize winner: Nancy Kruse, of Carmel, “Bosco Takes A Ride,” 2013, oil on canvas

Phyllis Dye Turner Award of Excellence in honor of Ann Rutledge Hartman:    John DenHouter, of Edwardsville, Ill., “Offering,” 2012, oil on canvas

Alliance of the Swope Award of Distinction: Harris Johnson, Columbus, Ohio, “Disrupted Still Life,” 2012, acrylic on canvas

Alliance of the Swope Award of Honor: Courtland Blade, of Indianapolis, “The Frozen Aisle,” 2013, oil on canvas    

Mary Ann Carroll Award of Recognition: Dan Annarino, of West Lafayette, “Vertical Skyview,” 2011, oil on canvas

Emily and John Jr. Gedrick Award of Recognition: Ray Chen, of Terre Haute, “Mother and Child,” 2011, stoneware, earthenware

Eileen and Ted Prose Award of Recognition: Dan Cooper, of Indianapolis, “Spring/Winter,” 2012, acrylic on canvas

Sharron R. Jolly Award of Recognition in Memory of Elizabeth A. Smith: Kathleen Garrison, of Metamora, Ill., “Barren Mounds,” 2012, die formed copper, sterling silver, nickel silver, found screws

Psi Iota Xi Sorority ETA PHI Chapter Award of Recognition: Sarah Gillespie, of Newton, Ill., “Inoculate,” 2013, digitally printed silk organza on paper, Scanning Electron Micrographs provided by Sue Eder at Southern Illinois University Edwardsville

Max and Jackie Gibson Award of Recognition: Debbie Goodin, of Terre Haute, “River’s Edge,” 2012, photograph on aluminum

Arts Illiana Award of Recognition: Cathleen Hogan, of Terre Haute, “Baby Mill,” 2012, clay, vintage doll components

Nancy and Fred Nation Award of Recognition: Ralph Larmann, Newburgh, “A Neighborhood of Citizens United,” 2011, acrylic on canvas

Mrs. Barbara A. Vogel Award of Recognition: Kathleen Laufman, of Plymouth, Mich., “Fragile,” 2012, linoleum print diptych

Lant and Amanda Davis Award of Recognition: Benjamin Madeska, of Indianapolis, “Salmon,” 2012, oil on canvas

David and Jerry Mitchell Award of Recognition: Rob Millard-Mendez, of Evansville, “Flying High Chair,” 2011, wood, paint, lead, steel, aluminum, found objects

Brent and Alexa Bilsland Award of Recognition: Jim Pearson, of Lawrenceville, Ill., “Anonymous Bone Noise BLU,” 2012, digital photo montage

Vernon B. Cristee Memorial Award of Recognition: James Swanson, of Lagrange Park, Ill., “Winter Creek,” 2013, oil on canvas board

David and Joan Zaun Award of Recognition: Daniel Tice, of Terre Haute, “Mrk. I Mnemonic Containment Vessel Series 12-001,” 2012, mixed media sculpture

Rick and Candy Shagley Award of Recognition: Michael R. Tingley, of Terre Haute, “Wabash River North,” 2013, Prismacolor pencils on art board    

Guille and Cindy Cox Award of Recognition: Scott Ziegler, of Fort Wayne, “Seven-Out Loses,” 2012, porcelain

Tom and Connie Francis Award of Merit: Mike Bender, of Terre Haute, “Philosophy of Nature,” 2013, India ink, charcoal on paper

Danette Angermeier Memorial Award of Merit: Edwin Cheek, of Bloomington, “Window,” 2013, acrylic on panel    

Sherry Dailey and Tom Tucker Award of Merit in Memory of Shirley Dailey Bennett: Michael Lasater, of South Bend, “Maquette,” 2012, video, animation, sound

Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology Purchase Award: Jeff Boshart, Charleston, Ill., “Balance,” 2011, mixed media sculpture and digital prints

Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology Purchase Award: Beth Hoke, of Clinton, “Fall Days,” 2012, ceramic

Indiana State University Permanent Collection Purchase Award: Thomas L.Farris, of Muncie, “Somewhere in Tea-Time,” 2013, photograph

Swope Art Museum is at 25 S. Seventh St. For more information, call 812-238-1676 or visit